Customer Reviews for

Dark Slayer (Dark Series #20)

Average Rating 4.5
( 433 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(319)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

This is a super entry, which long time fans will enjoy

The vampire hunter Ivory, and her seven Carpathian wolf pack and her normal wolf pack head home after killing two vampires only to find a dying man. To her horror she knows this Carpathian is her lifemate. He tells her to leave him die as the evil Xavier uses his body...
The vampire hunter Ivory, and her seven Carpathian wolf pack and her normal wolf pack head home after killing two vampires only to find a dying man. To her horror she knows this Carpathian is her lifemate. He tells her to leave him die as the evil Xavier uses his body to cause death. He is Xavier's grandson and sold his soul to save his daughter and sister. Ivory knocks him out and takes him to her hidden shelter while Xavier searches for Razvan. She will heal him and if he still chooses death, so be it.

Ivory sees a child tied in snares, which is a trap. With her wolves she kills a ghoul, but her brother master vampire Sergey escapes before the Carpathian healer Gregori and Prince Mikhail arrive. They offer to heal her, but she refuses as she wants nothing to do with Carpathians. Though not fully healed Razvan knows his lifemate is in trouble. She has given him hope that she can kill Xavier as she told him that is why she lives. Razvan arrives placing a knife to Mikhail's neck. Mikhail calmly tells Gregori to heal Ivory. He does and is stunned that she was once sliced into many pieces and should be dead. Ivory and Gregori heal Razvan. She explains her only friends are the wolves as her brothers chose the power of the vampire and sacrificed her. Ivory and Razvan plan to kill Xavier or die trying.

The relationship between the lead couple is fresh and gender bending as she leads the excursions against Xavier. The Carpathian support cast is strong especially the wolf pack, the prince and the healer while the malevolent villain is brilliant using modern science as well as magic to attack his foes and the heroine's brothers, though we meet only one of them, are pure evil. This is a super entry, which long time fans will enjoy including the addition of background information appendices though newcomers will feel awed by the Feehan mythos.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Worst in series and I've read them all

I must say I'm quite surprised by all of the positive reviews this book is getting. I have been a fan of this series and this author for years and have followed it avidly even getting my sisters hooked on it. Several of the previous books I have read over and over, but...
I must say I'm quite surprised by all of the positive reviews this book is getting. I have been a fan of this series and this author for years and have followed it avidly even getting my sisters hooked on it. Several of the previous books I have read over and over, but this one I almost put down without finishing.

My first complaint: A complete change in the storyline that does not hold up true in the earliest books. It's as though the author revised the entire Carpathian world in the middle of the series after having already published several books. When I first started the series I appreciated that Ms. Feehan had already created in her mind this entire world and culture for the Carpathians. The most recent additions to this story does not feel like a greater revelation of that world, but a complete starting from scratch rebuild. Perhaps she wanted to make them more complicated, and I can understand that because they were getting redundant, but perhaps she should have ended the series rather than revamp it.

Second complaint: the chanting, the spells, and language- oh no. Not only has she changed the story, but now that she's come up with this "Carpathian language" she feels the need to teach it to us all. WHO CARES? The books were just fine with out the language lesson. A lot of the phrases seemed forced and halts the flow of conversation between characters. And I could do with out the detailed spells completely.

Complaint #3: You can't even suspend disbelief to believe this one. Really, a character cut into pieces, but is reassembled by Mother Earth. REALLY?!?!?! Need I say more?

For the last several books this series has been going downhill and I'm done. I'm just glad I read the writing on the wall and didn't acutally spend money on this one, unfortunately my time I'll never get back. I may check back in for Skylar's story... but then again maybe not.

posted by CeCeSG on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 437 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super entry, which long time fans will enjoy

    The vampire hunter Ivory, and her seven Carpathian wolf pack and her normal wolf pack head home after killing two vampires only to find a dying man. To her horror she knows this Carpathian is her lifemate. He tells her to leave him die as the evil Xavier uses his body to cause death. He is Xavier's grandson and sold his soul to save his daughter and sister. Ivory knocks him out and takes him to her hidden shelter while Xavier searches for Razvan. She will heal him and if he still chooses death, so be it.

    Ivory sees a child tied in snares, which is a trap. With her wolves she kills a ghoul, but her brother master vampire Sergey escapes before the Carpathian healer Gregori and Prince Mikhail arrive. They offer to heal her, but she refuses as she wants nothing to do with Carpathians. Though not fully healed Razvan knows his lifemate is in trouble. She has given him hope that she can kill Xavier as she told him that is why she lives. Razvan arrives placing a knife to Mikhail's neck. Mikhail calmly tells Gregori to heal Ivory. He does and is stunned that she was once sliced into many pieces and should be dead. Ivory and Gregori heal Razvan. She explains her only friends are the wolves as her brothers chose the power of the vampire and sacrificed her. Ivory and Razvan plan to kill Xavier or die trying.

    The relationship between the lead couple is fresh and gender bending as she leads the excursions against Xavier. The Carpathian support cast is strong especially the wolf pack, the prince and the healer while the malevolent villain is brilliant using modern science as well as magic to attack his foes and the heroine's brothers, though we meet only one of them, are pure evil. This is a super entry, which long time fans will enjoy including the addition of background information appendices though newcomers will feel awed by the Feehan mythos.

    Harriet Klausner

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    Dark Slayer

    To say this book is outstanding is an under statement. It has everything danger, betrayal, action, suspicion, compassion, love and retribution. In my humble opinion you could not ask more from a book. The two main characters Ivory and Razvan are meant for each other. I have include a blurb from the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    Absolutely Loved this Book!

    I'm a big fan of all of the Dark books, but I have to say this one is amazing. I loved the characters, Ivory and Razvan. Neither are your typical heroes yet both prove truly unforgetable. This book is one of the most profound and powerful novels I have ever read. I'll be reading it again and again. It's not often I come across such a wonderful read. Heartfelt thank yous to Christine Feehan for writing this keeper!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    couldnt have asked for a better story

    Feehan has had me hooked from book one, but this book reaffirmed my love for the carpathian novels. The entire time I was reading i was on the edge of my seat. This book really added so much more depth to the carpathian world, and amazing twist in the fight with Xavier. Keep them coming please!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sept. 5, 2009

    I have all of Christine Feehan's Dark Series and they just keep getting better and better. I espically liked Dark Slayer, all though I really found the explantion of Ivory's excaping death a little, ok maybe a lot, hard to swallow but it didn't stop me from thourghly enjoying the story.

    I also recommend Christine Feehan's other two series, the DRAKE SISTERS and GHOSTWALKERS. Also Lynaay Sands' Argeneau and Roge Hunter Series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    ;)

    Loved it!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    Another Hit

    Christine does it again with another hit! I love how prior characters are brought back into the story line. As an owner of each of the Dark Series books, I love to be able to catch up with them. This Author always impresses me with each story and the characters she creates. She has a great writing style. I captivated by every book she writes from the first page to the last. Christine Feehan weaves her spellbinding magic into a plot that has it all, action, romance, sensuality and intrigue sporting a story line that is unique and different from the rest. A fast paced adventure that never gets boring

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great change from the normal male hero...

    Ivory's story has quickly become one of my favorite in the Dark series. It was easy to picture her and her wolf pac in my mind with Feehan's gift for description. I have always enjoyed the concept of the Carpathian race, but the addition of a female warrior adds another edge to this series. The series itself is very rewarding as you build upon past tales and characters to create a sense of the Carpathian world. After a long day it is relaxing to escape into the story. I look forward to every new book in the series, as Feehan shares her view of the Carpathian world and enlarges the cast of characters involved in the fight for survival of the race. Although you don't have to read the entire series, I wouldn't miss any of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst in series and I've read them all

    I must say I'm quite surprised by all of the positive reviews this book is getting. I have been a fan of this series and this author for years and have followed it avidly even getting my sisters hooked on it. Several of the previous books I have read over and over, but this one I almost put down without finishing.

    My first complaint: A complete change in the storyline that does not hold up true in the earliest books. It's as though the author revised the entire Carpathian world in the middle of the series after having already published several books. When I first started the series I appreciated that Ms. Feehan had already created in her mind this entire world and culture for the Carpathians. The most recent additions to this story does not feel like a greater revelation of that world, but a complete starting from scratch rebuild. Perhaps she wanted to make them more complicated, and I can understand that because they were getting redundant, but perhaps she should have ended the series rather than revamp it.

    Second complaint: the chanting, the spells, and language- oh no. Not only has she changed the story, but now that she's come up with this "Carpathian language" she feels the need to teach it to us all. WHO CARES? The books were just fine with out the language lesson. A lot of the phrases seemed forced and halts the flow of conversation between characters. And I could do with out the detailed spells completely.

    Complaint #3: You can't even suspend disbelief to believe this one. Really, a character cut into pieces, but is reassembled by Mother Earth. REALLY?!?!?! Need I say more?

    For the last several books this series has been going downhill and I'm done. I'm just glad I read the writing on the wall and didn't acutally spend money on this one, unfortunately my time I'll never get back. I may check back in for Skylar's story... but then again maybe not.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Christine Feehan does it again

    I really enjoyed the twist she put on this book. I always enjoy the amount of detail and thought she gives each book. I skim over love seens but when you get into the detail of the battles and lives of the Carpathean people she is a winner. Coming up with her own language, and line up put her in league with the writer of the Lord of the Rings series in my opionion. I truly think she is authentic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    cool slayer

    i had never read a vampire book until one day i picked up one of christine's dark series. read it in one day cause i couldn't put it down. i am now the proud owner of all of her books. this book is very interesting because we get to met a female fighter. i wasn't sure if that would work in this series, but feehan pulled it off with style. add this book to your library, you won't be disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Best one yet!

    Christine Feehan always finds the emotion and connection between her love interests and this one did not fail. I was so glad to read Razvan's story and have him find love and it was great to see how Ms. Feehan tied in Ivory and original Carpathians. Loved the intteraction with the wolf pack. It was amazing. An instant classic among all the stellar Carpathian novels,.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Series

    I fell in love with the dark series from the first book and I haven't been disappointed yet!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finally! Finally!

    Finally! Finally!
    I've been a faithful reader for years. Many of my friends quit reading the Dark Series because they said all the books sounded the same. Personally, I can relive the same "other half of my life-mate" love story forever. But finally this book ties up so many loose ends and the bad guy actually dies! I'm so glad that other characters will have their own books later because I love me some Carpathians! and I don't want the series to ever end! But I'm also relieved to finally have some resolution and finality to a Feehan book for a change.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    She Does It Again!

    Christine does it again with another hit! I love how prior characters are brought back into the story line. As an owner of each of the Dark Series books, I love to be able to catch up with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    Would give it 10 stars if I could

    I just finished reading this book and I'm totally in love with Razvan. I had been patiently awaiting the arrival of "Dark Slayer" and I have to say that I was in no way disappointed, it was amazing. I've read read all of the "Dark Series" so far, the "Drake Series" and now I've started on the "Ghostwalker Series", I just love Feehan's writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Vampire n Slayer n Wolves OH MY!

    My first read from this Author left me impressed at how easily I got involved with the story and the characters because of her writing style. Not only was I captivated from the first two pages of the book but I was also introduced to a new concept on what the characters were. Christine Feehan wove her spellbinding magic into a plot that has it all, action, romance, sensuality and intrigue sporting a story line that is unique and different from the rest. A fast paced adventure that never got boring with too much useless vocabulary or disinteresting because the plot became over involved. If this is an example of Christine Feehan's writing ability then I am a willing captive and can't wait to read the rest of her Dark Series books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Superb!

    I thought this latest entry in the Dark Series was great! I had been disappointed in Dark Possession and not entirely satisfied with Dark Curse. But this book more than makes up for both of those. The characters of Ivory and Razvan are so outside the norm even for Carpathians that they instantly fascinating. Especially when you learn their history and all they have endured. Ivory's backstory requires quite a leap of faith but it is well worth the effort. Together these two people forge a strong bond born first from a common purpose and then from a deep abiding respect and love. It was nice to see characters from previous books show up as well as plot points from other books resolved. Dark Slayer was well worth the price in hardcover and I am now happily looking forward to Ms. Feehan's next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing! Truly Captivating!

    Dark Slayer is about two people who had been betrayed and lost from their people. Ivory Malinov, sister to the Malinov brothers, had been beloved once when she was young. However, she had been sent away by her prince to Xavier's school, and then betrayed by her people as she was killed by vampires. However, still she remains alive by her strong will and determination for vengeance. Razvan is twin brother to Natalya and has suffered much in the hands of his grandfather, Xavier. When he finally escapes after hundreds of years being prisoner, he stumbles upon his lifemate, Ivory, and from then on the two embark on a journey of finding trust within each other, and love, when they had both been brutally tortured and betrayed in their past.

    Oh I loved this book! When I read the first chapter on Feehan's website I knew it was going to be good and I waited patiently for it to come out. When it did, I reserved it at Borders and got it with excitement. Even the first few chapters got me hooked. I like how Feehan captured the two worlds that they had both come from and how their past shapes them now. They have a hard time trusting and loving because of what they had to endure in their past, which only makes the book more suspenseful. I love how Feehan brings Natalya's feeling about the way she's seen her brother into the book, it was touching and uplifting. And I love how Skyler and Lara was able to finally meet their father. I do, however, wonder where Feehan's going to go next because of the last chapter in the book. I wonder what's going to happen now. Is there still an enemy? Or are the Carpathians just facing the remaining spells from the enemy? I don't know, but I am eager to find out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 437 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22