Customer Reviews for

Dark Storm (Dark Series #23)

Average Rating 4
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I LOVED IT A MUST READ!!!

This review is from: Dark Storm (Carpathian) (Hardcover)
First let me say I don't understand the 1 and 2 star ratings, this is a very good story an a bit different than the other Dark series books, which makes it totally interesting. Sometime I think other authors send...
This review is from: Dark Storm (Carpathian) (Hardcover)
First let me say I don't understand the 1 and 2 star ratings, this is a very good story an a bit different than the other Dark series books, which makes it totally interesting. Sometime I think other authors send their devout minions to do harm to other better selling authors. I have seen this pattern for a few years now and It's just not right!!

I loved Riley she is a descendant of Arabejila the "Flower Lady" as some refer to her from previous Dark series books. Christine Feehan has given us and intelligent young women, who has eminence powers of her own. She is not a warrior'hunter like Natalya Ivory and Destiny' but she could be with the power she wills. Riley is very feminine and makes a great Lifemate to Danutdaxton "Dax", the Carpathian hunter who has voluntarily imprisoned himself to trap Mitro the most vile powerful vampire so far in the Dark series. They have be imprisoned their for centuries inside a volcano.

The story is fast paced the battle scene between Dax and Mitro are amazing. I couldn't believe Mitro's family linage you will be shocked when you find out who's family he is from, but it does explain why he was the most powerful vampire so far. The love scenes are not as many, but are just as scorching HOT AND SEXY!! Dax is the oldest Carpathian alive and he can do amazing things, He is so deserving of Riley. They are my all time new perfect couple. We also, get to visit old friends the De La Cruz family.

The story has a bit of humor to it. Making it not so depressing as PR sometimes can be. I really liked that Gary Jensen and Jubal Sanders were main characters in the book. They lived up to what we have come to expect of them, as being human companions to the Carpathian people.

THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ!! and like I said I really don't get the 1 an 2 stars for this book and I always respect others opinion, but I had to speck out this time and say they must have had other motives. I will say one thing that I agree with it is time to bring the series to an honorable happy close!!! VERY WELL DONE CHRISTINE!!!

posted by DEAMD on October 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

100 pages before they meet

The story is a good one since the bad vampire is from a well known family. I really liked how Feehan modified usual vampire vs carpathian traits, abilities etc. Gave them more power. Riley was an intriguing heroine with an amazing gift. Dax is an awesome hero in the mol...
The story is a good one since the bad vampire is from a well known family. I really liked how Feehan modified usual vampire vs carpathian traits, abilities etc. Gave them more power. Riley was an intriguing heroine with an amazing gift. Dax is an awesome hero in the mold of Razvan (dark slayer) - his strength has been forged through pain and he's not as arrogant though he seems to be the most powerful carpathian Feehan created. I would love to see Dax use his incredible abilities and physicality in a future Dark book helping Carpathians.

That said, My problem is that it took over 100 pages, most of it without any dialogue before Dax and Riley met. That's way too long! Their love story was great if you stayed patient through the first chapters of no dialogue. I too noticed Feehan's style on the Dark series started changing to focus more on the battles than the love story. She also focuses more now for lack of a better term "healing properties" of the earth and chants etc. She might lose start to lose Dark series readers who like dangerous men with a strong focus on relationships. Lastly I missed steel/ice eyed healer/warrior Gregori, Oh wherefore art thou Gregori D?

posted by 3560455 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    I LOVED IT A MUST READ!!!

    This review is from: Dark Storm (Carpathian) (Hardcover)
    First let me say I don't understand the 1 and 2 star ratings, this is a very good story an a bit different than the other Dark series books, which makes it totally interesting. Sometime I think other authors send their devout minions to do harm to other better selling authors. I have seen this pattern for a few years now and It's just not right!!

    I loved Riley she is a descendant of Arabejila the "Flower Lady" as some refer to her from previous Dark series books. Christine Feehan has given us and intelligent young women, who has eminence powers of her own. She is not a warrior'hunter like Natalya Ivory and Destiny' but she could be with the power she wills. Riley is very feminine and makes a great Lifemate to Danutdaxton "Dax", the Carpathian hunter who has voluntarily imprisoned himself to trap Mitro the most vile powerful vampire so far in the Dark series. They have be imprisoned their for centuries inside a volcano.

    The story is fast paced the battle scene between Dax and Mitro are amazing. I couldn't believe Mitro's family linage you will be shocked when you find out who's family he is from, but it does explain why he was the most powerful vampire so far. The love scenes are not as many, but are just as scorching HOT AND SEXY!! Dax is the oldest Carpathian alive and he can do amazing things, He is so deserving of Riley. They are my all time new perfect couple. We also, get to visit old friends the De La Cruz family.

    The story has a bit of humor to it. Making it not so depressing as PR sometimes can be. I really liked that Gary Jensen and Jubal Sanders were main characters in the book. They lived up to what we have come to expect of them, as being human companions to the Carpathian people.

    THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ!! and like I said I really don't get the 1 an 2 stars for this book and I always respect others opinion, but I had to speck out this time and say they must have had other motives. I will say one thing that I agree with it is time to bring the series to an honorable happy close!!! VERY WELL DONE CHRISTINE!!!

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Wonderful -- as always!

    My only complaint was that it was too short! I could have read another 300+ pages! I enjoyed the fact that Riley accepted him right away and didn't fight their relationship. It put a different spin on her books. Well done ... can't wait for the next one to come out.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    CARPATHIANS...NEED I SAY MORE???

    HAS NOT SHIP UNTIL SEPT. 4TH, I EXPECT IT WILL A 5-STAR BOOK LIKE THE OTHERS! NO REASON TO THINK OTHERWISE. CHRISTINE FEEHAN HAS ALWAYS DELIVERED A MASTERFULLY WRITTEN STORY WHICH FOLLOWS THE PREVIOUS BOOK AND A CONTINUATION OF THE FAMOUS CARPATHIAN SERIES!

    I DON'T KNOW HOW SHE KEEPS THE STORIES COMING, BUT I HOPE SHE'LL CONTINUE FOR A LONG TIME!

    12 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    As usual Christine Feehan has provided an excellent book. I have read every one of her books in the Dark Series, the Ghost Walker Series, the Drake series & the Shape shifters. Everything she produces is top notch. She had tons of research on the Carpathians which are a whole different breed of species which she has made to come to life in her Dark Series books. Each book is awesome & so well written. I have a hard time putting any of them down. I usually read one book in a week and that is after work & all the other activities I do. I would recommend this author's work to anyone who likes paranormal romance. Her books are the epitamy of romance, suspense, mystery and adventure. I love her books!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Recommended all of the Christine Feehan series's

    The characters personality's always grab you each in their own way.
    You can read them out of order and enjoy them, but if you start at the first in a series and work your way though the story line is more involved and the read more rewarding when you know the history.You watch then grow and change, and you wonder what if, then you look forward to the next step in the series to come out.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    enjoyed it

    I read this one this afternoon and I must say I really enjoyed the story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Must read

    don't read for Mrs. Feehan name only. Read it because she is a very talent writer. And this book is a must read book. I love her Dark series the best. Her other series are good, but I am won over by her Dark series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Never preorder

    Unable to rate.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    ¿¿¿???

    Two vibrant green eyes flare out from the shadows like stars...

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2015

    Loved it !!!!!!!!!!!

    Loved it !!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    Love this Series

    I'm on #25 and still love this series and author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    Would highly recommend this to others

    Really enjoyed this book ,This is a series i would recommend to others to read.
    It is best to read this series in order. This is one you could read alone,
    Dax is very prowerful he courts riley and makes sure he is the one she wants to be with every step in there relationship and riley is strong and accepts her destiny and doesnt fight that fact that dax and her belong together, like some of the other women have. Adding the old one put a different spin on things and i hope to see in some of her other books a bit more on this couple with her powers she would be able to do so much in the mountians to help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2015

    I  have  read  book  1-23 and  am currently  reading  book  24  

    I  have  read  book  1-23 and  am currently  reading  book  24  and  have  book  25  waiting  to  be  read. I  recommend  these  books  to  anyone  who  enjoys  this  style  of  writing , I  thought  the  books  were  great  and  can't  wait  for  27  to  be  released . 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    I absolutely love the Dark series , I would recommend them to an

    I absolutely love the Dark series , I would recommend them to anyone 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2014

    loved it!!!!! 

    loved it!!!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    Another EXCELLENT read by Christine Feehan

    I love all her books and Dark Storm is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Robin

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Bella

    Hello?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    So glad I read it

    First of all, I stopped reading this series after Zacarias's book. I didn't enjoy ANY of the books on the De Lacruz brothers. I thought they should've been written differently. So, I got bored and ordered the rest of this series and I can safely say.........I LOVED them. I get tired of the "You are my lifemate" My heart etc is yours forever and boom they're hot and heavy in love and highly sexual. She needs a different sex type scene. They all appear to be similar. Anyhow, I so enjoyed these latest editions mainly because the other characters have been brought in. My favorite books are Gregorie's, Lucian's, Gabriel's, Nicolae's, Vikirnoff's, Razvan's and Dark Celebration. I loves the others as well but the female characters in the above mentioned books give these dominating men a run for their money. My one request.......Another book like Dark Celebration and make very long. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE Ms. Feehan. Thank you for giving me many hours of reading pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    A gathering of old friends.

    Fascinating story line, bringing the Jaguars, and Latin Carpathians in a violent battle against the vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9