Customer Reviews for

Dark Rivers of the Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    His best book by far

    The action sequences are incredible. Coming from Koontz, I was expecting a horror story, and it's there (man, is it there!!), but the action is what keeps the book alive. I hated to put it down. My wife was so glad when I finished it so I would talk to her again. I'd love to see it made into a movie - preferably a TV miniseries so the whole story can be included.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the very BEST books of all time...

    Do yourself a favor, just jump in. Dive...Because when you're finished with DARK RIVERS OF THE HEART, you will emerge a changed person. This book is timely, engrossing, fascinating, scary...it is exceptionally brilliant.

    This is another of Dean Koontz's in my permanent library, which I've had for more than eleven years. I re-read it just last year (for the fifth time) so I won't be re-reading it this year. This Summer so far, I've re-read RELENTLESS, TWILIGHT EYES, LIFE EXPECTANCY, VELOCITY, THE GOOD GUY. I want to re-read THE HUSBAND (must hunt for it), probably TAKEN, and THE BAD PLACE...then I go on to my next fave authors.

    You must read it. Ironically, it is more pertinent now than ever. If you're scared when reading this book, THINK. This was how things were THEN. Imagine how they are NOW...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    Best Koontz I've read

    I've tackled 14 of this author's books....some are entertaining, some of them I've struggled with, and some are just plain bad....but Dark Rivers of the Heart is not only the best Koontz thriller I've read, it is also one of the best of it's kind I have ever read. Exciting and cinematic...the evil characters are very well-drawn and unique and some of Roy Miro's actions are so sudden and unexpected that I had to lay the book down for a minute to shiver AND laugh a bit at the audacity. Ultimately, everything is wrapped up a bit too neatly considering all that came before...but hey, it's the journey, not the destination...right??

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    fantastic action and great characters

    Great characters in this novel and the action is non-stop. There is truely one suprise after the other. Dean Koontz has the ability to write flawlessly and he certainly shows his ability in this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    Non Stop Excitement

    Hadn't picked up a Koontz book since Seize the Night and Fear Nothing which were a little disappointing. Glad I selected this one. probably one of his best. Rates up there with his classics of Watchers and Lightning. The book is exciting from the very start and takes you on a roller coaster ride. Difficult to put down and sorry that it had to end. The characters show human weakness that most can relate to. Once again Koontz uses a loveable canine to add comic relief to suspenseful situations, which I love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2003

    This Book Will Keep You On The Edge of Your Seat!!!!!!

    Dean koontz is a master of writing and can make you run a chill up your spine. And cause you to be so scared this book is devloped my the twisted mind of koontz.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Great book.

    Normally when I start a DK book I cannot lay it down until the last page. I had trouble getting into this one, until a friend loaned me the audio version. Great book. I bought my own audio copy and have listened to it about ten times in the past 12 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Great book

    Wish it would be made into a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The characters are great, the action is non-stop and you will no

    The characters are great, the action is non-stop and you will not be able to put this one down. Some of Koontz's books are bizarre to say the least but Dark Rivers of the Heart may be his best yet. It left me a bit paranoid though. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    To below

    My brother laghed his butt off his legs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    One of his best

    Loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Koontz Delivers

    I really enjoyed hearing this book. Again, Koontz delivers a powerful, dark and well told story. The characters were well rounded and the story plausible. It also had lots of twits and turns that I didn't expect and some I did. I on't want to give away too much but if you like any of Konntz's other books, you will love this one. What I liked about this book is that I found few holes in the story. It was well plotted out until the end. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I drive to work so I couldn't wait to get back in the car day after day to find out what was going to happen. I would totally recommned this book to anyone. It is a fantastic read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Relentless Koontz

    Mr. Koontz has his formula for evolving plot, increasing danger, and just enough romance down cold, so naturally I loved this book. The two protagonistS have just the right skills needed at the right time to counter one of Koontz's more original bad-guy's.
    And the network of restitution described almost made me want to actually believe in conspiracy theories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Nothing Less than Excellent

    Simply put: I have not read a better book since Watchers. It encompasses so many present and futuristic issues that my head was reeling as I finished the book and called every friend I had to suggest that they rush to purchase it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2