Customer Reviews for

Dark Places

Average Rating 4
( 967 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(475)

4 Star

(293)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

68 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Dark Places SHINES!!

This is one of the better authors that I've read in quite some time. Often the assumption with dark material is that it's made out to shock and to create a sense of morbid interactions among the main characters, but this is anything but. The story swallows you and leave...
This is one of the better authors that I've read in quite some time. Often the assumption with dark material is that it's made out to shock and to create a sense of morbid interactions among the main characters, but this is anything but. The story swallows you and leaves you gasping for air. The characters are fully developed and allow for you to care for their outcomes. Finally, I felt for the characters!! I found myself stopping at the end of each chapter, thinking, and then continuing on to see what the next one would unravel; digging deeper and deeper into the reasons behind the violent murders that took place almost 25 years prior. It's an intense read, but very captivating. I would recommend this book and the author to my demographic (23 years old) in a heartbeat. So, stop reading this review and buy the thing already. It's that good.

posted by BRICK-0_8 on June 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Darker than I could handle...

Talk about dark. I understand dark places, though mine are nothing like Libby's, and I thought I could handle this because it doesn't usually bother me. It wasn't Libby's 'darkplace' that got to me. It was the overall darkness of the book. And it really is too vulgar an...
Talk about dark. I understand dark places, though mine are nothing like Libby's, and I thought I could handle this because it doesn't usually bother me. It wasn't Libby's 'darkplace' that got to me. It was the overall darkness of the book. And it really is too vulgar and coarse for anyone with any kind of moral sensibility. So why did I keep reading?! For the worst reason of all - curiosity as to what really happened. I may have done myself harm because of curiosity! The who-dunnit aspect of the story is what kept me going, in spite of the language and sex and gruesome violence. Saying I 'liked' the book isn't quite right - more fascinated in that car wreck kind of way. None of the characters were likable - they were pitiable. I could understand why they were twisted and warped and lacking character. I suppose it is better - more realistic - that Flynn didn't try to redeem them, or make miraculous character-turn-arounds. Libby actually DOES turn around, as much as someone as damaged as she is probably could.

The sad thing is to realize that there are children out in the world today who are in just as much need and trouble, who are falling through the cracks, just like the Day children in this story. Is it because of the poverty, or the ignorance? Those definitely play a role. How about a woman, a mother, stretched so far beyond her capabilities that she can't cope? Definitely. All are hard realities in this story and in real life.

Wouldn't recommend this book to anyone for fear that I might be an accomplice in harming them. I think that the dark things that she talks about in this book isn't something that just anyone can handle. My self included.

posted by Starluv9227 on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 967 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    Dark Places SHINES!!

    This is one of the better authors that I've read in quite some time. Often the assumption with dark material is that it's made out to shock and to create a sense of morbid interactions among the main characters, but this is anything but. The story swallows you and leaves you gasping for air. The characters are fully developed and allow for you to care for their outcomes. Finally, I felt for the characters!! I found myself stopping at the end of each chapter, thinking, and then continuing on to see what the next one would unravel; digging deeper and deeper into the reasons behind the violent murders that took place almost 25 years prior. It's an intense read, but very captivating. I would recommend this book and the author to my demographic (23 years old) in a heartbeat. So, stop reading this review and buy the thing already. It's that good.

    68 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Darker than I could handle...

    Talk about dark. I understand dark places, though mine are nothing like Libby's, and I thought I could handle this because it doesn't usually bother me. It wasn't Libby's 'darkplace' that got to me. It was the overall darkness of the book. And it really is too vulgar and coarse for anyone with any kind of moral sensibility. So why did I keep reading?! For the worst reason of all - curiosity as to what really happened. I may have done myself harm because of curiosity! The who-dunnit aspect of the story is what kept me going, in spite of the language and sex and gruesome violence. Saying I 'liked' the book isn't quite right - more fascinated in that car wreck kind of way. None of the characters were likable - they were pitiable. I could understand why they were twisted and warped and lacking character. I suppose it is better - more realistic - that Flynn didn't try to redeem them, or make miraculous character-turn-arounds. Libby actually DOES turn around, as much as someone as damaged as she is probably could.

    The sad thing is to realize that there are children out in the world today who are in just as much need and trouble, who are falling through the cracks, just like the Day children in this story. Is it because of the poverty, or the ignorance? Those definitely play a role. How about a woman, a mother, stretched so far beyond her capabilities that she can't cope? Definitely. All are hard realities in this story and in real life.

    Wouldn't recommend this book to anyone for fear that I might be an accomplice in harming them. I think that the dark things that she talks about in this book isn't something that just anyone can handle. My self included.

    52 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    CHARACTER DRIVEN PSYCHO THRILLER

    Libby Day is one of the best drawn sociopathic, near-pathetic, well-voiced characters I have read in a long while. The plot holds your attention while the Day family unravels in dysfunction. The first sentence in the book says it all. Highly recommended.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Places

    Tom Wolfe asserted that "you can't go home again" and it is true that you won't be able to recapture your youth, or many friendships and relationships that only exist back in your memories, but Gillian Flynn teaches us that you can go home again, but that's not always a good thing.
    This is an excellent character study of a young girl who finds how easily the bad things in your youth can still haunt you in an instant. No matter how secure in an adult, professional, confident world, when confronted when the dark things from one's past, you find yourself instantly back "home" again. Think of the many episodes of talk shows where someone confronts a school bully 15 years later and finds themselves in tears. Or the reunion reality shows where the nerds instantly feel put down and unworthy in relation to the popular crowd.
    The mystery was good enough to keep my interest, but it wasn't the star here. Camille is the star. And she finds herself slowly unable to resist the gravity of the monsters of her youth.
    Ms. Flynn teases us with cliches and then pulls them out from under us, masterfully in Camille's relationships.
    Looking forward to the next book on my shelf by this author, Dark Places.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I loved Gone Girl so much that I immediately bought Sharp Object

    I loved Gone Girl so much that I immediately bought Sharp Objects and Dark Places. Sharp Objects was OK, but disturbing. Dark Places, on the other hand, was so gross and discusting. The charaters were so vile and did the most revolting things. I can't get the images out of my head. Even though I had to finish it to see what happened, I wish I never read it. I hope the author writes more books like Gone Girl in the future (that one would make a great movie), but I'd almost be afraid to buy another one of her books because of the sick feeling Dark Places left me with.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gillian Flynn

    Libby Day was seven years old when her mother and two sisters were massacred in a blood-soaked home invasion dubbed by the press as "The Satan Sacrifice of Kinnakee, Kansas." It was Libby's testimony which put her then-fifteen-year old brother, Ben, into prison for the rest of his life for the heinous murders.

    I am now officially a fan of Gillian Flynn. I like my crime fiction dark and ugly, and Dark Places delivers. This novel won't appeal to everyone but if you appreciate flawed and unlikable characters, small touches of morbid humor and disturbingly gruesome violence this novel will appeal to you.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Had higher expecations...

    Loved Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL and really was hopeful that this one would be as good, but it just isn't. Still a good read, and probably my fault for reading her books in reverse order- but if you have to choose between this and GONE GIRL- hands down, choose GONE GIRL.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Dark Places is not for the faint of heart- it has it's moments o

    Dark Places is not for the faint of heart- it has it's moments of gore and terror, but it's so much more than cheap thrills. The narrative structure is unique and very well done- Gillian Flynn uses a pattern of first and third person, along with past and present-day narration that flows so smoothly. Even the heaviest parts of the plot are balanced out by Flynn's wit- this doesn't play out like some "gotcha!" episode of Dateline, with a cheesy voiceover just explaining how things got worse and worse... it's actually an intelligent, engrossing, and funny (if not necessarily "fun") novel.

    Flynn gives the reader enough clues and foreshadowing so that the reveal makes sense, which is greatly appreciated- there's nothing worse than endless red herrings and out-of-left-field plot twist. This isn't to say the novel was predictable, though- I was guessing all the way through. If you're fine with the material (and you know what to expect- the jacket description doesn't lie, this book is about brutal murders...), then I can't recommend this book enough.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I finished this book in about 3 days of non stop reading. I lite

    I finished this book in about 3 days of non stop reading. I literally could not put it down. Every character was genuinely interesting and I couldnt wait to get to the next chapter to find out what had actually happened to her family. The book has you thinking that it could be this person, no its defintely this person, or could it be.... I HIGHLY recommend this and am already decided what I should read next from Gillian Flynn,

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    I finished reading "Gone Girl" in 3 days, and was so b

    I finished reading "Gone Girl" in 3 days, and was so blown away that I went right out and got "Dark Places"...and read it in 3 days as well!!! Now, I am left with a Gillian Flynn obsession!! Although I slightly preferred "Gone Girl", this was an amazing read as well. It was dark, and twisted, and wholly satisfying! I am reading "Sharp Objects" now, although I am not breezing through it as effortlessly as the other two. Gillian Flynn writes with such a clever voice, and always leave you wondering what is going to happen next!! I actually can't wait to see what SHE comes up with next!! 5 stars!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Really a page turner, for sure!

    Could not put this one down! Very suspenseful, liked it even more that Sharp Objects!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Excellent

    I have read both this book and Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn and can definitely say she has a flair for creating very unique characters. I was a little put off from the main character in Sharp Objects because of the nature of the main character's quirks, but in Dark Places I didn't have that problem. Great story, very well written, kept me engaged from start to finish, which is about all you can ask for from a good book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Awesome Book!

    I got this book recently-and once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down! The story was original and very well written. The ending was a shock for me, which hardly ever happens! The characters were well written, and the plot had a lot of great twists and turns. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a great and suspenseful story.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Yuck!

    Loved Gone Girl and Sharp Objects, but hated Dark Places. Relentlessly bleak and gratuitously gross- out, without one likeable character. I know lots of people loved it, but I found it the reading equivalent to licking the bottom of an ashtray.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    This book kept me constantly wanting to read more. What a grea

    This book kept me constantly wanting to read more. What a great author. I was so disappointed when I finished it, I had to find another of her books to read. I then purchased and read Sharp Objects. Wow. Another great story. I am now starting Girl Gone and hope there is another to read when I'm finished. All by this author leaves me wanting MORE!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Amazing writer!

    After reading "Sharp Objects" I was hooked, after reading "Dark Places" I am a fish caught. Gillian Flynn is an amazing writer.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Prose, Great Characters, Ridiculous Resolution

    This is a murder mystery and thriller involving the massacre of the Day family--the mother, Patty, and two of her three young daughters--a crime for which her teenage son Ben was convicted. There are two basic narrative strands. It begins present day with Libby Day, the youngest daughter of the Day family and the sole survivor of that massacre twenty-five years ago when she was seven, told in first person. That narrative involving her investigation of what happened decades ago alternates with the third person narrative of Patty and Ben on that fateful day.

    I know several people who don't like first person. All I can say is this book dearly needed it. Libby is, at least at the beginning, a very unlikeable character. At thirty-one she's never held a job and is an admitted thief, "mean" and "lazy." But the first person helps her gain sympathy, because whatever else she is, at least she's honest about herself, maybe even harsh. Along with her sharp, black humor it's her saving grace. And in the course of the book we not only get to understand the trauma inflicted on her that day her family was slaughtered, but the damage inflicted by the people surrounding her, making her behavior more understandable. She speaks of having grown up "feral" and her father, among others, are far, far worse than she proves to be. She does have good reason to feel bitter.

    Judged purely as a mystery, this doesn't work. There is a lot of the resolution that just clicks so well in a lock/key fashion--but other aspects that I found too far fetched, even ridiculous. This is also a gritty, dark, sometimes sordid tale that a couple of times made me literally nauseous. However, it's a compelling, even gorgeous prose style, well-paced and often suspenseful and I wasn't tempted for one minute to leave the story unfinished.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    disturbing and entertaining

    disturbing and entertaining

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Fantastic Read

    If you buy a book based off reviews like I do, then just get this book. Its dark, twisted, and worth every cent. Its well written and keeps you turning the pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 967 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49