Customer Reviews for

The Dark Side of Nowhere

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    The Side of Nowhere

    This is great science fiction it's fun to read, Jason is like a hero but before that he though he was just going to be normal all his life but he is going to find out that he is wrong. Jason lives in the small town of Billington. Billington is pretty much boring nothing exciting ever happens, only until a close schoolmate dies, his death is very weird and the town just use to be boring and everything but Jason is about to really discover that nobody is who you think they are including you as said in the book now i don't think Jason is going to be scare that he is going to be normal all his life. Furthermore, in the story Jason is called in private by a school monitor who gives him a robotic glove. Now let me tell you a little about this glove this glove has a shaft at the end of each finger and out of each these shafts a BB comes out the school monitor tells Jason not to tell anyone anything about this glove and to meet him at a certain time and a certain place. The place he wants to meet is Old Town Old town is a part of Billington that was deserted years ago in it everything was destroyed almost nothing was standing, The people who lived there tried to rebuild their lives but many fail and die or get really sick. After a little time he and his friend search through town records only to find missing information. So they just keep trying to find some information about the town but each time it was just like a dead end. Now lets talk a little about the author i think the author really keeps in the story and like just makes you keep on reading its really a great person, very imaginative and I'm really impressed. So overall I think its a great book and Neal Shusterman really knows how to write a book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Scarstar

    Warriors den

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Is there more?

    I really enjoyed this book. The thing about science fiction is that it can be as unbelievable as can be, and that's what i like about this book. But i do feel that the ending could've been better. On that note, i wonder if Neal will write a sequal. But still, the book was fast-paced and not filled with all that dull diolugue that sometimes plagues sci-fi books and novels. Neal is a very good writter. I have also enjoyed his Unwind series, and greatly look forward to reading more from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    poor

    I love all of shustermans other books but this one was no good . It was to unbelievable and had a poor ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    EXCELLENT

    this book is far fetched but very entertaining. It has drama, death, lies, and many more emotions. you will enjoy reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    dark side of nowere

    It's a good book. It has some boring parts. I think you will like it if you like sci fi stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    I love this i couldnt take my eyes out of it

    jason milller was a boy stuck in a dull world searching for himself. But just as he gets the love of his life he finds out everything in his life is twisted all around. he's stuck in the middle of being an alien and a human. THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ IN MY 12 YEARS OF LIFE!!!! THIS BOOK GETS 5 STARS FOR ME!! IT WAS SO GOOD I READ IT IN ALL MY CLASSES IN SCHOOL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Heart Stopping

    A tense thriller. Neal Shusterman combines murder and heart stopping moments into a great book. This story takes place by Las Vegas in a small town. Jason Miller just moved to this town and meets a girl named Paula. They become the best of friends. The two teenagers come up with a lot of complex issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    Dissapointed

    I found this book to be missing the point of a common moral to enhance the reader in any such way. The reader had to work hard to keep reading because the book, being as far-fetched as it was, could not intrique my 8th grade class in any way. Some classes had even stopped reading this book because of the bordom that had arroused. Books should bring the reader somewhere, The Dark Side of Knowhere brought me knowhere but the Dark.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    I love your book

    you have made the best book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    THIS BOOK ROCKS!!!!!!!!

    I got this book at the bookmobile and finesh it in one day.I love the plot the charecters the action and the weapen gloves! I recommed this book to all readers!!!!! if you want to know how it ends go buy it its worth the $5 bucks!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2002

    THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!!!

    THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!!! I highly recomend it for the none reader types. if you must read a book, read this one!!!! It took me one day to finish. I was thrilled at all the suspencion, the characters just jumped out & became so real! I felt like i was there in the story. This was one of the most amazing books i have ever read. I would give it over 100 stars if i could!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    The most superb book I have read in my 13 yrs of life

    This book is absolutely excellent. This book is jammed with action, a mix of young adolescent love, and most importantly cyborgs. Anyone who doesn't like reading, this is the book for you. Neal Shusterman is an excellent author. I have met him myself, and I can't wait till he makes another book. Read this book though, it's "bloody awesome man". Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    SEQUEL

    THIS BOOK IS EXCELLENT! THERE SHOULD BE A SEQUEL TO THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    This Book Rocks

    This book is filled with action by the third chapter. JASON ROCKS THE HOUSE!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2001

    COOL!

    I read this book in less than 1 day! It's really good, I usually hate books I get from the library, but this book has inspired me to check it out more often!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    'My #1 Favorite book!'

    This is so full of suspence I don't know how they can pack it all in there!!!! Please I beg you read it! You will not be able to put it down I read this 350 page book in one day!!(That's how I read most books!) You have to read it! I think boys will be most interested but I'm a girl and I loved it! A complex,amazing and mind-boggling plot! It's so complex and complicated I can't write it here but you most read it!!!I would of rated this 100 star if they had 100 star choice!!!ANy people who don't like reading read this! Anyone should read it but this will get you into reading!- The Ultimate Reading Machine (So far my reacord is a 400 page book in one day or a 780 page book in three)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2001

    GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

    Characters sparkle with reality, while things such as Cyborg weaponry, Aliens, mystery, and fast paced, punched slamming action keep it going like an out of controll rollar coaster. You feel everything that the characters feel, and you get a certain feeling when you pick this book up. It's like you are entering a dark, strange, and terrifying world that you realize in the end, resembles our own. I would recommend this book to young adults who like sci-fi and horror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2001

    If you don't like reading books, this one will change your mind!

    I remember when I was in 6th grade, I had to go to the library and get a book to read for a report. I was bummed,(I hated reading books) but i was looking on our library book search and saw a title that looked interesting, it read, 'The Dark Side of Nowhere'. I was like 'sounds devious, let's read it.' So I went to get the book, popped it out of the shelf, and looked at the cover, 'Cool'. I finished the book THREE days later. It was and still is the best book I have ever read. For every book report assignment I have had to do, each year I would re-read for the assignment. It's so cool, and interesting, annnnnnd, I knew it would be exhilerating from the very first line of the book. Every detail about the book is exciting and flabbergasting. Once Jason finds out what Ethan really died of and that he and his family and many other families of Billington weren't human; just like Ethan. And that instead of for health purposes, the monthly shots Jason takes are to keep him in a human form. Jason was against their(the adults) plan to take over the world, he thought of it as wrong. But after a while Jason thought to himself that he wasn't just parts of other people, but was actually himself, a human.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    GREAT BOOK THAT MAKES YOU THINK!

    This book was pretty good, there were spots that just kept you on the edge of your seat and reading. And there were other parts where I just couldn't understand what was going on. This book was very creative, I don't know how anyone could think up a story like this. One thing I would try to make better with this book is it just sometimes lost you with vocabulary or just stuff you're like wait a minute...maybe there was a book ahead of it. But there wasn't the author just needed to be more clear. But I do recommend this book, except for a high age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2