Customer Reviews for

Dark Peril (Dark Series #21)

Average Rating 4
( 501 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(283)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Synopsis

Dominic, of the Dragonseeker lineage-one of the most powerful of the Carpathian lines-is desperate to go to the very heart of the enemy camp and learn their plans. There's only one way to do so: ingest the parasitic blood of a vampire. He knows that it is a mission fr...
Dominic, of the Dragonseeker lineage-one of the most powerful of the Carpathian lines-is desperate to go to the very heart of the enemy camp and learn their plans. There's only one way to do so: ingest the parasitic blood of a vampire. He knows that it is a mission from which there is no return. With little time before the blood takes effect, he'll get the information he needs, relay it to the leader of the Carpathians, and go out fighting. There is no more honorable way to end his life.

Solange Sangria is one of the last of the jaguar people, a royal pureblood, a dying species that cannot recover from bad decisions made over hundreds of years. She has long been alone, fighting to save the remaining shapeshifters from the hands of Brodrick the Terrible: her own father, who slaughtered her family and everyone she loved. Wounded and weary, she plans one last battle, hoping to stop the man who has made an alliance with the vampires, accepting that she will not come out alive.

They are two warriors who have lived their lives alone. Now, at the end of their time, they find each other-an obstacle neither can hope to ignore.

posted by VAMTX on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

This book is a let down!

I imagine many of you have been waiting for this book as long as I have. Let me tell you -- it's NOT worth the wait. Normally, I love C.F.'s books, they might be a bit formulated, but there is an enjoyable story in the discovery of the lifemate and the forces that keep ...
I imagine many of you have been waiting for this book as long as I have. Let me tell you -- it's NOT worth the wait. Normally, I love C.F.'s books, they might be a bit formulated, but there is an enjoyable story in the discovery of the lifemate and the forces that keep them together, while others try tearing them apart.

In this case (don't read any further if you don't like spoilers) Domonik dreams about Solange before physically meeting her. They both think they have made up their dream mates (although Dom knows that lifemates can reach out to each other before meeting), and they don't realize that they are real people until Dom says "Goodbye" to Solange when he feels he only has a couple of risings left. That makes Solange scream out "Don't leave me!" Suddenly Dom can see everything in color when before he could only see her eye color in their dreams. Suddenly he has full emotions, although he was already feeling before -- he had just convinced himself he wasn't.

At this point our lovebirds come together and we discover that strong, powerful Solange, the last of the purebred females has poor self esteem. She keeps comparing herself to women who are conventionally beautiful. She doesn't even see herself as pretty. At one point she even thinks that she has thunder thighs. She keeps thinking of herself as some huge cow no matter what Dom says, even though she admits to herself that he makes her feel petit.

In this book they only speak to one other Carpathian, Zacarias, who is on the verge of turning. He's not even in the book much. There is no hint of there being any hope for him. His eyes actually start turning vampire red. It becomes clear that he's closer to turning BECAUSE his brothers have found their lifemates.

There isn't enough interaction between characters in this book. 90% of this book is Dom trying to boost Solange's self esteem and bringing out her submissive tendencies. He convinces her to wear clothing that she's not comfortable with purely to try to please him. At one point he thinks to herself that he only cares what she is on the inside, simply because the outside doesn't matter because as Carpathians they can look however they wish. I don't know about you, but that seems double edged doesn't it?

In the end it turns out our Dragonseeker will get over his vampire virus infestation because Solange's pure royal jaguar blood kills black magic. The book is too pat. There isn't much drama. There isn't much to overcome (other than how she see's herself), there aren't many characters.

Oh... and the book has many boring spots where C.F. translates all the big sentences and endearments that she writes in Carpathian. I don't mind a few translations here and there... I don't mind the index that's always in the back that you can translate the larger portions if you want... but this seemed more like page filler.

All in all... a major disappointment. There is no one to share their joy. No one to help really since Zac is more of a danger than a help. It would have been nice to have more interaction between other characters.

posted by 3296010 on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 511 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    This book is a let down!

    I imagine many of you have been waiting for this book as long as I have. Let me tell you -- it's NOT worth the wait. Normally, I love C.F.'s books, they might be a bit formulated, but there is an enjoyable story in the discovery of the lifemate and the forces that keep them together, while others try tearing them apart.

    In this case (don't read any further if you don't like spoilers) Domonik dreams about Solange before physically meeting her. They both think they have made up their dream mates (although Dom knows that lifemates can reach out to each other before meeting), and they don't realize that they are real people until Dom says "Goodbye" to Solange when he feels he only has a couple of risings left. That makes Solange scream out "Don't leave me!" Suddenly Dom can see everything in color when before he could only see her eye color in their dreams. Suddenly he has full emotions, although he was already feeling before -- he had just convinced himself he wasn't.

    At this point our lovebirds come together and we discover that strong, powerful Solange, the last of the purebred females has poor self esteem. She keeps comparing herself to women who are conventionally beautiful. She doesn't even see herself as pretty. At one point she even thinks that she has thunder thighs. She keeps thinking of herself as some huge cow no matter what Dom says, even though she admits to herself that he makes her feel petit.

    In this book they only speak to one other Carpathian, Zacarias, who is on the verge of turning. He's not even in the book much. There is no hint of there being any hope for him. His eyes actually start turning vampire red. It becomes clear that he's closer to turning BECAUSE his brothers have found their lifemates.

    There isn't enough interaction between characters in this book. 90% of this book is Dom trying to boost Solange's self esteem and bringing out her submissive tendencies. He convinces her to wear clothing that she's not comfortable with purely to try to please him. At one point he thinks to herself that he only cares what she is on the inside, simply because the outside doesn't matter because as Carpathians they can look however they wish. I don't know about you, but that seems double edged doesn't it?

    In the end it turns out our Dragonseeker will get over his vampire virus infestation because Solange's pure royal jaguar blood kills black magic. The book is too pat. There isn't much drama. There isn't much to overcome (other than how she see's herself), there aren't many characters.

    Oh... and the book has many boring spots where C.F. translates all the big sentences and endearments that she writes in Carpathian. I don't mind a few translations here and there... I don't mind the index that's always in the back that you can translate the larger portions if you want... but this seemed more like page filler.

    All in all... a major disappointment. There is no one to share their joy. No one to help really since Zac is more of a danger than a help. It would have been nice to have more interaction between other characters.

    23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Dark Carpathian romantic fantasy contains a wonderful refreshing premise

    An ancient Carpathian warrior Dominic decides on what he knows is a suicidal mission to destroy the South American vampires. To achieve his objective, he swallows parasites needed to control the urges which will enable him to go undercover and infiltrate the vampiric horde. Dominic keeps his sanity by dreaming of a shapeshifting female Jaguar warrior who keeps him focused though he doubts she exists.

    Although she knows this is suicidal to be at war with her evil father Broderick who killed most of their family and clan, shapeshifter Solange Sangria has kept up the fight to rescue other shapeshifting women and her sanity due to her fantasy of a heroic lover. She and Dominic are stunned when they meet because each assumed their dream lover was a fantasy they made up, but now have each other. With both on death quests, they need to find a way to survive yet also achieve their respective objectives as they now have a reason to live.

    The latest Dark Carpathian romantic fantasy (see Dark Slayer) contains a wonderful refreshing premise of two individuals on suicide missions who have found solace in their dreams of the other. Although the tale would have been stronger if either or both fail in the flesh and bone to live up to the image each has of their dream lover, fans of the long running saga will enjoy the action-packed aptly titled Dark Peril as her father and the vampiric horde are a formidable foe.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Synopsis

    Dominic, of the Dragonseeker lineage-one of the most powerful of the Carpathian lines-is desperate to go to the very heart of the enemy camp and learn their plans. There's only one way to do so: ingest the parasitic blood of a vampire. He knows that it is a mission from which there is no return. With little time before the blood takes effect, he'll get the information he needs, relay it to the leader of the Carpathians, and go out fighting. There is no more honorable way to end his life.

    Solange Sangria is one of the last of the jaguar people, a royal pureblood, a dying species that cannot recover from bad decisions made over hundreds of years. She has long been alone, fighting to save the remaining shapeshifters from the hands of Brodrick the Terrible: her own father, who slaughtered her family and everyone she loved. Wounded and weary, she plans one last battle, hoping to stop the man who has made an alliance with the vampires, accepting that she will not come out alive.

    They are two warriors who have lived their lives alone. Now, at the end of their time, they find each other-an obstacle neither can hope to ignore.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Wonderful

    I am a huge fan of Christine Feehan, specifically her Dark Series. I've read every book since the first. Its impossible not to get drawn into the beautiful Carpathian world that she weaves. The characters are developed so wonderfully and the entire series bespeaks of wonderful talent. This is without a doubt my favorite series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another good one!

    Christine Feehan's latest addition to the Dark series is another winner. The book was well written and flowed nicely. The relationship between Dominic and Solange sometimes borders on BDSM relationship but works for the storyline. The ending was a little cheesy, but it was an aww, how adorable moment. I would recommend this book to Dark fans and new readers.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    WOW

    This was one of the best ones I've read in this series. I hope she has more like this. I am looking forward to Demetri's story. Hurry up!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    New Book- New Twists

    This book was on the edge of... "What?". However, I did enjoy reading this new addition to the Dark Series. Feehan surely knows how to keep our heads spinning as this book gives us new plots and twists that erupts between the Carpathians, vampires and jaguars. There is a new light on the relationship between these supernatural beings. However, I did enjoy Dominic's and Solange's book, their relationship, and their struggles. It's new to see how these two warriors fitted themselves into the other's lives and desires. I like their bond and how strong they are, both on the battlefield and within their hearts. Though I thought Feehan was a bit repetitive on Solange's thoughts of herself and how insecure she is (every woman is) I did enjoy this book very much and am looking forward to see who else is next (like maybe Zacarius) and what will happen to the Carpathian race now that the Malinov brothers are planning a really good attack.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Compelling & Thought Provoking

    The story was excellent.

    Dominic and Solange both warriors and forged in steel .

    Solange was fired my the lost and torture of most of her family. She has learned how to fight to save those who are weaker. She has to save them from a depraved mad man that is bent on the destruction of the Jaguar race.
    Dominic is a Carpathian of the Dragon seeker line. He is on a suicide mission . He has ingested deadly parasites in order to try to infiltrate a group of vampires trying to destroy the Carpathian races starting with their prince.

    It is at this juncture that they meet. Life mates who are each half of a whole, the ones who will be accepting of the choices they have made in their lives. A story is woven that ask what is more important finding love or honoring your mission?

    There are no easy answers but you do know that these two will fight with their heart and souls and all weapons at their disposal. However, what will be the outcome?

    All I can say is that I enjoyed their journey and it was wonderfully drawn .

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Gets even better

    Oh, this book is excellent. I suggest this to anyone who has read the series. The series just gets better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Peril's a winner!

    Christine Feehan,the queen of Paranormal romance does it again! Dark Peril was an absolute thrill ride of battles, action and a touching story of a women who finds herself with her lifemate. Solange was a minor character in the two last novels, Dark Hunger and Possession. I saw her as a hard and relentless warrior of the rain forest, You never come across her feminine side till Possession when Maryann paints her nails,such a epic moment! Peril reveals the horrors and harsh events of Solange's past, she is the last royal jaguar and she has to protect the women of the forest from the vicious and vile deeds of Brodrick and his men.Solange really came into herself in this book, meeting ancient Carpathian,Dominic Dragonseeker. I loved the sweet and tender moments and scenes when Dominic tends to Solange and helps her be confident and happy again. I think the process of the romance was good too, not too rushed and felt right as rain. You really get to see how tender and caring Solange can be because of Dominic and it's a really amazing journey for Solange and the reader.This is the reason why Christine's books are such bestsellers! They take you for a ride that combines,action and horror but also sweet romance and love.Can't wait to pick up Predator!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Good book

    Good series and am hooked on them. Just a bit perdictible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended- a must read book!!!

    I thought that it as a very good but and one that I was waiting for because you heard about Dominic and you always wondered when and if he would find his lifemate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Disappointed

    I was really disappointed with the way Solange was depicted in this book. I could not understand why he was confronting so many vampires with 5 Carpathian Warriors in the vicinity - but none were called. It was ok.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Great Book

    I absolutley love the Dark Series. I just hope Christine keeps them going. I am looking for to many more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A complete wast of time!

    I read all 20 of the "Dark Series" and loved them soo very much, I waited patiently for book 21.
    If I did not have such respect for CF as a writer, I would think this book were written by another! A COMPLETE WAST OF TIME!
    It felt as if CF was Just trying to fill the blank pages. I was like reading a two person play!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    Good Book BUT Not As Good As The Other Dark Series Books

    First off, I will say I enjoyed reading the book. The reason I gave it only three stars is because Feehan does not bring back any of the other Carpathians in it other than one. I was really hoping to see what happened to the others and was hoping they would make an appearance! I am one of Feehan's biggest fans but if the next book is like this one, I may not purchase it. I will likely just get it from the library. The ending was awful and anticlimatic, I think Solange and Dominic deserved better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    Another Winner!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK. I just read it for the third time. I have the entire series and this one is my favorite and I can hardly wait for the next one. The book was well written and flowed nicely. I would recommend this book to Dark fans and new readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Extremely well written!

    This was a great book! It was extremely well written. I think that some people may find it slow or boring because Christine Feehan took more time in describing and exploring the characters both as individuals and as a couple. But I think that, that just added to the richness of the story and helps you relate and sympathize with the characters and their struggles even more. But just like all the Dark Series books, it was full of passion and action and it left you wanting to read more. Therefore there are no complains here! I highly recommend the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    what happened!!

    just got finished reading dark slayer and thought to just go ahead and dive into this book because the other was so AWESOME!!! not so....this book is very boring! B O R I N G! i cant even get through acouple of pages without getting up and trying to find other things to do. this is a real let down especailly coming off the heels of dark slayer which was AWESOME!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    First half of this book about bored me to tears!!

    I'm generally a Feehan fan but most of this book was just paragraph after paragraph of narrative...and not particularly interesting narrative. A little more than half way thru it got a little better but the plot was still so slooooow. However, I'll still be waiting for the next one and I'll still probably buy it because the majority of the dark series has been very good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 511 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26