Customer Reviews for

The Dark River (Fourth Realm Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Strange fiction

    Although I read this book and enjoyed it, I would not recommend it to anyone

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    To whoever liked my story at dark river result 2&3

    One day a rich lady with big hips was walking down the road. She was wearing an UGLY brown velvet dress and a faux fur scarf (also brown). She had on shiny brown gladiator heels (basically very strappy high heels) and a teeny weeny liitle brown felt hat clipped to her white-blond hair. Thats not the funny part. The funny part is she looked like the queen of poop with her brown clothes and shoes and stuff. She was even swinging a brown handbag around as she walked so it hit people in the face. She looked like the queen of poop so much that as she walked by every manhole and drainage pipe, the poop that was flushed away jumped out and marched after her. PART TWO AT DARK RIVER RESULT FIVE!! READ MY STORY. READ IT!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Worthy of a few movies!

    Great series! Don't know why they havent been made into movies yet. Off to go read #3!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    Leaves you wanting more!!

    Love this series. Can't put these books down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    Continuation of Traveler Story

    Continuation of story but not quite as good as the first book. Characters not quite consistent from first book. Still, very good story and well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Even Better than the First Book

    I really enjoyed reading The Traveler, but I loved reading this book. The pace really picked up, the plot became more interesting and when I was finished reading, I couldn't wait for book 3 to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    A great read,

    I enjoyed the first book, Travelers, and waited with anticipation for this one. I have not been disappointed. It follows on the first book and expands on the plot.

    The premise of a "big brother" is not original but Twelve Hawks puts a great twist on it by using two brothers and a guardian class.

    I enjoyed it throughly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    Thoroughly entertaining!

    I've read both of John Twelve Hawks books in this series- and enjoyed them immensely. It's been a long time since I discovered a good author and I'll be watching for more books from this author. It seems the next book will be called "The Golden City", arriving in September - but B&N is not offering preorder yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Very Good Read

    This book was a very well written follow up. I think the twist about Beta Blockers was brilliant as it is actually used by performers to lessen the affects of anxiety and stage fright (if they can splice dna, they should be able to doctor the Blockers). Mostly love that it isn't written as too far out of this world to be believed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    Needs refinement

    I liked the book but it read like a draft. There were typos and silly scientific errors. Beta blockers make you indifferent to violence? At least the mercenaries were protected from heart disease when they attacked! He should have chosen amphetamines like the WWII Kamikaze pilots and Hitler took or another similar substance. The free runner part was almost a childish waste of time but the rest was an entertaining late summer read. I hope John Twelve Hawks spends a little time 'on the grid' to find an editor and maybe a scientific consultant for his final book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    Wow

    There's no loss for action and incredible action in Dark River. Second books are rarely as good as the first, but this one is better. Believe me, if you like a book that grabs you and doesn't let go, try this one. Unblievabley good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was fast paced, exciting, full of detailed conspiracies, and fascinating historical stories. It was a great read but it's very dark and the violence hits closer to home. I had a hard enough time waiting for THIS book to come out after The Traveler, but the ending of this book is an even greater cliff hanger. I definitely want to know what happens next and will be spending the next couple of years making my own predictions...especially regarding the location of Matthew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    An adult fairytail.

    The Traveler is sharp and fast paced, yet has depth. It will be interesting to see if the next book can carry the load. I would like to see more complexity in the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Orwellian tale

    Both Michael and Gabriel Corrigan are Travelers able to send their consciousness into other realms and when they returned from their journey, they had visions and information to change the world. Throughout time they were opposed by the Brethren who systemically hunted down in order to maintain the status quo. The Brethren are an uber-Big Brother who want to establish an invisible prison where all are spied upon, their every moment known. Various computerized information systems flow from the Vast Machine. The Brethren are going to implement the next advanced monitoring program in Berlin and they know when it proves successful it will spread to all Germany and the rest of Europe. Michael has allied himself with the Brethren wanting the power they possess while Gabriel is on a collision cause with him because he his mission is to stop the Brethren from making the world an invisible prison with no freedom or human rights. Travelers always are by the ultimate fighting machine the Harlequin and Gabriel is guarded by Maya. Both brothers discover their father a powerful Traveler is alive and both get to find him. Gabriel become lost in one of the realms called Hell and Maya must risk everything in the hopes she can find and bring him home knowing she might be stranded in a word without hope or love. --- Sometime in the future, computer technology will be so advanced that spying and monitoring everyone in the whole world will be commonplace. Those that persist against the technological imprisonment like, Gabriel, the Harlequins and the people that they persuade to go into battle with them are heroes as they are a very tiny minority willing to enter hell for their heavenly cause. Most people rather have their freedom curtailed to remain safe from terrorism. Michael isn¿t the typical villain because he has some redeeming qualities and it wouldn¿t surprise readers to feel he is more like us than his brother. This Orwellian tale is plausible and frightening built off of today¿s anti terrorism practices in environs in which current technology has continued its rapid evolution. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    Twelve Hawks is 'traveling' his way up the ladder in sci-fi!

    John Twelve Hawk's second volume shines. A cliffhanger ending leaves me in great anticipation for the final installation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3