Customer Reviews for

The Dark Queen

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Never wanted it to end

    I am a huge fan of historical fiction, so I kind of knew what to expect...colorful imagery, handsome men, and an astromoical castrophy. Knowing all of that, this book wowed me. It had everything a good book should have, love,sex,despair,action,believable dialog. When you finish a book and are sad that it is over, that is the sign of a great book. I literally started back at page 1 after finishing the last page.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book and Series.

    I first found this book on Amazon and was charmed by the character of Renard who was delightfully stubborn, pigheaded, and downright seductive. He was very entertaining and how he and Ariane Cheney (the heroine) interacted with each other was hilarious at times due to how he frustrated her so much by constantly dogging her to marry him. I personally loved the take on witches that Mrs. Carroll took. The "Daughters of the Earth" were the modern sense of witches and pagans: kind, righteous, and virtuous women young and old.

    I personally can't wait to read the next book and I hope that the series continues strong.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Romantic and Quirky

    This book was an excellent read. It was very romantic but in a strange quirky kind of way. it was very good though and i cant wait to read the other 2 books in the Trilogy, the Courtesean and the Rose Without a Thorn.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Hi

    Can you guys tell what the age group on this should be?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Like a fairy tale

    This book read like a fairy tale to me. I loved the romance between Ariane and Renard. Great plot twists and history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    interesting take on history

    This story is a great combination of romance, history, and thrill. The characters are well developed and the plot is intriguing. Somehow the story seems to fit quite well into that point in history. This book is found in the Literature section, but I find it to be more of a romance novel with a higher emphasis to history than strictly to the relationships. All in all, I liked it enough to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Beginnings

    I read this book once before, but too long to not read it again before going through the whole trilogy, and it is just as wonderful--if not more so--as the first time. To center around Ariane and her three sisters, Susan Carroll weaves a very realistic portrait of family life and the behavioral ethics of each of them considering the way their family stands at the moment the story takes place, and the circumstances they have been through. Catherine de Medici, as seen here, is an incredibly enigmatic (despite who she is in the book) individual, interesting to browse upon as one goes through the motions of the book, and engaging. The Dark Queen certainly makes the whole work all the more worthy of being read--for despite the other characters being fantastic, and the book itself being able to survive without the dowager queen of France, she makes the entire thing even better. Renard is magnificent, and his interactions with Touissant are endearing and touching in contrast to the passionate (though quietly at first) and spell-binding (truly, to me) undertakings had with Ariane. Seeing the ways of Gabrielle and Remy in this first book, it paves the way perfectly for the second installment (which I'm currently reading) in the series. This is certainly a book worth reading not once, but twice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Dark Queen is the first novel in the Dark Queen Trilogy which follows the adventures of the Cheney sisters as they battle Queen Catherine de Medici of France. In this first novel Ariane Cheney has become the new Lady of Faire Isle after the death of her mother. All of the Cheney women are wise women or wicthes, but Ariane will only use her power to heal. It is in her position as a healer that will bring on the wrath of the Dark Queen when an injured furgitive comes to Faire Isle and ask for her help. At the same time Ariane is being persued by a determined suitor who is hiding secrets of his own. The Dark Queen is filled with suspence and intrigue from the first page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    I loved It

    I loved this book I hate to read but I couldn't put it down. I can not wait to read the next books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    Great Read!

    This was really a wonderful book! At times it may seem a bit dark, but it's really not a book like that. It's all around great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Outstanding!!

    The story line and characters were phenominal! But I will admit that in the beginning I thought that that magic aspect was going to ruin the novel but once I got into it, it only made the story better. I couldn't put it down. I read it in 2 1/2 days and went straight onto The Courtesan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Perfection....in every sense of the word

    The Dark Queen, written by Susan Carroll, tells of a destined love between the Lady of Faire Isle and the Comte de Renard. With everything inbetween from witch hunters to romance, Carroll gives you just enough to make you smile, or grasp onto the edge of your seat, but all the while she leaves you craving for more. This story was told beautifully- the organization and unfolding was delightful. I WANT MORE!!!...and then some...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    I Read it Over and Over Till the Pages Fell Out

    I loved this book. I felt a conection with each of the characters. I fell in love with Justice (Renard). I read it to sleep. I read the book till it fell upart from wear and tare. It is the best book I have ever read. I did not want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    The Most Captivating Book I've Read In a Long Time

    I am a major reader and I'm always looking for new books and authors. When I was walking by a shelf at mt local bookstore the cover caught my attention. Usually, I have found, books with flashy covers content is less than satisfactory, but I decide to give it a try. And I an whole heartedly glad I did. The lush backround and well written characters (Renard, Miri, Gabrielle, Remy, and Ariane herself)give the book a realistic quality that draws you into it and in the end you find that you are attached to the book and the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Loved it!

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    the Dark Queen!!

    Very few of the books that I would highly recommend or gkive all 5/5 stars, a diamond in the rough, a definate page turner that will leave you wishing all books were this intricatly woven with a twist that will leave you gaping & feeling as if you are the actual character herself. AMAZING book, go get it or borrow it from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Jon

    You...here?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    CometHeart of Starclan to Deathwish

    What is the name of your race?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Princess Rini

    Link, why cant you be a prince? And person who wants to be a princess, sorry we already have five. Unless you would like to be a queen. there are three choice queens. Queen Anne of the Kingdom of the Blessed, Queen Lucinda of the Kingdom of Hope, and Queen Mioka of the Kingdom of the Sakura Blossoms.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    princess rini

    the prince who will heal my broken heart. The prince could even be you.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3