Customer Reviews for

The Dark Tide (Ty Hauck Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Read

I bought this novel and literally read it into the late night until finished. Absolutely wonderful. Andrew Gross is more than talented. I much prefer him to James Patterson, who has become predictable and formulaic in my opinion. So full of suspense and the main charact...
I bought this novel and literally read it into the late night until finished. Absolutely wonderful. Andrew Gross is more than talented. I much prefer him to James Patterson, who has become predictable and formulaic in my opinion. So full of suspense and the main characters are compelling as well as believable. I so enjoyed Ty as a vulnerable hero. I intend to check out the Blue Zone simply because of this book

posted by Anonymous on April 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not So Much

Aside from the early plot twists this story is predictable and over-worked. The female protagonist, Karen, is one of the most annoying characters I've read. The author has chosen to let you into her never ending thoughts of "Why Charles?" "Why did you do this?" "The kid...
Aside from the early plot twists this story is predictable and over-worked. The female protagonist, Karen, is one of the most annoying characters I've read. The author has chosen to let you into her never ending thoughts of "Why Charles?" "Why did you do this?" "The kids,Charles." "Oh Charlie." Gross could have easily pared the book down 25 pages. It was so predictable that I trudged through it rather than rifling through the pages. I was glad when I finished. I would consider it entertaining for the casual reader but if you relish good mystery thrillers look elsewhere.

posted by Kratz on April 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Outstanding Read

    I bought this novel and literally read it into the late night until finished. Absolutely wonderful. Andrew Gross is more than talented. I much prefer him to James Patterson, who has become predictable and formulaic in my opinion. So full of suspense and the main characters are compelling as well as believable. I so enjoyed Ty as a vulnerable hero. I intend to check out the Blue Zone simply because of this book

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Great author

    This book had me hooked from the very first chapters. The suspense and plot were gripping.I hadn't had any previous experience reading anything by this author but will be looking for any new books in the future. Surprised it was a free e-book.I began reading it and became so engrossed I continued until I read the book from start to finish.Though the plot was somewhat predictable,I was still completely into the book and couldn't wait to see how the story ended.The characters and the plot were very interesting and convincing. I will be recommending it to friends and family for sure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Great Free Book

    I found this book to be really entertaining, and will definitely look for more Andrew Gross books in the future. Some of the characters were not at well developed as they could have been, but it did not affect the overall story line, which was really exceptional.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not So Much

    Aside from the early plot twists this story is predictable and over-worked. The female protagonist, Karen, is one of the most annoying characters I've read. The author has chosen to let you into her never ending thoughts of "Why Charles?" "Why did you do this?" "The kids,Charles." "Oh Charlie." Gross could have easily pared the book down 25 pages. It was so predictable that I trudged through it rather than rifling through the pages. I was glad when I finished. I would consider it entertaining for the casual reader but if you relish good mystery thrillers look elsewhere.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    Couldn't Put It Down

    I was startled by the emotions that Andrew Gross was able to insight with his words. Grief was palpable. Anxiety was tangible. From the characters to the settings, I felt I was right there in experiencing it all. The plot twists kept me turning pages. I couldn't put it down until I read the last word.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Winner from Andrew Gross

    This is the 2nd book by Andrew Gross, after the first page I was hooked. Could not close the book. Can't wait to see more from this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    great book

    really enjoyed the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Andrew Gross has come into his own.

    He no longer needs to co-author with James Patterson, he stands by himself.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting Adventure

    Gross does a good job getting you involved and keeping you interested as the story unfolds. His writing style is recognizable from James Patterson's books' which is not suprising since he co-authored a few of them.
    The leading characters are believable and he develops them well. His research is credable and that lends interest to his plot.
    His first novel on his own was "The Blue Zone". I enjoyed that one as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Getting Better !!!

    Much better than the Blue Zone, and this one leaves Patterson in the dust, Gross has found his place, a mst read. One quick point, it was un Patterson like, keep it up

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenseful...

    Andrew Gross has written another fantastic book. The Dark Tide is fast-paced and full of suspense, which hooked me from the start and never let me go. The Dark Tide has a detail oriented plot, which requires a careful read from the reader. If Andrew Gross is the future of mystery/thriller/suspense books, then the future is definately bright. Two thumbs up for The Dark Tide.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Annonymous

    I really enjoyed the book as the story line kept me wanting to read it. However, I didn't like the use of raw, ugly language throughout the book. Please keep the bad language out of your books. It doesn't help the story at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Good not 5 star good

    Good beach novel. Better than his first book. Nothing too deep, but keeps you reading. I will read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Blake

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Syre n and ty

    @Blake: ill explain in a sec. YESH MW HA HA! Ty grins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    This story grips you from page one and the ride continues all th

    This story grips you from page one and the ride continues all the way through. Part mystery, part thriller, this book will have you unable to put it it down. Definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Excellent thriller...

    Andrew Gross doesn't disappoint in The Dark Tide. It is full of twists and turns, and great action. I am reading all of the Ty Hauck detective books now. Gosh, I love this author. The short chapter format he writes in is very appealing and keeps you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Deeply engrossing!

    Once I started this book I could not put it down. The story takes you along a curvy path of suspicious happenings that somehow all tie in together. The book will hold your attention until you discover just how all this takes place.
    Story - engrossing
    Characters - a variety that come together in some very interesting ways
    Ending - you be the judge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Great beach read if you want a sunburn

    I would recommend this for a great summer read, something to take to the beach. The problem is that the plot has such a strong narrative pull is that you would keep reading, and reading, and end up looking like a lobster. The premise is very suspenseful, the two main characters involving, and the supporting details informative. Even when you think you have figured out the possible outcome, you must keep reading to find out the final resolution. Another thing I liked about this book is that even when the author is utilizing potentially confusing details such as currency transfers, off-shore bank accounts, money laundering, etc., the descriptions don't stop the action. Much of the information comes in dialogue which makes it more believable. This is the first book I have read by Andrew Gross. It will not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great read

    The story line was great and kept me hooked until the very last page. Very good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14