Customer Reviews for

Dark Predator (Dark Series #22)

Average Rating 4
( 377 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Great read

I loved reading this wonderful dark but interesting book .It's the perfect sequel in the series. As always can't wait again to read the next one.

posted by theReader278 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

CHECK IT OUT AT THE LIBRARY!!!

I have waited year after year for Zacarias De La Cruz's story and who would get the HONOR of becoming his Life Mate, only to be very disappointed in the way both the characters were written.

We have been told over the years that Zacarias was one of the Greatest and S...
I have waited year after year for Zacarias De La Cruz's story and who would get the HONOR of becoming his Life Mate, only to be very disappointed in the way both the characters were written.

We have been told over the years that Zacarias was one of the Greatest and Strongest Carpathian Warrior/ Hunters alive and that he was feared by vampires and Carpathians. We are also, told over and over how Carpathian Males Love, Cherish and Protect their Life Mates above all others. This didn't happen in this book. My first point is I did not fine Zac to be that great of a Warrior or Hunter. He didn't have the skill or the strength of a Gregori,a Dominic or a Lucian. He didn't have strength enough to keep his L.M. Marguarita from being savagely beaten by human vampire hunters who invaded their home. He would have died by the hands of his oldest and greatest vampire enemy, if Solange Life Mate to Dominic had not answered his call for help and return the day before to give him her Royal Blood, this is all that saved him. My second point is my beloved Zacarias was turned into an abusive monster. He abused his L.M. Marguarita both physically and mentally, on more than one occasion, he said it was to teach her a lesson. Others have justified Zac's behavior by saying he did this because he didn't recognizes her as his L.M.,he didn't feel any emotions or see in color like other Carpathians males did when they first encountered their L.M.. Now that's just strange to me because in all 21 books before this one the male immediately felt emotions and saw in color. Zacarias was different, but so was Gregori and Julian. I didn't like this new change in Zac. I was disappointed in how Zac was written all around.

My second point of disappointment was his Life Mate Marguarita, she was an abuse spouse and she acted like it, Marguarita was very submissive and fearful of what he was going to do to her if she disobeyed, But it was OK because he was the Great Zacarias De La Cruz, even when he picked her up and threw her into the wall; after DS the human vampire hunter had kicked and beaten her for hours.!! Her psychic gift was not that impressive either. I call her the horse whisperer . I wanted a Great Life Mate for a Great Warrior/Hunter and I did not get that in this book for either of them. Zac only gets a Half of his HEA, he only can see in color or feel emotions when Marguarita is with him. The possibility is out their for him to still turn vampire, if something happens to Marguarita. What a disappointment End!!

Why make devoted fans wait a year to find out Zac's L.M was Just Poor Submissive Marguarita. I SAY ADVERTIZING STUNT!!! To promote book sales!!

The story is not romantic or sensual as the other books in the Dark Series. I did not feel the love or bonding between Zacarias and Marguarita. I can only hope the next book in the series is better.

I think it must be very hard for Ms. Feehan to write 4 different series at the same time. Something is going to go lacking and Dark Predator was indeed Very Lacking all around. I can only give this book 1 star and I would suggest if you are reading this series, to get this book from the library!!

posted by DEAMD on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    worst in series

    I usually enjoy these for a fun read. But this book had several negatives, it was hard to get into, no mystery, and the characters weren't that likable. Additionally, there was no furtherance of the overall plot line that more recent books have been exposing. This just rehashed memories of old plot lines. It appeared just put together with old stories and nothing new. You can skip this one and not miss it. If you must read, please save your money and wait until it is in paperback and the ebook price goes down..

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Disappointed

    Zacarias was a horrible character, still didn't beat Rafael. The story would have been nice, if she got her voice back after the change and he heard for the first time and was brought fully into the light. Also would have been nice to include his brothers and their lifemates.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Disappointing and dismal

    This book is NOT for anyone who has ever been in an abusive relationship. It is written as if they are valid reasons for such abuse. That said... Book begins well and quickly slides downhill. It strays away from normal Dark Series books - Carpathians cherish their women. Not big brother, Zac. In previous books, the brothers are all in tune with each other and ask mentally if help is needed. None of his brothers FELT his turmoil? None of his brothers were overly concerned when their eldest brother declared his plan to walk into the sun? This book is so off track for the Dark Series. He is abusive and a bully, she is pathetic. I could not relate to either character. The spiders were very well written though. Perhaps Ms. Feehan is writing too many books at once and has others writing her Dark series for her?

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Disappointed

    Horrible. I can't believe she wrote this dribble. Boring. stale. He was abusive mentally & physically. His brothers never make an appearance after the beginning. I mean, whats up with that? It didn't keep with the series. I think she rushed through this and I'm more than a little irritated that I spent over $12 on it. What a rip off.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best . . .

    I usually enjoy this series, but this story just didn't do it for me. Not as strong as the others. Kind of disappointed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Disappointed

    I love christine's books and she is a wonderful writer but, something must have been off with this book. Oh, where to start...well, lets start with because she had no vocal chords anymore that she could not speak with sentences in her mind, only impressions of what she wanted to say. HUH? I mean, she knew how to talk before she lost her voice. Did it affect her mentally where she can't form words in her brain anymore? The whole lifemate thing & him not seeing colors or accepting her were totally out of character with the whole series. I understand what she was trying to do with the story but, I didn't think it worked. SO MUCH, self dialoge I had to skip two or three pages at a time. This guy was an idiot. The books come to life when there is interplay amongst characters. There were boring support characters. Throw in a little interplay with other carpathains. That's what makes the books great. Anyway, I hope she's back on target with the next one. This book was just stale, flat, and irritating. No sizzling love scenes. Few exciting, heart pounding moments. It just left me saying to myself, "That's it? Really?"

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No Go

    Love most of her books, and most of this series, BUT this one was rough to get through - least enjoyed book by her (& I've read A LOT) save the $ & skip this one, it wont effect flow of series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Beware the Repetition, Reiteration, Regurgitation

    Zacarias De La Cruz is a Carpathian, one who is a creature of the night, feeds off blood and is a shapeshifter. Those of his race that succumb to the evil of killing when they feed become the hated vampire and the prey of the hunter Zacarias. Now that his brothers have all found their lifemates and there are many capable hunters to keep the Prince safe he has decided to end his life in honor instead of embracing the shadows on his soul and forcing his brothers to hunt him. He heads to his ranch in Peru in time to meet the sun, but a woman intervenes and saves him.

    Marguarita Fernandez has served the De La Cruz family her whole life. A few months before the start of Dark Predator she is attacked by a vampire and refuses to give up the De La Cruz¿s resting place, so the vampire rips out her vocal cords. Before she can bleed to death Zacarias arrives and saves her life. Now, he has returned and she feels compelled to save him from himself.

    Zacaraias is touched by shadows and is disconnected from his emotions. That makes him an excellent hunter, but a not very good mate.

    The bad thing about this book is the repetition. I lost track of how many times Zacarias thought about the shadows on his soul, how he had no emotions, how he was a solitary hunter and how his erection around Marguarita was ¿heavy¿.

    I loved the story itself and how the characters were flawed yet managed to be whole when together, but the constant repetition and reiteration drove me near insane. This was a problem early on in the series and had hoped it was a thing of the past.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Disappointing... zacharias is a cool characther but not impressed with the plot :(

    There wasn't really a plot and Margeruite seemed rather pathetic most of the time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Rika62

    I did not enjoy this book,i was expecting so much more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    So Disappointed!!!

    Like many other readers, I was truly disappointed with this much anticipated story. I couldn't wait to read about Zacarias and just knew this would be just as good as the last two in the series. Sorry to say it didn't hold my attention as her other books have, I had to force myself to read through most of it. A lot of scenes were too drawn out and overly descriptive, many details just were not needed. It seems as if most of the book was just fillers. I've read every book in the series and still look forward to the next one. I just hope Ms. Feehan taps back into her creativity and makes up for this sore let down. I pray Skyler and Dimitri's story lives up to it's expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1