Customer Reviews for

Dark Secrets 1: Legacy of Lies/Don't Tell (Dark Secrets Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Series by Elizabeth Chandler

I loved this duo set, and could easily read it over and over again. It keeps your attention and has you on edge the whole time. I could barely stop reading at night even with school in the morning.

posted by _Vega_ on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Just okay

After reading Kissed by an Angel, I was really deeply moved. So when I came across a cover that looked just like Kissed by an Angel I bought it (and of course it was EC's new book!). Since these were two different books, I'll review them separately.

Legacy of Lies: 3...
After reading Kissed by an Angel, I was really deeply moved. So when I came across a cover that looked just like Kissed by an Angel I bought it (and of course it was EC's new book!). Since these were two different books, I'll review them separately.

Legacy of Lies: 3 out of 5 stars. Very sweet, suspenseful story! I really like the was EC builds her mysteries, as I found similarities between this one and KBA (kissed by an angel). Since the story was so short, I felt there was undevelopement of the characters at times. I didn't really get my chance to fall in love with Matt or Megan. I did enjoy the Grandmother character though! EC tends to, as she did also in KBA, not describe her characters well enough in my opinion. The whole time I'm thinking, 'well, what does this Megan look like? Is she pretty? I understand she has black hair, fair skin, but that's where it ends. I need to get a picture in my head and grasp it!". So I would appreciate it more, EC, if you can give me somethin' here! The other thing, there were many grammatical mistakes! Missing quotation marks, periods, ect. Another thing, (spoiler) if Avril is Megan, Matt is Thomas and Grandma is Helen, wasn't Thomas in love with Helen? Not Avril? So, Matt was in love with his Grandma, but then falls back for Avril? That's one thing they didn't make very cle.At the party, when I'm still thinking Matt going to be a jerk, I couldn't help but feel jealous when Alex and Sophie get together, but that was before Matt and Megan had something! So al in all, I wasn't disappointed with that. Overall, the story just needed length and it could've had amazing potential (like KBA). I loved the old time feel of the story and loved how they came back together and a romance! Very happy with the ending though, too sweet! :`-D
Don't Tell: 2 out of 5 stars. I felt in this book, I was comparing Legacy of Lies with it too much! They were just too much alike. EC, get some creativity with your mysteries. It was like she changed the characters, and a few tweaks here and there, and she creates Don't Tell! Yeah, not liking it, :-( . I could easily predict the criminals here, just because I had read Legacy of Lies and KBA. I didn't feel anything for the romance, and since Nick was such a player, how could I tell he wasn't going to play with Lauren? It seemed like he moved around from Holy to Lauren with the skip of a beat. So when (spoiler) Lauren and Nick end up together, I was still feeling a little sad. Why did Lauren fall in love with someone like that? She knew how easily he moved. And how come, right when Holly gets locked up, that he moves to Lauren? I would be pissed off. I didn't enjoy the characters as much as in her previous stories. Aunt Jule was boring, Nick was boring, Holly, the doctor, Lauren...the only one's I liked was the dog, Rocky ( :-) ) , and Nora, even if she did belong in the crazy house. As for the ending, predictable that the good ol' boy would come save the day. I would have appreciated it more if Lauren would show some girl power. She said she was good at sports, but she didn't really show it when it came to saving her life. The ending was also undecided. I think the criminal is locked up, but you don't know about for how long. The criminal also says, "You'll never have the proof to how I did it", to Lauren, so we never know if they ever did get locked up. And the whole, sci-fi and fantasy/dark magic, I could see through and it wasn't very good. I did not

posted by kajJK on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just okay

    After reading Kissed by an Angel, I was really deeply moved. So when I came across a cover that looked just like Kissed by an Angel I bought it (and of course it was EC's new book!). Since these were two different books, I'll review them separately.

    Legacy of Lies: 3 out of 5 stars. Very sweet, suspenseful story! I really like the was EC builds her mysteries, as I found similarities between this one and KBA (kissed by an angel). Since the story was so short, I felt there was undevelopement of the characters at times. I didn't really get my chance to fall in love with Matt or Megan. I did enjoy the Grandmother character though! EC tends to, as she did also in KBA, not describe her characters well enough in my opinion. The whole time I'm thinking, 'well, what does this Megan look like? Is she pretty? I understand she has black hair, fair skin, but that's where it ends. I need to get a picture in my head and grasp it!". So I would appreciate it more, EC, if you can give me somethin' here! The other thing, there were many grammatical mistakes! Missing quotation marks, periods, ect. Another thing, (spoiler) if Avril is Megan, Matt is Thomas and Grandma is Helen, wasn't Thomas in love with Helen? Not Avril? So, Matt was in love with his Grandma, but then falls back for Avril? That's one thing they didn't make very cle.At the party, when I'm still thinking Matt going to be a jerk, I couldn't help but feel jealous when Alex and Sophie get together, but that was before Matt and Megan had something! So al in all, I wasn't disappointed with that. Overall, the story just needed length and it could've had amazing potential (like KBA). I loved the old time feel of the story and loved how they came back together and a romance! Very happy with the ending though, too sweet! :`-D
    Don't Tell: 2 out of 5 stars. I felt in this book, I was comparing Legacy of Lies with it too much! They were just too much alike. EC, get some creativity with your mysteries. It was like she changed the characters, and a few tweaks here and there, and she creates Don't Tell! Yeah, not liking it, :-( . I could easily predict the criminals here, just because I had read Legacy of Lies and KBA. I didn't feel anything for the romance, and since Nick was such a player, how could I tell he wasn't going to play with Lauren? It seemed like he moved around from Holy to Lauren with the skip of a beat. So when (spoiler) Lauren and Nick end up together, I was still feeling a little sad. Why did Lauren fall in love with someone like that? She knew how easily he moved. And how come, right when Holly gets locked up, that he moves to Lauren? I would be pissed off. I didn't enjoy the characters as much as in her previous stories. Aunt Jule was boring, Nick was boring, Holly, the doctor, Lauren...the only one's I liked was the dog, Rocky ( :-) ) , and Nora, even if she did belong in the crazy house. As for the ending, predictable that the good ol' boy would come save the day. I would have appreciated it more if Lauren would show some girl power. She said she was good at sports, but she didn't really show it when it came to saving her life. The ending was also undecided. I think the criminal is locked up, but you don't know about for how long. The criminal also says, "You'll never have the proof to how I did it", to Lauren, so we never know if they ever did get locked up. And the whole, sci-fi and fantasy/dark magic, I could see through and it wasn't very good. I did not

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Series by Elizabeth Chandler

    I loved this duo set, and could easily read it over and over again. It keeps your attention and has you on edge the whole time. I could barely stop reading at night even with school in the morning.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspense, Love, and Ghosts <3

    What more could you want?! This book surprised me when i first read it. I didn't really pay attention too much of what the book was about. I mainly was just in desperate need for a new read. This book is two books in one, but they are related. The first book really caught my attention and I couldn't put the book down. I'm someone who is a bit of a scaredy cat when it comes to haunting's and stuff like that, so this was a book that I couldn't read to much at night time. I later found out the same thing with Dark Secrets 2 as well. But the story is great, it keeps you on your toes and keeps you guessing. Definitely a book that has that surprise ending at the end, which i love. Same for Dark Secrets 2. I have read Dark Secrets 1 and 2 about two times now and it was still great. Definitely recommend :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    AWESOME!!

    Read this book a while ago and got hooked with the series. All of the stories in the series take place in the same town which is cool, and it's a perfect mix of paranormal romance. A must read!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    Dark Secrets 1

    I love talking about my books to people. I call my friend as soon as I finished Legacy of Lies, I started crying because it was so good. I felt as if I was the main character. I felt like all those things were happening to me. I felt a connection into the book. I wasn't able to put down the book. I had the same thing happen to me when I was reading Don't Tell aswell.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Secrets

    I bought this books having read Chandlers Kissed By and Angel Series and I ended up loving it! It was really really great! I suggest this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    Amazing!!! I loved it! Perfect mix of spooky and romantic!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Awesome

    Wow this book took my breath away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    i love these books

    i love these books.
    theyre really entertaining!!!!
    mysterious

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Anonnamus

    I heard this book was good but not sure havent read the whole book yet maybe it will get beter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    loved it

    This is the first time I have read her book, I enjoyed it , once i got into it , i did not want to put it down, passed my night at work quickly, lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Different but very interesting. A perfect mix of paranormal and

    Different but very interesting. A perfect mix of paranormal and romance. At first I didnt think that I would get that much out of the books seeing as they are just one book long and then they end but I was wrong. Keep in mind I love book series that have many books that keep adding to the story. I guess I just dont want them to end lol. However, I loved this book and the two storie it had in it. I will be buying Dark Secrets 2 as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Both of these books were extremely quick reads. They were fast-p

    Both of these books were extremely quick reads. They were fast-paced, mysterious, and actually quite creepy!

    Legacy of Lies, the first book in this bind-up, was originally published in 2000, and Don't Tell, the second book, was published in 2001. Keeping that in mind, the writing was different than what I'm used to. However, I will be reviewing it as normal.

    Both of the plots were interesting. They both had secrets and betrayal and subtle paranormal aspects, and that was cool. The author did an excellent job of making you guess who is really responsible for all the bad things happening. While I'm happy the romance didn't overshadow the main story, I wish there was a little more depth to the relationships. It's not exactly insta-love, but in both the books the main character falls for the boy and we really don't know why. I kind of feel like both of the stories could use more depth in general. I couldn't really connect to the characters and I didn't feel like I really got to know any of them. The writing wasn't bad but it was certainly lackluster.

    But really, the intrigue of the plot was what kept me interested. After I finished I could genuinely say I enjoyed the story, though I didn't emerge from the book with the characters in my heart and constantly darting through my mind. Both of these stories were quick, creepy, and pretty fun reads. I liked Don't Tell a little bit more than Legacy of Lies because it's creepier and the characters are certainly more interesting. I'd recommend this bound edition if you're looking for something interesting yet doesn't require a deep emotional investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    :) :)

    I loved this book. It kept you reading, and had uexpected endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    This book is the BEST i have ever read! I can even explain how m

    This book is the BEST i have ever read! I can even explain how much i love this book! I didnt want to read the second part cause it didnt seem intresting but i had nothing else to read and by the 2nd chapter i was hooked and didnt set it down. 100% recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Keeps you reading, loved it!

    Keeps you reading, loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    LOVED IT!

    I Love this book so much. I acctualy only read the first story. But I think ill read the other one too. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    HAVE TO READ!!!!!!!

    i adore this book. my sister forced me to read it and im so happy she did. The huge mystery is blended perfectly with an amazing romance! I cant wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting, I liked it.

    If you're looking for a romance book, don't get this book. This isn't Kissed By an Angel. I thought this would be a romance, but this was way better. It's two different stories that takes place in the same setting, but are entirely different people and stories.
    Dark Secrets is an excellent mystery with unexpected endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    I think im in love!!!!!!

    I'm in love with these book with the tenion with in each family story and skin crawling love storys with new twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9