Customer Reviews for

Dark Power Collection

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have been curious about Ouija boards but never dared to try on

    I have been curious about Ouija boards but never dared to try one, and this helped explain them to me. I loved these books because it's more than 'I was in a bad situation and God helped me through it.' It was a life-and-death situation and then God did help them through it, but there was suspense and action, too. As a teenage Christian, I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Jill Williamson Zondervan has updated and re-released

    Review by Jill Williamson

    Zondervan has updated and re-released Bill Myers’ Forbidden Doors series in four, three-volume sets. The Dark Powers Collection is the first book in the set.

    Book 1
    The Society
    Becka and her brother Scott move to a new town. Having grown up on the mission field, it’s their first time living in a regular USA place. Right away they stumble onto things that remind them of the witch doctors from South America, who worship demons. But when Scott meets up with members of The Society and their Ouija board, he needs to dig down deep into his faith to know how to face them.

    Great story. I instantly liked Becka and Scott. They’re fun, realistic Christian teens, who know just enough about their faith to get themselves into trouble. I enjoyed watching their struggle as they volleyed between keeping their mouths shut to make friends and speaking up for their faith. This is a fun story and one that will keep you thinking long after.

    Book 2
    The Deceived
    Maxwell Hunter, a hypnotist, comes to town and convinces Becka that she was a powerful person in a former life. Scott doesn’t like the guy at all, but their mother is quite taken with him, so much that she goes out on a date with the guy! Scott is furious, and tries to figure out how to get his mom and sister to see that there is something wrong about this guy. But can he convince them before it’s too late?

    This story intrigued me. Just the idea how people can so easily convince themselves that something they know is wrong is okay. That even Christians will feed their pride rather than face the truth. It makes me wonder what in my life I might be feeding for my own pride. This was a scary one, so buckle your seatbelts!

    Book 3
    The Spell
    The Society has had it with Becka and her brother Scott, so they place a spell on Becka, tying to shut her up for good. Becka finds creepy messages and dead animals in her path. She knows The Society is messing with her, and she knows they have no real power, but she’s terrified of what they might do next! Scott, on the other hand, is completely distracted by a very pretty face.

    This one might have been my favorite so far. I really like how it shows ways that Christians can be used and taken advantage of when they give into fear or temptation and forget who to trust. I think I read this one the fastest. These are GREAT books. All Christian teens must read! Can’t wait for the next volume!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    Very Thought Provoking

    This book made me think about how I look at alot of things. I shows the battle the Christians have aginst Powers of darkness and that our battle is not aginst flesh and blood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Cursed Cubit: Chapter 6

    *Found me, haven't you?*<br>[Who are you?!]<br>The dark, deep, evil voice laughed. *Do you think I would tell you, little Mixel?*<br>[At least tell me WHAT you are!]<br>More laughter. *I am darkness.*<br>[Darkness? That's your name?]<br>*No. That's what I am, not who.*<br>[??? I don't get it.]<br>*You won't have to, once I take you to my domain. Just like your girlfriend.* The horrifying events of Leafree's death played against Flain's mind.<br>[Leafree di<_>ed.]<br>*That's what you believe, little Mixel.*<p>Flain jolted awake by a shake to his shoulder. "He's alive!" Crokedilia shouted. Ignoring her comment, Flain got up from the dirt floor. Nearby, the Cubit he retrieved yesterday lied on the floor. Flain looked at the Cubit over his shoulder. Did it have to do something with the voice he heard last night? Flain and Crooked walked over to the other Mixels, who were eating canned food. "You were talking in your sleep. Strange dream?" commented Zorch. "Yeah," Flain replied vaguely. He didn't really want to talk about it. "Seismo, Teslo, and I were planning to go check out the river. If there are still any Mixels out there, they would go to a source of water," Crooked said. "Vulk and I are going to see if the Frosticons survived," Snow said. "I'll go, too," Flain said. After the rest said that they would do (Zorch, Volectro, and Krader will stay behind; Zaptor, Shuff, and Sparkalen will gather food from the place where the Electroids lived before the attack), Flain, Vulk, and Snow went to the ex<_>tinct volcano in which the Frosticons lived.<p>They come into the crystalline insides of the de<_>ad volcano. The cold didn't bother Snow. Flain wished that was also true for him and Vulk, being from a tribe that was based on fire. Not quite. Flain had to keep his arms close to his body to keep himself warm, and the flame that was on top of his head did nothing to help. Vulk also appeared to be cold. Flain took a look around, and he saw the words "HELP ME" painted in blood on the wall. A faint scream echoed. "Someone is still al<_>ive!" shouted Flain. The group followed the noise, catiously. Suddenly, a blue dragon-shaped figure ran into them. It was Flurr, covered in blood and panicking. "You got to run! They'll take you!" he screamed. "Who'll take us!? What's going on!?" Flain shouted. A swarm of pure black Nixels appeared. "I'll slow them down! Just run!" Flurr screamed again. Then the Nixels were on him. As Flain, Vulk, and Snow fled the volcano, Flain turned his head. He wished he hadn't. As the Nixels stepped away from Flurr's bl<_>oody co<_>rpse, it turned into a black fog, and one of the Nixels sealed it in a glass jar.<p>Flain fought not to fall asleep. Everyone told what happened with them. Of course, Snow told the other Mixels that though Flain, Vulk, and Snow found Flurr, he did not survive. Flain took first watch that night, and after that watch, Seismo took the next. Flain felt his eyelids get heavier by the second. Yet he tried to stay awake. Flain didn't want to face that voice again. But finally, he fell asleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Ace

    Apperance: brown skin and sapphire blue eyes: gender male power controls time: single kid age 9 .notes: if you anger him he will go to your past and mess it up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Vendetta bio

    Name: Vendetta, Gender: female, Looks: pitch black pelt with emerald green eyes, Mate: none, Kits: none, Crush: none yet..., Powers: control over fear and darkness/shadows, Personality: genrally mild with a little bit of malice, History: ask her yourself if you dare..., Other: don't annoy her or you might not sleep for a month... and if you do you might not wake up...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Lyat and Myriz

    Name: Lyat (Pronounced: L-at) Gender: she Age: 14 moons Looks: like a racoon. Even her eyes are a beady golden! Power(s): shapeshift into any animal, is very swift in the dark, can undo her brother's spells Mate: none Crush: none Kits: none Family: Myriz is older brother Personality: short tempered, sly, and witty History: born as Racoonkit. She grew up knowing that somehow she was different. She was given her warrior name, Racoontail. But every treated her like nothing. She killed the clan leader and renamed herself, no longer a clan cat. She confienced her brother to join her. Other: knows how to cuss without getting locked out|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•| Name: Myriz (Pronounced: Mariz) Gender: tom Age: 15 moons Looks: his pelt is as dark as the midnight sky. His eyes are a haunting icy blue. Do not do not do not look into them! Power(s): when you look into his eyes, you are stuck. Only his sister can undo his power. Can become a shadow. Mate: none Crush: none Kits: none Family: Lyat is sister Personity: patient, quiet, and dark History: Grew up and became Fearnight. Joined his sister after being casted out. Other: tries to calm his sister

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    ?

    Do you know what the age range this is meant for? I have read On The Run and its series and enjoyed but am not sure about this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Captivating

    This is not one of your usual books. It incorporates religion, mystery, and teenagers in one giant recipie. I liked how this book showed that there are more than one battles we fight in this world. But with the strength of Jesus all things are possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1