Customer Reviews for

Dark Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

*I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest

*I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.* 




In case my 5 stars don't give you a hint, I thought this book was nothing less than fantastic. The range of emotions you go through when reading it is incredible. You literally feel as if you ...
*I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.* 




In case my 5 stars don't give you a hint, I thought this book was nothing less than fantastic. The range of emotions you go through when reading it is incredible. You literally feel as if you are right there with the characters experiencing everything right along with them. Love, sorrow, joy, despair, loss. You experience them all. The cast of characters is flawless. You have the good guys who are exceptionally good at being good and so so likeable and the bad guys, or girls in this case, who are incredibly good at being bad. Our heroine or leading lady grabs at your heartstrings from the very beginning and you root for her throughout the entire book. The author really gives you no choice. The imagination it must have required to write this book is mind boggling and impressive to say the least. Bravo to the author for writing a book that I opened up and didn't put down once. I will be buying the second book in this series as soon as possible. I can't wait to find out what happens next!

posted by Shelby_Mead on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I'd have to say this was one of the worst books I've ever read.

I'd have to say this was one of the worst books I've ever read.  I've read other books by Lizzy and I do like them but I don't know what happened to this one.  Granted I'm not a teenager and I'm not the intended audience but wow, it had the worst of every teen drama you...
I'd have to say this was one of the worst books I've ever read.  I've read other books by Lizzy and I do like them but I don't know what happened to this one.  Granted I'm not a teenager and I'm not the intended audience but wow, it had the worst of every teen drama you could think of.  It was way too dramatic and the characters are how shall I say... stupid.  I almost stopped reading books by Lizzy but saw that she wrote other books from the Rhyn trilogy so I am sticking to those!  If you hate unrealistic teenage drama, don't read this book.

posted by 8240224 on September 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    I'd have to say this was one of the worst books I've ever read.

    I'd have to say this was one of the worst books I've ever read.  I've read other books by Lizzy and I do like them but I don't know what happened to this one.  Granted I'm not a teenager and I'm not the intended audience but wow, it had the worst of every teen drama you could think of.  It was way too dramatic and the characters are how shall I say... stupid.  I almost stopped reading books by Lizzy but saw that she wrote other books from the Rhyn trilogy so I am sticking to those!  If you hate unrealistic teenage drama, don't read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    *I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest

    *I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.* 




    In case my 5 stars don't give you a hint, I thought this book was nothing less than fantastic. The range of emotions you go through when reading it is incredible. You literally feel as if you are right there with the characters experiencing everything right along with them. Love, sorrow, joy, despair, loss. You experience them all. The cast of characters is flawless. You have the good guys who are exceptionally good at being good and so so likeable and the bad guys, or girls in this case, who are incredibly good at being bad. Our heroine or leading lady grabs at your heartstrings from the very beginning and you root for her throughout the entire book. The author really gives you no choice. The imagination it must have required to write this book is mind boggling and impressive to say the least. Bravo to the author for writing a book that I opened up and didn't put down once. I will be buying the second book in this series as soon as possible. I can't wait to find out what happens next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    I

    I love decker and summer. I red all three books. We need more decker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    I love that it's so different from other supernatural books. The

    I love that it's so different from other supernatural books. The story pulled me in right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book. It started a little on the slow side but devel

    I love this book. It started a little on the slow side but developed into a story that I just had to keep reading. I loved Decker, Beck and Summer. There was a lot that Summer had to learn about herself and coming from a difficult past with not a person she could count on she was starting to find her way. This story built up to an ending that I was not expecting and made me absolutely crazy!! The next book, Autumn Storm is a must read for me. This is a great book. I highly recommend it if you love paranormal stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    Dark Summer by Lizzy Ford is perfection.  The characters are str

    Dark Summer by Lizzy Ford is perfection.  The characters are strong, the mystery even stronger.  Lizzy Ford has created a whole new world view with this first addition to the Witchling series.  I am suddenly a fan of the dark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Quick Read

    THis was a great quick read. Plenty of good vs evil and the balance of nature is important in it. Plus a nice love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Fantastic Book! Once I started to read it, I couldn't put it dow

    Fantastic Book! Once I started to read it, I couldn't put it down. Dark Summer is my first Lizzy Ford book and it was a great adventure. I felt like I was right there experiencing everything right along with the characters. As soon as I was done, I immediately bought the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    *I received this book free from the author in exchange for an ho

    *I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review* If the 5 star rating doesn't convince you then let me say this...i was hooked from page one! The author brings you right into the story, the main character, Summer is extremely likeable. The way the story is written makes you feel like you are a bystander right in the middle of all the action. Ford (the author) writes the characters and story so well you can't help but want to read it in one sitting, which is exactly what i would have done, had i not had a family to take care of..hehe. It's labeled YA, which i am NOT, but i really enjoyed it. I highly recommend this book! I plan on starting the next book in the series very soon! Kudos to Lizzzy Ford for writing a book that had me feeling so many emotions!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    SUMMER

    A teen book but a really good read. The ending upset me a bit. I would still recommend this book. Well written and full of life choices and their consequences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I cried, laughed, screamed, wanted to strangle people and even b

    I cried, laughed, screamed, wanted to strangle people and even bit my nails a few times! Summer is a loveable character who has had it rough since her parents died, Biji is the kind of girl you will call one of your besties and everyone has had to deal with a Dawn a time or two!

    If you want to read something fast paced, addictive and crying for more, than Dark Summer is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    Summer is different but when she is sent to her new boarding sch

    Summer is different but when she is sent to her new boarding school things change. She finds out she is not alone and she finds a home, love, and friendship in the twins. She also finds out that petty people will do anything to hold on to something.
    The book was a great read. Things go off course at that end but we all have a little darkness to deal with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    It all started after the orphanage paid her trip to Idaho. The d

    It all started after the orphanage paid her trip to Idaho. The day the bus left her in the parking lot at her new school. Summer was sent to a new school in Idaho, a school for children with special gifts that keep them from integrating into normal schools. A school for unique children. The first day she met Beck. He was 17, brown hair and the most clear teal eyes she ever seen on anybody and he was the future Master of the Light. But he had a brother, a twin Decker. He has dark eyes as the clothes he wears, and isn’t nice like Beck, he is the ultimate bad boy from school, the guy who tells the truth to your face, not thinking about the consequences and he will be the next Master of Fire and Night. But there is something good in him, every time he is near Summer he feels concted to her and he calms down.
    That day, Summer found out the hole place is different liker, and maybe now she wont have to move again. She hopped this time she wont feel like a freak, maybe this time she wont cause any problems, like the fires from the other two schools, she considered her magic gift a curse. The gift made her shy, a girl that keeps all the stuff for her, with no friends, she is afraid she could hurt somebody.
    The love between Summer and Decker it’s amazing, they are the perfect couple, the connect, he can help her find her power and Summer can help him with his dark power. She can reset the balance between Light and Dark. This two are soul mates!
    I loved this book, it’s incredible! The end made me cry, I couldn't believe Summer had to go through all that stuff and bad things still happened to her. The book it’s perfect written, the author did an amazing job! This book definitely it’s my favorite!! I can’t wait to start the next one! Thank you for writing such an amazing story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Summer and decker the new paranormal couple

    Master of light and master of dark keep the law in the witch world. Summer is sent to the witchling school and falls for decker who will be the master of dark when he turns 18. They are ment together but jealousy and betrayal will drive the wedge and then tragedy will hurt everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a wonderful Paranormal Romance with a bit of a dark twist.

    What a wonderful Paranormal Romance with a bit of a dark twist. I'm a huge fan of the author I've read all of her books so far, so when I found out she was going to do a Witch Trilogy I was so excited. This is not your normal YA Paranormal Romance it is original and unique, a real breath of fresh air from all the other books out there in this genre. I loved the storyline and the Character's (All except Dawn) you will know who I'm talking about when you read the book! I was rooting Summer and Decker the whole time! She is just so sweet and nice and Decker well I'll admit he was a butt head at 1st but I grew to love him pretty quick and I mean wow Hello He is just Gorgeous!! Dark Summer is filled with friendship, betrayal, love, Darknees and Light, but also Life and Death. I loved the fact that Light and Dark is not so clean they need one another to stay balanced and to also keep the world in balance. But when one is forced to choose between Light and Dark they may very well both lose their souls in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    I received this book from Young Adult and Teen Readers for an ho

    I received this book from Young Adult and Teen Readers for an honest review.

    What an amazing and captivating story! This is one of those stories you pick up to read and are not sure what you will find when you first turn the pages. As the story unfolds, you are pulled deeper and deeper into the lives of magical students living in a secluded private school setting in the middle of the woods.

    Orphaned as a young child, Summer, the main character, is sent from an LA orphanage to a secluded private school in the Rocky Mountains because she just doesn't fit in anywhere else! She arrives as a damaged soul and soon finds new meaning to her life as she discovers she is full of magic! This story really has it all a great group of characters, a new fresh story line, friendship, betrayal, blossoming love and a few Yetis too! It was so heart wrenching at times I found myself on the brink of tears.. not often does an Author move me in a story like that. I had to finish it in one sitting just so I knew what happened... of course a heck of a twist at the end followed by a humdinger of a "cliff" hanger! I am so looking forward to reading more from this author! Well deserving of the 5* and I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Leaves you craving more The secrets in Dark Summer are intrigui

    Leaves you craving more

    The secrets in Dark Summer are intriguing, well crafted & revealed at just the right pace to keep you reading.  I enjoyed every minute I spent in the world that Lizzy Ford has created here & would have been disappointed when I reached the final page, if I hadn’t known that there was more to the series.  

    Summer is a great character.  Her insecurities due to being an orphan & having a ‘gift’ that causes her more trouble than it appears to be worth, are totally understandable.  I connected with her quickly & found myself more than once, wishing I could impart a little of my life experience to her, when she was faced with two options & appeared to be leaning towards the wrong one. 

    One thing I found help make the story more believable is the fact that the author did not fall back on the cliché that everyone whose magic is light, must be good & everyone whose magic is dark, must be bad.  Just like in real life, there are shades of grey in the world that Ms. Ford creates in this series.  Dark Summer should be required reading for teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Great story

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Summer is an orphan who's been kicked out of every school she's

    Summer is an orphan who's been kicked out of every school she's attended. When she gets to her new boarding school, she figures it will be the same. But the school was created for people like her -- people who can channel one or more of the five elements. And when she meets Decker, future Master of Night and Fire, the connection is strong and dangerous, because Summer will be forced to choose between the dark and light, and fight for her soul.

    This book is strongly plotted with vividly drawn characters. I was bowled over by the ending, which came as a total surprise. It left me waiting impatiently for the next book, though at least Lizzy Ford had the mercy to write a novella that answers a question or two from the cliffhanger ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Better and better

    I love, love love Lizzy Ford. The fantasy worlds that she creates make me wish I could crawl inside her head and see what she sees. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2