Customer Reviews for

The Dark Secrets of Rebecca Marie

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hard to read at times but amazing story!

I couldn't put this book down! What this woman endured and survived is amazing! In an era with no help from the justice systems back then it makes us realise that today there is always help to escape abuse from the hands of parents and spouses.This book is inexpensive a...
I couldn't put this book down! What this woman endured and survived is amazing! In an era with no help from the justice systems back then it makes us realise that today there is always help to escape abuse from the hands of parents and spouses.This book is inexpensive and spell binding. You wont be disappointed!

posted by sandrande on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very sad story

This was an awful story of abuse. I cannot believe that there are people out there that treat their children like this. I know this was based on her story from many years ago and many things have changed, its just disgusting to think that it has happened and still conti...
This was an awful story of abuse. I cannot believe that there are people out there that treat their children like this. I know this was based on her story from many years ago and many things have changed, its just disgusting to think that it has happened and still continues to happen to our children.

posted by Manda0412 on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Hard to read at times but amazing story!

    I couldn't put this book down! What this woman endured and survived is amazing! In an era with no help from the justice systems back then it makes us realise that today there is always help to escape abuse from the hands of parents and spouses.This book is inexpensive and spell binding. You wont be disappointed!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    gr

    Great read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's important to bear witness

    A disturbing picture of unfathomable abuse and one child's journey thru hell into adulthood. Wonderfully written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    Amazing

    What a sad but uplifting story. Rebecca went through hell and back and surived all that abuse. What an amazing woman. Read this you will not regret it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    hard breaking but great

    What courage it must have taken to put such horrible nightmares out there for all to read. Makes me very grateful for having a wonderful childhood. Her life may have been hell but she conquers her demons at the end and is triumphant. You'll root for her the whole book and wish unspeakable acts on her horrible mother. Kudos to you Rebecca Marie

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Incredible, shocking page turner

    From page one I could not put this book down. Locked into Rebecca's story I felt mesmerized yet I cried for her and wanted to hold her in my arms. I felt so in awe of how Rebecca's fantacies acutally kept her sane. This newly revised edition is a must read, you won't regret it. A tale of how strong the human spirit is to survive. A book that will help people understand the terrors of abuse and inspire abused women to see that it is never too late to escape.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Inspiring

    This woman endured so much. I am truley inspired after reading this, she over came so mich it is unbelievable. Some people have commented on the grammar, and although it is not perfect, who cares. She didnt write this in hopes of getting a grammar lesson, she wrote it to tell her story and encourage other victims of abuse to get help! I definitely recommend this, this is the first book I have written a review about, and I read a decent amount, but I had to recommend this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Amazing

    This women is an amazing strong women who had a horific life and overcame all the odds......thank you for sharing your story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    Inspirational and Saddening

    Very good read Mendez is a strong woman and overcame the cycle of abuse and mistreatment this book touched my heart.I just wanted to jump into her shoes and slap her mother and husband for being such a cruel and nasty human being. Mendez has overcame the statistics and became productive citizen in society. Thank you for sharing your story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A journey into the darkness of abuse.

    This story will not only touch your heart but your soul. Rebecca is a child like no other. At times I wanted to hold her and other times set her free. Her abuse started early and was brutal but her spirit to survive never failed. She fell to a bit of madness that gave her the strength to overcome the odds. Feeling abandoned by god and alone in her fight to live she never loses her sense of love and compassion. Mesmerized by Rebecca I could not stop turning pages as I held my breath hoping for a happy ending. A must read, you'll never forget Rebecca Marie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Definatly a five star book

    Defenitly a five star books this woman has so much courage to come out and tell her story. I hope it helps people speak out against there abusers and help people see be aware of other children being abused and speak up for the ones who cant speak up for themselves

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Give this story a try.

    An absolutely horrific, devestating story of the worst possible imagined abuse. I could not tear my eyes away from Rebeccas words written on the page. She captured my heart and had me rooting for her from the very first page. I highly, highly recommend this book to anyone. Beforewarned though, it is very graphic and often disturbing. But I feel this is a very important read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Yeah, it has some grammar fail, but

    This works for the story, especially when she is relating her childhood. A very stark and real picture of a woman struggling through abuse. I thank the author for sharing her story in such an immediate way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Unbeleivable horror

    This was hard to put down, I kept thinking surely she will leave this situation. You cant begin to understand the physical and emotional pain she went through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Very sad story, a hard one to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Gotta read it

    A MUST READ FOR CHILD ABUSE SURVIVORS!!!!!!! I am so glad she managed to separate herself from her abusers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Great read

    I couldn't put this book down.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great book!

    I couldnt put this book down, amazing story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    wow

    This book was amazing. It will really make you look at how messed up this world really is and how good some of us really have it. I really felt for this girl as i read her story. Best wishes for her and her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A dark journey into abuse.

    This story will not only touch your heart but your soul. Rebecca is a child like no other. At times I wanted to hold her and other times set her free. Her abuse started early and was brutal but her spirit to survive never failed. She fell to a bit of madness that gave her the strength to overcome the odds. Feeling abandoned by god and alone in her fight to live she never loses her sense of love and compassion. Mesmerized by Rebecca I could not stop turning pages as I held my breath hoping for a happy ending. A must read, you'll never forget Rebecca Marie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2