Customer Reviews for

Dark Thirst (Brethren Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    Dark Thirst Yes Yes Yes

    A very good read. I liked the exchange between Brandon and Lina. I have never read a vamp book with a black leading lady. Great, love the twist.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    don't bother

    I bought this and the follow up book at the same time, not a good idea. This book I had to finish fast not because I wanted to see how it ended but because I wanted my self-torture to be done. It was boring, confusing, and couldn't keep the pace up. One second you're reading in the present than all of the sudden the next paragraph has you in a flashback to the character's childhood. Just to let you know if you're gonna do a flashback please let the reader know. I just got lost with the surprise flashbacks that would pop up and got got irrated with the book. Wouldn't recomend to anyone unless you liked the author but i consider this a waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    dark, original vamp tale

    Sara Reinke starts with the good tenant for an author: write about what you know. Thus her setting Dark Thirst in Kentucky is a solid move. The Kentucky writer opens this highly original vampire tale, with a clan of vampires, originally made up of four families. They own a huge, isolated track of land called ¿The Brethren¿, people give them a wide birth. Reinke demonstrate a strong world building in creating the hellish, throwback existence of The Brethren. The only people permitted near their compound are migrant illegals (a problem in Kentucky, actually). These poor unsuspecting souls are often used as servants, but more generally end up as din din, killed without a concern. Like all vamps, they have long lives. They are strong, heal fast, and are damn hard to kill. Very throwback, with the men being the chest-thumping protectors of the clan the females are relegated to being the `little woman¿, caring for their homes and their men. Marriages are set up with no cares to the woman¿s wishes, very archaic, seeing young teenagers married to older (much older men). Women are permitted no say in the marriages, no say in just about anything. The males eat first the women only are permitted to eat after the males have finished (intriguingly reflecting old ¿hills¿ turn-of-the-century mentality of Kentucky and the South). The members of The Brethren never leave the compound they especially never leave the clan. But naturally, a writer lays down rules only to break them. Brandon Noble is the grandson of the head of the Brethren, Augustus, (ala Brando in The Godfather, only he makes Brando appear a choirboy by measure!). Brandon has run afoul of the strict rules set forth by the secluded clan and it may cost his life. When he was younger, he accidentally came upon a robbery in progress. The robbers attacked Brandon, and nearly killed him, which left him deaf and unable to speak. Worse even still, he shuns the blood rituals of The Brethren. A big no no in their world. When he finally manages to leave, he knows he will be own the run for his life. Brandon attempts to leave the compound, and now once more he is on the run. He goes to his only friend, but the friend isn¿t there. He meets Lina Jones, the friend¿s sister, and she wants to help him, but they have a world of problems to over come, despite their growing attraction. Reinke creates a vivid world, mixing the vampire clan with old country codes, gives you a hero that is white, a heroine black, basically saying she is not going to follow the patterns of all the writers before her. With this impressive novel, the author boldly cuts a vivid debut (mass-market debut, as Reinke has other books out with smaller presses). To check the measure of this author¿s talent read her The Unexpected Engagement, a Regency romance. I am eager to see what the author will do with the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Forbidden love, a sexy, sensitive hero with hidden powers he hasn't fully discovered yet and something so far beyond most romance novel heroes, and, oh yeah, a great read! This book is right up there with the best! Brandon Noble is a sensitive but seemingly-weak vampire living in a world of horror. His family are monsters and all he wants is to escape them and the destiny they have planned for him. When he does escape he falls right into the arms of the human woman he's always loved, but who was forbidden to him. He is incredibly sensitive and younger 'only 21', but that only adds to his charm as the reader will fall hopelessly and irrevocably in love with his character. This is an interracial romance on more than one level--his love, Lina, is black, while Brandon appears white plus, there's that vampire thing he has going for him. I can't wait for the next book in the series. 'Dark Thirst' is not only a keeper, but the reason to watch for future books by this author. She brings a refreshing twist to what we have always thought a hero should be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Great new series

    I bought Sara Reinke¿s Dark Thirst because of the `special value¿ price. By the time I got through the first few chapters I was so happy I did pick it up. I really enjoyed the story. The book had some different things in it that it kept my interest throughout. Right off, Brandon, the main character, has something very different about him ¿ he is a vampire and a deaf-mute (there is a reason why he cannot heal himself, but you have to read the story to find out). His vampire clan is the Brethren and these vamps you definitely do not want to invite to dinner. They kill their donors instead of just taking a sip and letting them go. Thus is the rub with Brandon, he doesn¿t want to go through the bloodletting ceremony and turn into a monster so he leaves the Brethren community (a no-no with the Brethren). I loved the characters in the book. Brandon and his heroine, Angelina (Lina), are great characters and believable. I liked the interactions between all the characters. Another interesting thing about the book is it is Brandon is white and Lina is African-American (after all the paranormal books I have read with inter-species union¿s it is not so odd, but still different). For those readers that do not like the over the top sex scenes ¿ the ones in the book were just right. They fit into the book¿s story, and were not in there just for shock value. There is an ending to this book, but I am guessing that Ms. Reinke¿s second book, Dark Hunger, will pick up where this one left off. I am really excited to read the next book in the series and cannot wait for it to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    where's the next book!

    i love vampire novels and i couldn't put this book down. i'm ready for the next one! so bring it on already. thanks!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1