Customer Reviews for

Dark Prince: Author's Cut Special Edition (Dark Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(308)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Reader of the twenty-one books series will enjoy the revised alpha thriller

In the Carpathian Mountains lives an immortal race of blood drinkers. These eternal Carpathians face several crises that have the species nearing extinction. There are few females and no new child has been born alive in ages. Humans with their superior numbers hunt C...
In the Carpathian Mountains lives an immortal race of blood drinkers. These eternal Carpathians face several crises that have the species nearing extinction. There are few females and no new child has been born alive in ages. Humans with their superior numbers hunt Carpathians as soulless beasts. The assertion has support as the male must find his soulmate within a few centuries or turn into blood sucking vampires; some recognize the emotional void when they lose the ability to see colors and choose suicide.

Prince Mikhail Dubrinsky despairs for himself and his people as he is on the brink of lunacy. His emptiness overwhelms him so he wants to shut down the emotions; still he holds back his anguish as his people need him as their moral anchor. He wonders if he totally lost it when he hears a female telepathic voice in his head. Mikhail finds the woman psychic Raven Whitney the serial killer hunter. He knows who she is to him so he abducts her. Using mind-sex to make it with his virgin, Mikhail begins to win the heart of his savior. He has little time to persuade her that they are life mates as a serial killing monster hunts Carpathians with species cleansing the objective.

"The Author's Cut Special Edition" reprint of the original first Dark Carpathian romantic fantasy (released in 1999) includes over a hundred pages removed from the initial publication. These include sexual padding but also provide deeper insight into the Carpathian culture. Mikhail is a wonderful lead character with his mental roller coaster while Raven proves his equal as his soul savior. This life mate team must prevent the genocide. Reader of the twenty-one books series will enjoy the revised alpha thriller with its marvelous underlying premise while newcomers will find this is an excellent way to enter Christine Feehan's Dark.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I can't believe people really liked this book

I love Paranormal books but this one was AWFUL! 90% of the book focused on the relationship between the main couple and that involved just them learning how to communicate with each other and about each other. I couldn't take one more paragraph of them reading each oth...
I love Paranormal books but this one was AWFUL! 90% of the book focused on the relationship between the main couple and that involved just them learning how to communicate with each other and about each other. I couldn't take one more paragraph of them reading each others minds. I have read the entire JR Ward Series and love it and was looking forward to starting a new series but I will not read another book in this series. I never start a book and not finish it, I just always hope it will get better but in hindsight I wish I would have given up on this one. It was all I could do to get through to the end.

posted by 7262809 on March 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    I can't believe people really liked this book

    I love Paranormal books but this one was AWFUL! 90% of the book focused on the relationship between the main couple and that involved just them learning how to communicate with each other and about each other. I couldn't take one more paragraph of them reading each others minds. I have read the entire JR Ward Series and love it and was looking forward to starting a new series but I will not read another book in this series. I never start a book and not finish it, I just always hope it will get better but in hindsight I wish I would have given up on this one. It was all I could do to get through to the end.

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    *yawn* next

    This book was awful. I didn't even finish it and that is a first for me. The dialogue is repetitive, drawn out and so bland. The only character development is when the characters go from being joined at the genitals to being obsessive about each other. The "hero" is so controlling and selfish it becomes abusive and the heroine has no backbone despite the front she is putting up. I want my money back.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    I have a great love of paranormal books, and this one was simply

    I have a great love of paranormal books, and this one was simply awful. I do not understand all the 5 star ratings. Ok, we KNOW the "heroine" is utterly, painfully, beautiful and perfect. You don't need to go on and on about it. Doesn't make me connect with her at all, besides the fact that she was one of those stupidly stubborn "I will do it my way no matter how much danger it puts me in" women that just ticks me off in books. And Mr. Carpathian was not very compelling either. Plot? I'm not sure what it was. Just seemed like one ongoing scene where the two lovers become more obsessed with one another. Boooring. Pick up JR Ward or Gena Showalter, or Jill Myles Succubi series instead.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    ?

    Of course review number 1 is harriet klausner with her cliff note book report ruining the book with her excessive reveal. Please bn, delete her excessive plot spoilers and ban her from posting. She ruins every book she so calls reviews.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Eeargh

    Painfully cliched, boring, and stupid. Was throbbingly painful to read at times. Review written, composed, and edited to resemble and recreate the irritating, dull, insipid style of the novel.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    I would think an author who's been writing for as long as Christ

    I would think an author who's been writing for as long as Christine Feehan has would have become better at plot construction and character development. Unfortunately, this book offers very little plot, an abundance of gratuitous killings of animals and children, and main characters short on charm and intelligence (the heroine continuously brags about how intelligent she is, and then gets another main character senselessly killed with her stupidity). Just because you write romance, doesn't mean you have to park your brain at the cover page.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Totally awful!

    I hated to give it a star at all. Pick up a Joey Hill or JR Ward. With those you'll get a great story and great sex! Finishing this book isn't possible unless you like the way a teenage mind might write about romance.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I have a feeling this series is one you will either love or hate

    I have a feeling this series is one you will either love or hate. I had a great deal of trouble finishing this book and that is unusual for me. The writing style is repetitive and ponderous. Too many conversations between the characters and much of what they say does not further the storyline. By the 30th time we were told what a life mate is I think we had already gotten the point.

    I also have problems with the way the characters were developed, particularly Raven. The bouncing between headstrong and submissive was confusing and in my opinion made her confusing.

    In the end, this type of writing is not for me and I can tell by the reviews the rest of the books in this series are the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Dont bother

    Childish, boring, just another romantic, vampire book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Didn't finish it

    I didn't really like it, it just dragged. I didn't finish it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Under 2.99, really?

    BN should check their under 2.99 list, very few books are under 2.99

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    no just no

    no just no

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Dissappointed

    Dissapointed

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Horrible!

    This book is so bad, I will not be finishing it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Ugh!

    No descriptive writing. No character development (changing species does not count as character development). Continuity issues. Sorry, but the prose made this book almost unbearable.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    My expectations were not met by this book.

    I am new to Feehan and aside from this book I've only read one other by this author. That book was ok, maybe because it was much smaller.

    I thought that the success of the series ment that at least the first few books would be good. That doesn't seem to be the case however. I had to force myself to continue reading in the hope it would improve. It didn't.

    I really don't understand this authors seeming popularity. Perhaps she is merely prolific rather than praised?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Won't read the rest of the series

    The story itself was okay, but I had a real problem with the main character. He is arrogant and extremely possessive, bordering on cruel. I kept reading, thinking I would get to like him, but that never happened. For paranormal romance, I would highly recommend Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Not Good

    This book was painful to read. The characters and story were cliched, trite, and dissapointingly flat. Dont waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Not fair to reprint old books with new covers and called a new s

    Not fair to reprint old books with new covers and called a new series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2