Customer Reviews for

Dark Seduction

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A fabulous romantic fantasy thriller

Claire Camden owns a bookstore, which she lives above. Her life has been relatively quiet until the sudden appearance of someone saying she is Sibylla, who realizes the bookstore owner has not gone back yet, and demands the page before knocking Claire out. Soon afterw...
Claire Camden owns a bookstore, which she lives above. Her life has been relatively quiet until the sudden appearance of someone saying she is Sibylla, who realizes the bookstore owner has not gone back yet, and demands the page before knocking Claire out. Soon afterward Malcolm of Dunroch, a Highland warrior claiming to be a member of the Masters of Time arrives and insists he will not harm her, but that he believes a page of power is in her bookstore that contains twelve thousand books. P To keep her safe, Malcolm takes Claire back six centuries to his time. There she learns that the Masters of Time was formed amongst the greatest knights to battle demons that want to control the earth. As she gets to know Malcolm, Claire falls in love. However, she needs to be in the twenty-first century where a powerful page can probably be found in her bookstore while he needs to remain in the fifteenth century fighting the enemy as much as his heart that he vowed never to give away when he pledged his allegiance. P Taking the needed time to establish the Joyce paranormal universe where demons live and time traveling occurs, the first book of The Masters of Time DARK SEDUCTION is a fabulous romantic fantasy thriller. The story line is fast-paced, but really accelerates about a third of the way into the plot as Brenda Joyce shifts gears from introducing her players and real to back and forth action starring two valiant time-crossed lovers. Sub-genre readers will rejoice with this fine entry and look forward to more such sagas from out of this time and world lovers. P Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

this story is too jumbled

The story line is a disjointed composition.What is the point of the various bits of information if they seemed to lead nowhere or were just dropped into the story? It was difficult to stay interested. I had to force myself to finish the book hoping the ending would be g...
The story line is a disjointed composition.What is the point of the various bits of information if they seemed to lead nowhere or were just dropped into the story? It was difficult to stay interested. I had to force myself to finish the book hoping the ending would be good. It was just boringly predictable. In addition,The characters are poorly developed and barely likable. Don't waste your time or money. If you want some fantasy that's a fun read, Try a Karen Moning or Lynn Kurland instead.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    this story is too jumbled

    The story line is a disjointed composition.What is the point of the various bits of information if they seemed to lead nowhere or were just dropped into the story? It was difficult to stay interested. I had to force myself to finish the book hoping the ending would be good. It was just boringly predictable. In addition,The characters are poorly developed and barely likable. Don't waste your time or money. If you want some fantasy that's a fun read, Try a Karen Moning or Lynn Kurland instead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fabulous romantic fantasy thriller

    Claire Camden owns a bookstore, which she lives above. Her life has been relatively quiet until the sudden appearance of someone saying she is Sibylla, who realizes the bookstore owner has not gone back yet, and demands the page before knocking Claire out. Soon afterward Malcolm of Dunroch, a Highland warrior claiming to be a member of the Masters of Time arrives and insists he will not harm her, but that he believes a page of power is in her bookstore that contains twelve thousand books. P To keep her safe, Malcolm takes Claire back six centuries to his time. There she learns that the Masters of Time was formed amongst the greatest knights to battle demons that want to control the earth. As she gets to know Malcolm, Claire falls in love. However, she needs to be in the twenty-first century where a powerful page can probably be found in her bookstore while he needs to remain in the fifteenth century fighting the enemy as much as his heart that he vowed never to give away when he pledged his allegiance. P Taking the needed time to establish the Joyce paranormal universe where demons live and time traveling occurs, the first book of The Masters of Time DARK SEDUCTION is a fabulous romantic fantasy thriller. The story line is fast-paced, but really accelerates about a third of the way into the plot as Brenda Joyce shifts gears from introducing her players and real to back and forth action starring two valiant time-crossed lovers. Sub-genre readers will rejoice with this fine entry and look forward to more such sagas from out of this time and world lovers. P Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Very good read.

    I liked the heroes better than the heroines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    STUBORN!!!

    For a person who is often called stubborn, I couldn't get over how ridiculously stuborn the main female character acted throughout this entire book. Seriously!!! Not to mention how stupid she could be when it came to Malcolm! However, with that said I thought this story had a great basis for a good series. While I didn't think this one was great, I'm hoping the next one will be better (especially since I've already bought it). If you like time travel, sex, and highlanders then this would be a good book for you (but I might suggest reading one with a higher rating).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A book for when you have nothing but time to waste.

    I wish I had read more then the first three reviews on this novel. Its not a bad book, but it doesnt move me. The character's arent appealing to me. And Claire was a bit annoying. Not to mention the constant mention of how sexy the main characters find the other through out the book. It gets tiring after a while. This is one of the very few books I had to push my self to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    NOT GOOD!!!

    I'am sorry I tried to like this book normally like Brenda Joyce's books could not even finish this.. Bring back Francesca and Calder, Rick... That is a great story you never get tired of...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    It was okay

    I didn't much like Claire. Ok read to pass time. I highly recommend Dark Rivals though. Great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I feel Claire's character really caught my attention because she symbolized in a way many independent women today !!!!!! I'm just in LOVE with Malcolm, he is sexy and extermely male!!! I loved the is book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    It was okay...not fantastic...not horrible.

    I agree with one of the other reviews- Aidan's story should have been next. Although I guess I can understand wanting to have Ruari's story next since he's a bit older than Aidan! I'll be reading the next one just because I hope that it will better. The actual story was okay. The entire series has a pretty intriguing premise. Very different from most stories out there- or at least any that I've read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    Hard to Follow

    This book was very hard to follow. The story was disconnected and it was difficult to stay interested. Not good at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Stopped reading after 100 pages, it just didnt flow

    Hard to get through, which is unusual for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Creepy

    Creepy overtones in the whole book. Hard to understand and hard to jump in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Great Series!

    Don't just buy the first book buy the one that has the first 3 books then keep reading! If you like time travel, meets magic and "gifts" plus romance with old world men mentalities then you'll love this series. I love the old scotland settings meets new world and of course the men described definitely keeps you intrigued! Wish we had some of these men in our time! I LOVED this series and wish for more. Wished they were a little longer but they are a great read and enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not very good...

    I am a very firm believer that if a book does not grab you within the first 100 pages...that you should just stop the torture and move on. This book is one of those books...I almost stopped reading it when the two main characters in the story had sex around page 40!! Way to develop the relationship??!! I mean come on...she didn't even know him, no matter what sex magic he can put off it was completely unbelieveable. My first and last book from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Seduction is forgettable

    Dark Seduction was a a novel I struggled to get through at times and when I did actually finish it, I easily forgot about it. The idea of medieval time traveling Scottish warriors was interesting enough but the idea was executed poorly. The entire novel revolves around this idea of "pleasure crimes" which was a concept that just did not hold my attention. The hero fears that he may kill the heroine if he sleeps with her, even though he gives in repeatedly to that need. The heroine knows that the hero could kill her by sleeping with her but she brushes off his previous "sex crime" as an accident or the woman possibly having a "bad heart" or something.

    The heroine, Claire, came across as annoying. She says stupid things, is devoted to her bookstore and to her independence. She tries to be strong and defend herself but she gives into Malcolm, our hero, within pages of the book. She puts up no fight, although she does alot of talking herself into setting boundaries. *yawn* Speaking of talking to herself, the characters seems to have a lot of internal dialogue and not enough interacting with each other. I never feel connected to them, nor do I ever truly care what happens to them. When you really look at it, the characters learn very little about each other before declaring their love. I know this is a romance novel and it is typical for characters to fall in love with each other quickly, but this was just not handled right. There was nothing about the other character that I found appealing enough for any love to sprout at all. And by speeding to get to the love scenes, Joyce sacrifices storyline and tension between characters. I will at least read the next to books at some point, but that's because I bought them in a bundle and hate to waste money. To tell you the truth, I'd say skip this one, you'd probably forget it quick enough anyway, and try reading some Karen Marie Moning if you would like some real medieval Scottish time travel romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST READ

    Brendas books are not the kind you borrow from the library. I started reading one from a friend and gave it back, went out to buy my own. I now own most of Brenda's books. They just don't come out fast enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    Masters of time series

    Dark Seduction is a very intense book. I now have read the ones before this book. It got me into the series. I love all the characters. the plot is great. I hope to see the author continues to write more books for this series. I want to know what happens to the rest of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the title said it all

    this book was everything the short title said it would be.
    it had evil and seduction and everything in between. i would totally recommend this book.
    i have a thing for irish/scotishmen that are fighting some form of evil majic and trying to either avoid or seduce or save some slip of a girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    I like that the women in the Master of Time Series are as strong-willed as the men are physically strong. Even though Claire was overwhelmed and seduced by Malcolm's masculinity, she was not overpowered by him. This is the second on the Master's of Time books that I have read and I am as pleased with this one as I was with the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Different

    Its slow at first, then when it does pick up, it really picks up.

    A MUST READ!

    Different writing style than I am use to reading, but very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4