Customer Reviews for

Dark Places

Average Rating 4
( 785 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(390)

4 Star

(240)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Dark Places SHINES!!

This is one of the better authors that I've read in quite some time. Often the assumption with dark material is that it's made out to shock and to create a sense of morbid interactions among the main characters, but this is anything but. The story swallows you and leave...
This is one of the better authors that I've read in quite some time. Often the assumption with dark material is that it's made out to shock and to create a sense of morbid interactions among the main characters, but this is anything but. The story swallows you and leaves you gasping for air. The characters are fully developed and allow for you to care for their outcomes. Finally, I felt for the characters!! I found myself stopping at the end of each chapter, thinking, and then continuing on to see what the next one would unravel; digging deeper and deeper into the reasons behind the violent murders that took place almost 25 years prior. It's an intense read, but very captivating. I would recommend this book and the author to my demographic (23 years old) in a heartbeat. So, stop reading this review and buy the thing already. It's that good.

posted by BRICK-0_8 on June 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

Darker than I could handle...

Talk about dark. I understand dark places, though mine are nothing like Libby's, and I thought I could handle this because it doesn't usually bother me. It wasn't Libby's 'darkplace' that got to me. It was the overall darkness of the book. And it really is too vulgar an...
Talk about dark. I understand dark places, though mine are nothing like Libby's, and I thought I could handle this because it doesn't usually bother me. It wasn't Libby's 'darkplace' that got to me. It was the overall darkness of the book. And it really is too vulgar and coarse for anyone with any kind of moral sensibility. So why did I keep reading?! For the worst reason of all - curiosity as to what really happened. I may have done myself harm because of curiosity! The who-dunnit aspect of the story is what kept me going, in spite of the language and sex and gruesome violence. Saying I 'liked' the book isn't quite right - more fascinated in that car wreck kind of way. None of the characters were likable - they were pitiable. I could understand why they were twisted and warped and lacking character. I suppose it is better - more realistic - that Flynn didn't try to redeem them, or make miraculous character-turn-arounds. Libby actually DOES turn around, as much as someone as damaged as she is probably could.

The sad thing is to realize that there are children out in the world today who are in just as much need and trouble, who are falling through the cracks, just like the Day children in this story. Is it because of the poverty, or the ignorance? Those definitely play a role. How about a woman, a mother, stretched so far beyond her capabilities that she can't cope? Definitely. All are hard realities in this story and in real life.

Wouldn't recommend this book to anyone for fear that I might be an accomplice in harming them. I think that the dark things that she talks about in this book isn't something that just anyone can handle. My self included.

posted by Starluv9227 on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Darker than I could handle...

    Talk about dark. I understand dark places, though mine are nothing like Libby's, and I thought I could handle this because it doesn't usually bother me. It wasn't Libby's 'darkplace' that got to me. It was the overall darkness of the book. And it really is too vulgar and coarse for anyone with any kind of moral sensibility. So why did I keep reading?! For the worst reason of all - curiosity as to what really happened. I may have done myself harm because of curiosity! The who-dunnit aspect of the story is what kept me going, in spite of the language and sex and gruesome violence. Saying I 'liked' the book isn't quite right - more fascinated in that car wreck kind of way. None of the characters were likable - they were pitiable. I could understand why they were twisted and warped and lacking character. I suppose it is better - more realistic - that Flynn didn't try to redeem them, or make miraculous character-turn-arounds. Libby actually DOES turn around, as much as someone as damaged as she is probably could.

    The sad thing is to realize that there are children out in the world today who are in just as much need and trouble, who are falling through the cracks, just like the Day children in this story. Is it because of the poverty, or the ignorance? Those definitely play a role. How about a woman, a mother, stretched so far beyond her capabilities that she can't cope? Definitely. All are hard realities in this story and in real life.

    Wouldn't recommend this book to anyone for fear that I might be an accomplice in harming them. I think that the dark things that she talks about in this book isn't something that just anyone can handle. My self included.

    35 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I loved Gone Girl so much that I immediately bought Sharp Object

    I loved Gone Girl so much that I immediately bought Sharp Objects and Dark Places. Sharp Objects was OK, but disturbing. Dark Places, on the other hand, was so gross and discusting. The charaters were so vile and did the most revolting things. I can't get the images out of my head. Even though I had to finish it to see what happened, I wish I never read it. I hope the author writes more books like Gone Girl in the future (that one would make a great movie), but I'd almost be afraid to buy another one of her books because of the sick feeling Dark Places left me with.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Yuck!

    Loved Gone Girl and Sharp Objects, but hated Dark Places. Relentlessly bleak and gratuitously gross- out, without one likeable character. I know lots of people loved it, but I found it the reading equivalent to licking the bottom of an ashtray.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is without a doubt the worst book I have ever read, or I should say attempted to read since I could not even finish!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Dont waaste ur money$$$

    I am a big fan of gillian flynn , but i did not like this book one bit. It took to long to get to the pointand u didnt know which character to belivie.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    No words on pages

    No words on pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Confusing gross and boring

    Ive read all of Gillians books. I started reading this one last, unfortunately best is not always saved for last. Im not even finishing it because dont like it at all. Does not draw you in like her other books. Gorey and miserable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Too dark...I mean this book had everything. Satan worshiping, p

    Too dark...I mean this book had everything. Satan worshiping, pedophilia, a messed up woman who acted like a child, family slaughtered by son supposedly... Just too much darkness in one book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Ugug

    Gugy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    This book dragged on and I really debated on if I should bother finishing it. Regretfullly I did read the book in its entirety. Waste of my money

    I am very confused as to why this book got such great reviews! Was not worth the $2+ I spent. Will not be purchasing any more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Strikingpaw

    Wanders aimlessly...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    disappointing

    After reading Gone Girl, this one is a letdown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    HORRIBLY DARK GARBAGE!! A Waste of Time reading it.

    This has got to be one of the worst books I have ever laid my hands and eyes on! Just reading it left me feeling dark and depressed. I got to page 98, almost threw it across the room,and then decided to see how this sorry excuse for a story turned out. Picked up the story again on page 358 and found out the ending which made total sense for such a depressing read.
    P.S. I read "Gone Girl" and LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!!
    Lots of dark HUMOR in that one & a Fun Read.
    Gillian Flynn what were you thinking? You certainly missed the mark on Dark Places. No dark humor here, just out and out DESPAIR!! AWFUL! I would have given it 0 stars if I could
    Have. Please stick with the dark humor and drop the dark despair in your future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    To dark clan!

    A pretty bracken colred cat with jet black paws and dark blue eyes walks in and says my name is cinderstripe i am good at everything may i join u need me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    What a drag!

    UGH!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Med cat

    May i please be ur med cat my name is Junipermeds

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    dffff

    Barnemsf and novle

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    DarkestHonor and Darkness'sLove

    DarkestHonor: "hello,my name is DarkestHonor. My sister and i wish to join." He rumbled,he is a black tourtise shell with silver,one green eye and the other grey,he had a couple battle scars upon his pelt,his voie was icy and evil. Darkness'sLove: she dips her head along with DarkestHonor. "It is an honor to meet u..." she murmured. She looks like DarkestHonor,except one eye was green and the other was blue. She droped a fat squirel at Silvermoonstar's feet. "Consider this...a gift." She murmured,me hair covered hr icy blue eye,her green eye closed.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2