Customer Reviews for

Dark Need (Darkyn Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Impatiently Awaiting

My sister lent me the first in this series. I was apprehensive about even starting the first one. When I finally started it I couldn't put it down and I was disappointed that I had finished. I really wanted more story. Now I am impatiently awaiting the next installment....
My sister lent me the first in this series. I was apprehensive about even starting the first one. When I finally started it I couldn't put it down and I was disappointed that I had finished. I really wanted more story. Now I am impatiently awaiting the next installment.

posted by Anonymous on November 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just my opinion...

So yeah, I've been buying (and reading) the first three books. I bought the first thinking that it was going to be a good book (I decided it was ok, not the best, but it was readable) I bought the second because I was hoping that it would be much better (it wasn't in ...
So yeah, I've been buying (and reading) the first three books. I bought the first thinking that it was going to be a good book (I decided it was ok, not the best, but it was readable) I bought the second because I was hoping that it would be much better (it wasn't in my opinion.) I guess you could say I got this one because I've been sucked into the world of the Darkyn and wanted to read more. Don't get me wrong, the stories aren't horrible beyond belief. I just find that the romance is very poorly developed. I'd like a better love story with the same kind of danger that's been in the previous stories. I won't be buying the author's stories again. I'm going to save my money and just get them at the library.

posted by Anonymous on July 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    Just my opinion...

    So yeah, I've been buying (and reading) the first three books. I bought the first thinking that it was going to be a good book (I decided it was ok, not the best, but it was readable) I bought the second because I was hoping that it would be much better (it wasn't in my opinion.) I guess you could say I got this one because I've been sucked into the world of the Darkyn and wanted to read more. Don't get me wrong, the stories aren't horrible beyond belief. I just find that the romance is very poorly developed. I'd like a better love story with the same kind of danger that's been in the previous stories. I won't be buying the author's stories again. I'm going to save my money and just get them at the library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Need

    I didn't realize this was book 3 till it was too late.
    The book was alright, I really liked the story between Lucan and Samantha, but the rest of the story was hard to get into....now I know why because there were two books before it.
    The writing style was alright, the romance was not engaging. I would of liked to seen more story told of romance between Samantha and Lucan, I felt it lacked.
    Not sure if I will try any more in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Impatiently Awaiting

    My sister lent me the first in this series. I was apprehensive about even starting the first one. When I finally started it I couldn't put it down and I was disappointed that I had finished. I really wanted more story. Now I am impatiently awaiting the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Lynn Viehl dose not disappoint, Dark Need is a fantastic additio

    Lynn Viehl dose not disappoint, Dark Need is a fantastic addition to the Darkyn Series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Must Read for this Genre

    I recommend this series for the vampire lover. The plots are daunting at times yet easy to read. I love the characters and the fact you keep updating characters you've met already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Great series!

    Love all the characters, especially Alex and now there's Samantha. These women are just as ruthless verbally, as the men they are mated to. They definitely add flavor to a story. I hope they pop up regularly throughout this series. Great writing skills!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    highly recommeded !!!!

    before i read this wonderful book , i hated books but now that i just finished reading it i love books and i cant put them down . i would like to thank the author for writing such a great book. the book is everything that ive alway look for in a book. love, passion, and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Even Better

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    Great Mix of Blood and Romance

    I loved this one and am going to buy the two previous books!! This book was the first one I read with romance and vampires together. I loved it! Keep making these, yet with more romance involved, please! Read these if you like fantasy and romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbinding

    Fort Lauderdale Homicide Detectives Harry Quinn and his partner Samantha Brown discuss the case of the drowned woman who both believed she was not swimming when she died the nearby heavy medieval cross with the name Lucan adds to the overall sense that murder has occurred. However, Sam¿s biggest concern is not what appears to be the homicide of a tourist, but that her partner is retiring in two weeks he knows her secret that ever since she was shot twelve years ago when she touches the blood of a victim she envisions the last moments of their life.--------- Still loyal to the Darkyn chief Richard, enforcer Lucan is tired of his role so he has opened up a Goth club in Fort Lauderdale. However, instead of a deserved respite he realizes someone is killing those who visit him. The former enforcer knows what he must do even as Richard and his superior Michael head to Southern Florida to confront him and Samantha investigates a serial killer leaving behind the Lucan cross. When Lucan meets Sam, he believes she is the reincarnation of his only love Frances while she wonders if she is falling in love with a killer.------------- The latest Darkyn tale is an exhilarating paranormal police procedural romance that never slows down from the moment that Harry and Sam discuss the first homicide until the final lethal confrontation. The tale is fast-paced while focusing on the deadly abuse of power. However, what makes the tale superb is the relationship between the Darkyn cop and the Lauderdale cop as she wonders whether her heart could be wrong as her brain insists he is the killer. Lynn Viehl provides a fabulous supernatural thriller.------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4