Customer Reviews for

Dark Tort (Culinary Mystery Series #13)

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Cook, Don't Read

    I've read all the books in the series, and this will be my last. How odd that a sledge hammer was a feature in the book, because that's how I felt about the entire thing...hammer into the reader's head the same thing over and over again just in case we're too blind to see it. Add the charm of a wet noodle, absolutely no humor, plenty of whining and self pity and more references to past books than actual plot then drag it all down to a snail's pace and it all adds up to one incredibly boring book. You know whodunit and why withing the first 50 pages, and by the end when Goldy does her usual act of extreme stupidity (and you just know how she'll be saved this time) you don't really care. By the end of the book the only character I could still stomach was Julian. Maybe it's time to drop Goldy and follow this young man...he seems to be the only one with a brain and compassion and can still function in the face of disaster, with a smile.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Bzywy

    Ny8'yyb 'by
    bbthybby'k"b5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Loved the mystery and how they incorporated cooking into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    As usual, exciting

    Although this is't my favorite book in the series, it was still entertaining & had an exciting ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    A must read for all her fans

    Davidson never fails to both intrigue, entertain and certainly widen our recipe files. May she never stop. I loved this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    light-hearted mystery

    yummy, good recipes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Food and murder, what a great combination!

    Goldy Shulz owns Goldilocks Catering in Aspen Meadows, CO. She has been hired by the law firm Hanrahan & Jule to cater breakfasts and snacks. <BR/><BR/>When Goldy arrives late one night to prepare for the next day's breakfast, she is supposed to meet Dusty Routt, a good friend and neighbor who is a paralegal in training at the firm. Goldy was to give Dusty a cooking lesson. Dusty's uncle is the managing partner in the law firm. Unfortunately Goldy trips over Dusty's body when she arrives.<BR/><BR/>Goldy is asked by Dusty's mother to look into her death. Years before Dusty's brother died while in police custody. Her mother doesn't have faith in the police to uncover the truth.<BR/><BR/>Goldy had recently noticed Dusty wearing an expensive bracelet, and Dusty had alluded to sharing some information with Goldy when they met that night.<BR/><BR/>Can Goldy uncover the true identity of the killer without putting her family through the mud again?<BR/><BR/>I really enjoy this series. Goldy is a great character, and all the food discussion is fabulous. I just find myself eating while reading, though.<BR/><BR/>I thought the story line in this book was well written and plotted out. I would like to see her mysteries be a bit shorter as I prefer mysteries under 350 pages. <BR/><BR/>I highly recommend this book and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    C is for catering and crime

    A murdered paralegal assistant. A recently deceased artist who painted highly sought after images of food. A team of ambitious attorneys, and their competitive wives. A harridan of an office manager. A bishop with a dark secret. Throw them into the mix with Goldy's family and friends, and you've got the recipe for her next culinary caper. Dark Tort is a puzzle of a mystery chock full of colorful characters, plot twists, and even a few LOL scenes (especially the one at the birthday party with all the leaves.) It's amazing to believe Davidson's written so many of these and is still managing to remain fresh and enjoyable. But she's done it, so you can pick this one up for when you're in the mood for something light but satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    A Goo Story/Plot obscured by mindless rhetoric

    Had to scan about a quarter of the book to find the story again. Still, got lost in the pratter of food & silliness. Seriously doubt that I'll attempt reading another of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Not One of Her Best

    I have read all the books in this series and have always enjoyed them. They are quick, light and fast read. But this one made me feel like I had skipped a couple of pages or missed something in the last book. The introduction of the Charlie Baker character had me skipping back through the pages, I had know idea who he was and Davidson wrote it like we should all be familar with him????Then as the story unfolded she started to explain who he was, but more of that should have been done in the beginning. The Routt family were more annoying then sympathetic. The psator character wasn't developed enough.I think I cared less about the characters then in the past and there were too many of them and her usual characters (Marla, her son) were shoved in here in there to fill in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Hopefully just a glitch

    I agree with the reviewer who said that it sounded as if this book had been written by someone else. There were too many new characters stuffed in -- some who logically should have been mentioned before, based on their relationships with Davidson's roster of previous characters -- and at times it looked as though the writer was making an effort to link DARK TORT with the previous books. 'I found some of Goldy's words a bit un-Goldy-ish, and even Tom seemed a bit stiff'. This was quite a contrast to the previous installment -- Double Shot -- which left me laughing aloud at some parts, while in a real state of suspense during others. It's going to take a lot more than one sub-par work to get me off the Goldy series, however. Hopefully, this was just a glitch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    The book was boring and predictable....I also found two mistakes...anyone else find them? When Tom is cooking dinner for Goldie, the boys, and Wink he is preparing green beans but when they are eating the have broccoli with cheese sauce...and when Goldie and Julian are making the dinner for the party at the end they prepare asparagus but they serve green beans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Loved it!

    I always enjoy Diane Mott Daivdison's books and look forward to each read. Dark Tort gives the reader a glimpse of the unhappy lives of partners in a law firm as Goldie gathers clues to solve the murder of friend and neighbor Dusty. Thank you for another great book and yummy recipes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Who Really Wrote This Book???

    WOW! What a disappointment after waiting so long for her next book. I felt like she had a ghost writer who doesn't know her or her writing style or her characters very well actually write the book! For the most part it made no sense. Having a very minor character from a book past to the front burner and hope to have us care about her was very weird. If you had never read any of her previous books, you wouldn't even understand some of her references to other people in the book...I don't understand how she could have so casually dropped to minor roles, Marla and Arch and even Tom, let alone any references to the JRK her nemesis for so long. If you read her last book you would know this was big and for her to make hardly any mention but yea move on like nothing happened was very bizarre. The whole book was just weird and I felt I had to finish it. I had even ordered the CD's read by Barbara Rosenblat to listen to at work and couldn't bring myself to listen to it as it made it even more boring this time around. The recipes.....were weird and nothing sounded mouthwatering at all...if this was her idea of a departure...she departed way too much. Bring back the old Goldy and give us the excitement of the past!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Taste & Intrigue Welded In. Slurp & Sense.

    Mesmerized by the luscious book jacket on DARK TORT, I picked up the hardback with my right hand, and ran my left fingertips over the face of the cool, smooth, brail effective jacket. I was more than ready to pick up on what this author had done subtly differently this time to continue infusing her stories with the edge and surge which had kept them riding tips of waves of cravings for culinary mysteries. A riveting intensity in the opening scene of DARK TORT (the legal term for wrongful act, not ¿torte¿ as in pastry) was sparked by the first sentence of chapter one, page one. But what welded the rivets for me was the culinary catastrophe in the third paragraph: ¿The bag of flour I was carrying slid from my hands and exploded on the carpet. Two jars of yeast plummeted onto the coffee table, where they burst into shards and powder. My last bottle of molasses sailed in a wide arc and cracked onto the receptionist¿s cherry-wood desk. A thick wave of sweet, dark liquid began a gluey descent across the phone console. My steel bowl of bread sponge catapulted out or my arms and hit the wall.¿ With each sensory impression in that paragraph having opened gateways into my mind, I would be reading onward with awakened interest. The first 40 pages had the feel of a nightmare I had half expected Goldy to suddenly point to her pillow, at a place to ponder about the dream, which would, of course, be a clue to a murder which would occur later, in the waking state. Ironically, those first 40 pages also had the feel of the reality of ¿tripping over a dead body¿ (of a close friend) and dealing with that type of emotional/mental/spiritual trauma, compiled with the ongoing chill of threatening police procedural impositions impregnated with that metallic taste/smell, which Goldy made note of a few times during those opening pages, usually in reference to heat systems blowing warm air with that blood chilling flavor. Goldy cooks up storms of clues in her spaciously gourmet, commercial kitchen, simultaneous to sorting through the ones which come `round to bat her body and soul while she¿s in an eternal state of grieving exhaustion (to which, as faithful readers, we¿ve become happily addicted). So, how does she ever GET anywhere? That spring-loaded titanium back bone. And Tom¿s hugs accompanied by his ¿to die for¿ sharing of the career-laden-Mom-homemaker¿s loads of eternal daily duties. Then there¿s ESPRESSO, the Energizer Bunny bean! Couldn¿t love more the way Goldy snarls at anyone who has the wherewithal or gall to trash the natural, real values of caffeine, butter, eggs, and/or creme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Hey, Diane: Look for a new reader!

    I have always enjoyed Diane Mott Davidson's books. They have always been a joy to read or listen to, and have had a good bit of humor injected into the mysteries. However, this book was boring. A lot of that is due to the reader, Elizabeth Marvel, who constantly sounded on the verge of a mental breakdown. Any humor in this book (and I'm not sure that there was any) was negated by her reading style, which was most annoying. The reader of one's book is a most important choice and Diane, you failed us here. Not only with the reader but with the book itself. Do you need some good recipies? I have a bunch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Boring...not even any food references

    It is hard to believe that this is the same author. I was eagerly awaiting her next novel, but this one is boring and doesn't even contain the mouthwatering descriptions of food that were in her earlier works. Not worth your time. I didn't even bother to read the last chapter. Didn't care.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    almost missed this one

    saw there was a new catering mystery and plunked my money down.so happy to have one of this series to make my nights as cozy as my mom's kitchen.and you can just imagine goldie's newly redone kitchen and the smell of that coffee she inspires you to be drinking.go get it quick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A tastey treat

    Caterer Goldy Schulz prepares breakfasts, snacks and occasional lunches for the legal staff and clients of Hanrahan & Jule law firm in Aspen Meadow, Colorado. However, when she arrives early to set up the day¿s menu, Goldy finds the corpse of paralegal Dusty Routt, a victim of strangulation.------------- Dusty¿s mom, already distraught over the recent death of her son while in police custody, believes law enforcement will do nothing to identify her daughter¿s killer. Knowing that Goldy has solved homicides, she asks the caterer to investigate. Though she knows better, Goldy feels sorry for the grieving woman and agrees. With help from her husband Tom the cop, gossipy clues from the caterers extended network, and her son Arch the student driver, Goldy begins to find the recipes for murder starting with the key ingredients of motive and opportunity.--------------- This thirteenth Goldy culinary mystery is a delightful fresh and original amateur sleuth tale that readers will enjoy (except for die hard dieters ¿ numerous recipes included). The story line is fast-paced as Goldy quietly makes inquires and taps into the caterer network to learn more about the law firm¿s employees and partners. Arch¿s driving lessons will hit home to parents of teens as Goldy ages gracefully. Diane Mott Davidson is in top form with this tasty whodunit.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Goldy Needs a Break

    On her way to a late night catering job, intrepid caterer-turned-sleuth Goldy Schultz stumbles over the body of her friend, law-firm paralegal, Dusty Routt. Dusty's mother, Sally, a friend and neighbor of Goldy's, begs her to solve the crime. With her crew of usual suspects, Tom Schultz, Julian Teller, Marla Korman, and Arch, as well as the Routts and contacts in the law firm, Goldy takes us on a red-herring filled romp. Is it the Bishop? What do the food paintings have to do with the crime? Did one of the attorneys in the firm do Dusty in? Or was it the uber witch office manager? As usual, the book is filled with yummy food and lots of dish about the rich and infamous. The included recipes are great (but lime juice in Chicken Piccata?). I was disappointed in the title recipe, Dark Tort. I expected something wonderful and chocolately, but the tort is more of a spice-based creation. My complaint: Way too much explanation, especially at the end of the book, when all is revealed. I love Diane Mott Davidson's books, but this one seems just a little tired, and like she tried to hard to make the law-firm concept work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3