BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dark Roots and Cowboy Boots

Average Rating 5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    One of my favorite books!

    This is one of my favorite books & favorite authors. I love the story line & especially the characters. I've read this book several different times & it was the first of many novels I've read from Miss Luanne McLane. I love that it's country & it's a book I can actually relate to & picture myself in. Would highly recommend to any country gal out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    GREAT B00K!

    I absolutley loved this book. I recommended it to all my friends & they loved it as well! LuAnn is an amazing author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    This book you'll find hard to put down

    I loved this book! its sassy, fun, interesting, and will make you laugh out loud! I enjoyed this book so much, i gave it to my friend to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Sassy, Hot Keeper

    This book is a bit different as it is written in the first person, it is cleverly weaved and the story is written from Jamie Lee Carter's view point, but with all the heat and sizzle you have come to expect in LuAnn's stories............Jamie Lee is a hairdresser and owns Cut & Curl with her best friend Macy McCoy. When Parker Carrington, a Hollywood producer, arrives in town scouting for locations for his upcoming movie, he puts the small town of Hootertown, Kentucky at the head of the list of prospects. Parker requests Jamie Lee, who has caught his eye and interest as well, to show him around the town and surrounding area. As in all small towns this sets off the healthy and thriving gossip mill as they are seen around town. With the arrival of Parker to town, Jamie Lee and Macy make a pact to make this summer one to remember, as they both are in unrequited love positions. Jamie Lee has always had a crush on Griff Sheldon, who is her brother Luke's best friend, but he only sees her as a friend and little sister of his friend. So she decides that it time to move on with her life............Griff doesn't like Parker being around Jamie Lee, as he can see the interest that Parker has in Jamie Lee and it does strange things to him. Could it be jealousy that feeling in the pit of his stomach or is going to be too late when he finally acknowledges what he has been ignoring all these years This is a fun, refreshing read that has lots of heat, sparks, sass and good old fashion charm. The secondary characters only add to this well rounded sizzling romance which was a delight to read and keeps you wondering who in the end will win.. I recommend you pick up this book and find out for yourself............as for Macy and her love interest well that is another story.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Great Romance and Southern Charm

    Welcome to Hootertown, Kentucky a small town where everybody knows everybody and few things are kept secret. It seems a Hollywood producer has just hit the city limits and all eyes and ears are on the lookout for the latest gossip concerning the situation. Jamie Lee Carter is the owner of the local Cut & Curl and with her best friend Macy McCoy makes sure everyone in this town is stylin¿ as far as the latest hair do¿s go. Of course the Cut & Curl is one of the best places to pick up the latest gossip too so the girls are right in the thick of things on that front. Parker Carrington, said Hollywood producer has caught Jamie Lee¿s eye in a big way and she aims to find out the scoop on why he is in Hootertown. Parker Carrington said Hollywood producer is in town scouting locations for his next project. Parker thinks Hootertown will be a great fit for the vision he has for his next project. A certain local has caught his eye as well and Parker arranges to have Jamie Lee show him around so he can get the feel of the town. With any luck he hopes to get to know Jamie Lee much better before his return to Hollywood. Jamie Lee and Parker soon have the rumor mill running wild and all the phone lines in Hootertown burning up with gossip of their sightings. A particular local has taken great notice of the fact that Jamie Lee and Parker are spending time together. Could it be that she has two men interested? Dark Roots And Cowboy Boots is fun and flirty romance with lots of southern charm thrown in. LuAnn McLane has penned a story that is guaranteed to bring her lots of loyal readers. The characters in this book are a pure delight to read about. The friendship between Jamie Lee and Macy is an added bonus. The romance is hot and sizzling like the hottest July day in the south. Grab yourself a cool drink. Find a comfortable reading place and be prepared to be transported to the south for a story you won¿t soon forget. Secondary characters are charming as well and provide several reasons for Ms. McLane to make a return visit to Hootertown in the future. I hope this is what she has planned. Ms. McLane has penned her finest novel to date with Dark Roots And Cowboy Boots. Grab a copy today and experience sizzling romance and southern charm at it¿s finest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Sassy Hot Read

    This book is a bit different as it is written in the first person, it is cleverly weaved and the story is written from Jamie Lee Carter's view point, but with all the heat and sizzle you have come to expect in LuAnn's stories..........Jamie Lee is a hairdresser and owns Cut & Curl with her best friend Macy McCoy. When Parker Carrington, a Hollywood producer, arrives in town scouting for locations for his upcoming movie, he puts the small town of Hootertown, Kentucky at the head of the list of prospects. Parker requests Jamie Lee, who has caught his eye and interest as well, to show him around the town and surrounding area. As in all small towns this sets off the healthy and thriving gossip mill as they are seen around town. With the arrival of Parker to town, Jamie Lee and Macy make a pact to make this summer one to remember, as they both are in unrequited love positions. Jamie Lee has always had a crush on Griff Sheldon, who is her brother Luke's best friend, but he only sees her as a friend and little sister of his friend. So she decides that it time to move on with her life...........Griff doesn't like Parker being around Jamie Lee, as he can see the interest that Parker has in Jamie Lee and it does strange things to him. Could it be jealousy that feeling in the pit of his stomach or is going to be too late when he finally acknowledges what he has been ignoring all these years This is a fun, refreshing read that has lots of heat, sparks, sass and good old fashion charm. The secondary characters only add to this well rounded sizzling romance which was a delight to read and keeps you wondering who in the end will win.. I recommend you pick up this book and find out for yourself............as for Macy and her love interest well that is another story.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    What a fun summer read

    It has been a long time since I have found a character in a book that was so much like me. I LOVED THIS BOOK ! !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    A delight from beginning to end.

    Dark Roots and Cowboy Boots is a knock your socks off, laugh out loud good time. ------------------ Hair stylist Jamie Lee Carter is just happy with her life in small town Hootertown, Ky. But something is missing. Next thing she knows big time Hollywood producer Parker Carrington is driving into town in his shiny Jag. Is Parker the bit of excitement she needs or has it been under her now all along with hometown boy Griff Sheldon? Jamie Lee is so sure at first and she makes a pack with her best friend Macy to go for what they want this summer. ____________________________ Jamie Lee and Griff¿s miscommunication sets off some of the funniest and sexiest scenes in print. Their banter is at times so funny and at others so moving. ____________________ LuAnn McLane¿s Dark Roots and Cowboy Boots will make you root for that small town girl to get her happy ever after. Looking forward to Macy¿s story, which I know will be as much fun and sexy as this book was to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    A fine regional romance

    In Hootertown, Kentucky, Jamie Lee owns Cut & Curl her best friend Macy McCoy works there so when the place is empty they share their dreams. Both are stunned when Hollywood producer Parker Carrington arrives to check the town out as a potential locale for a horror film. Parker and Jamie enjoy lunch until Griff Sheldon arrives. He is angry to see Jamie with another man, but he treats her like his kid sister. Jamie has never forgotten how she threw herself at him when she was seventeen, but he rejected her. Later Jamie and Parker cruise around the town while enjoying each other¿s company.----------------------- After a game of softball, Parker and Jamie arrive at her house and begin to make love, but she has no protection so they reluctantly stop. He leaves, but a drunken Griff arrives at Jamie¿s house. They start to make love until he falls asleep. She is irate that he reminded her how much she loves him, but he remains unattainable. After another hot and bothered incident Jamie vows that Griff¿s boots will be under her bed tonight. Griff offers to make love with her so she can get him out of her system. She tells him she loves him, but no more will she throw herself at him.------------ The use of down home humor especially in potentially erotic situations adds fun to a fine regional romance starring an amiable lead couple and a strong support cast though Griff¿s behavior becomes boorish after a while. Readers who enjoy an amusing semi-erotic tale with plenty of slapstick in your pants humor will enjoy Jamie¿s plight. Hopefully LuAnn McLane will follow up with Macy¿s so far unrequited efforts to gain the love of Jamie¿s brother Luke.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Really charming read!

    Jamie Lee Carter is a Southern Belle from the dark roots on her hair to her bare feet. She has been secretly in love with her brother best friend all her life but the only way that Griff Sheldon sees her is as her brother little sister, or so she thinks. That is why when she makes a pact with her best friend to ¿spice up her love life¿ and Hollywood producer Parker Carrington shows in Hootertown she sees the perfect chance to fulfill her pact. That¿s when things start getting interesting, with a little competition and jealousy. This is a small town romance and in this little town everything is possible. LuAnn McLane has mastered a romantic comedy full of charm and sass! The characters are real, refreshing and so charming! This is another favorite, she did a great job in combining the heat, sparks and sexiness of a romance with the charm and sass of a comedy. I couldn¿t put this book down, another page turner you can¿t miss! There is an excerpt for her next book on this series and I can hardly wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1