Customer Reviews for

Dark Predator (Dark Series #22)

Average Rating 4
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Great read

I loved reading this wonderful dark but interesting book .It's the perfect sequel in the series. As always can't wait again to read the next one.

posted by theReader278 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

CHECK IT OUT AT THE LIBRARY!!!

I have waited year after year for Zacarias De La Cruz's story and who would get the HONOR of becoming his Life Mate, only to be very disappointed in the way both the characters were written.

We have been told over the years that Zacarias was one of the Greatest and S...
I have waited year after year for Zacarias De La Cruz's story and who would get the HONOR of becoming his Life Mate, only to be very disappointed in the way both the characters were written.

We have been told over the years that Zacarias was one of the Greatest and Strongest Carpathian Warrior/ Hunters alive and that he was feared by vampires and Carpathians. We are also, told over and over how Carpathian Males Love, Cherish and Protect their Life Mates above all others. This didn't happen in this book. My first point is I did not fine Zac to be that great of a Warrior or Hunter. He didn't have the skill or the strength of a Gregori,a Dominic or a Lucian. He didn't have strength enough to keep his L.M. Marguarita from being savagely beaten by human vampire hunters who invaded their home. He would have died by the hands of his oldest and greatest vampire enemy, if Solange Life Mate to Dominic had not answered his call for help and return the day before to give him her Royal Blood, this is all that saved him. My second point is my beloved Zacarias was turned into an abusive monster. He abused his L.M. Marguarita both physically and mentally, on more than one occasion, he said it was to teach her a lesson. Others have justified Zac's behavior by saying he did this because he didn't recognizes her as his L.M.,he didn't feel any emotions or see in color like other Carpathians males did when they first encountered their L.M.. Now that's just strange to me because in all 21 books before this one the male immediately felt emotions and saw in color. Zacarias was different, but so was Gregori and Julian. I didn't like this new change in Zac. I was disappointed in how Zac was written all around.

My second point of disappointment was his Life Mate Marguarita, she was an abuse spouse and she acted like it, Marguarita was very submissive and fearful of what he was going to do to her if she disobeyed, But it was OK because he was the Great Zacarias De La Cruz, even when he picked her up and threw her into the wall; after DS the human vampire hunter had kicked and beaten her for hours.!! Her psychic gift was not that impressive either. I call her the horse whisperer . I wanted a Great Life Mate for a Great Warrior/Hunter and I did not get that in this book for either of them. Zac only gets a Half of his HEA, he only can see in color or feel emotions when Marguarita is with him. The possibility is out their for him to still turn vampire, if something happens to Marguarita. What a disappointment End!!

Why make devoted fans wait a year to find out Zac's L.M was Just Poor Submissive Marguarita. I SAY ADVERTIZING STUNT!!! To promote book sales!!

The story is not romantic or sensual as the other books in the Dark Series. I did not feel the love or bonding between Zacarias and Marguarita. I can only hope the next book in the series is better.

I think it must be very hard for Ms. Feehan to write 4 different series at the same time. Something is going to go lacking and Dark Predator was indeed Very Lacking all around. I can only give this book 1 star and I would suggest if you are reading this series, to get this book from the library!!

posted by DEAMD on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    I loved reading this wonderful dark but interesting book .It's the perfect sequel in the series. As always can't wait again to read the next one.

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    A Different Kind of Love Story

    I finally finished Dark Predator yesterday. After waiting so long, the desire to devour it was overwhelming. I'm so glad I read it slowly, to savor it, to not rush through Zacarius and Marguarita's story. It was compelling, to say the least. The story, which focuses primarily on their relationship, took us on an emotional journey that provided a true understanding of who Zacarius really is. Who could possibly save Zacarius ... this earth and cave dwelling predator with a shattered soul and darkened spirit. Only Marguarita could, a slip of a woman, an independent free spirit, raised in the male dominant Peruvian culture, and a "beautiful lunatic". Unable to speak, she is the bright light and driving force that, bit by bit, weakens his steel encased heart to save him. Predator is different from the other books in Christine's series because Zacarius is "DIFFERENT". His life experience is different, his relationships with family and humans is different, even his decision to not search for his lifemate is different. I've come to think of the Dark Series old world Carpathian males as "superheroes". Powerful, passionate, invincible, with strength beyond measure. Strength comes in many forms, and Predator proves just how strong Zacarius can be. It also shows, that like humans, Carpathians can have their weaknesses too. For those of you that complain about the "cookie cutter" book formula, Predator definitely scored out of the box. Christine has stirred the pot, added a new flavor, and enhanced the layer to our multi-dimensional heroes. This is a different kind of love story and Zacarius does get his "happily ever after" .... just differently

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    I Loved it!

    I am a long time fan of the Dark Series. Zacarias and Marguarita's story is another 5 star addition. Although there is not as much action as in Dark Slayer, another of the Malinov Brothers is taken out, edging one step closer to getting rid of the major plotters against Mikhail. Marguarita, has no voice to clue Zacarias with colors and emotions that she is his lifemate which leads to interesting twists in how they come together. It was an excellent change from previous books, forcing the pair to concentrate on each other rather than knowing immediately they were lifemates. Ms. Feehan has told us in previous books that Zacarias was Seriously old school and having grown up with overbearing chauvinistic men, I thought Marguarita's handling of Zacarias' alpha tendencies was brilliant. All hunters have had to take out friends and family, however the scene where he had to kill his own father was heartbreaking. He was tortured by that as deeply as Jacques was in Dark Desire and that was the beginning of my bonding with Zacarias. Yes, Zacarias is a serious chest beating "I am the man and you will obey" alpha Carpathian, however this is normal for Carpathians and the women always learn how to make them understand who is actually in charge. Marguarita did it with just the right touch of disobedience and subtle humor. Marguarita's understanding of what made him tick was balanced with the knowledge she had from years of knowing what he was and the pure fear most of us would feel when faced with a predator like Zacarias and yet she faced her fear and picked her battles thoughout the book, a winning combination in my mind. All in all I LOVED it.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    Need NOOK book form!!!

    Everyone who reads Christine Feehan books, knows that this one will be as wonderful as the rest...BUT.....we need it in NOOK book form!!!!!!

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    I love it

    Dark Predator was a book that had my emotions all over the place. Love the choice of his lifemate. She is the perfect part for his dark side and a every fundamental part in his future life.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Love it

    I am nevet disappointed in any of her books. This one very different from the rest. More time spent on help us understand Zacarias but I loved how his "little lunatic" help him understand himself and become the lifemate she needed. I will be re-reading this one again to see what i missed the first time around. Can't wait to see what is being blogged on her website.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Love it!

    Best one ever!!

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Highly Recommend - Best to Come

    Thanks Barnes & Noble for providing Dark Predator in the e-book format. Please add the trailer that is now available:it is fantastic!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Emotional rollercoaster til the very last page!!!!

    Ok I own all of the Dark series Books. I just finished this book and I wanted to write this while it was still freash on my mind. I thought the book was AMAZING..... So much different then all the other books. Mrs. Feehan put her self and her beloved carpathians out there... for the world to read and judge. I love him...and hated him... I wanted to slap her and hug her .... the whole time I was reading the book ..... It was an emotional rollercoaster til the very last page.. Well worth the money if your ready for the next step into the ever changing world of Carpathains!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Worth the wait......

    Since the first time that Zacharias was mentioned in this series I have waited for this story. Being so close to turning, and the past contact with Zacharias, I found that the writing of this story was ture to the personality of Zarcharias. And his women is no push over, she stands up for herself and her man's ture nature. Well written as always.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Loved it

    This book was a little different than the others, but that made it interesting .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Scarlette

    *stumbles in, her gold eyes wild with fear and her strawberry blond curls running down her back. Sees Marna and races back out as a white wolf with pink tinged fur to Rose first result*

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wonderful

    As always, Christine Feehan ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!! sooooo worth the read. I reccomend all of her books and series'.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Wow!!!!!

    Feehan does it again..... Zacarius is aggressive, dominent, abrusive, and absolutly wonderful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Couldnt Love It More!

    I guess to each his own is true for this book but i just have to say that Dark Predator is one of my all time faves!!! Zacarias is a bit of a brute but he loves Marguarita fiercely and anything he does to or for her is purely out of his protective instincts. Hes a damaged soul and she heals him and he adores her. Anyone that cant see that must have read another book. I loved it and thought it was fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Loved it!!!!!

    I've read most of Christine Feehan's books. All of her "dark" series. This one was great, but a little different. She seemed to write a little more about the characters, giving the reader a better understanding of who they were. It was a great change from the last few of this series. Absolutely awesome... as usual.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Best Author Ever!!!

    I have been waiting forever for the book about Zacarias to come out! Soooooo excited :)

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    So excited

    I love all of feehans books, i have no doubt that she will deliver withbthisbon as well. I cant wait.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended!!!!CHECK OUT!!!!!

    i know this book will be amazing all of Christine Feehan books are always out of this world and this one will be no different!!!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Love this series

    As usual can't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9