Customer Reviews for

Dark Tort (Culinary Mystery Series #13)

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Loved the mystery and how they incorporated cooking into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    A must read for all her fans

    Davidson never fails to both intrigue, entertain and certainly widen our recipe files. May she never stop. I loved this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Loved it!

    I always enjoy Diane Mott Daivdison's books and look forward to each read. Dark Tort gives the reader a glimpse of the unhappy lives of partners in a law firm as Goldie gathers clues to solve the murder of friend and neighbor Dusty. Thank you for another great book and yummy recipes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Taste & Intrigue Welded In. Slurp & Sense.

    Mesmerized by the luscious book jacket on DARK TORT, I picked up the hardback with my right hand, and ran my left fingertips over the face of the cool, smooth, brail effective jacket. I was more than ready to pick up on what this author had done subtly differently this time to continue infusing her stories with the edge and surge which had kept them riding tips of waves of cravings for culinary mysteries. A riveting intensity in the opening scene of DARK TORT (the legal term for wrongful act, not ¿torte¿ as in pastry) was sparked by the first sentence of chapter one, page one. But what welded the rivets for me was the culinary catastrophe in the third paragraph: ¿The bag of flour I was carrying slid from my hands and exploded on the carpet. Two jars of yeast plummeted onto the coffee table, where they burst into shards and powder. My last bottle of molasses sailed in a wide arc and cracked onto the receptionist¿s cherry-wood desk. A thick wave of sweet, dark liquid began a gluey descent across the phone console. My steel bowl of bread sponge catapulted out or my arms and hit the wall.¿ With each sensory impression in that paragraph having opened gateways into my mind, I would be reading onward with awakened interest. The first 40 pages had the feel of a nightmare I had half expected Goldy to suddenly point to her pillow, at a place to ponder about the dream, which would, of course, be a clue to a murder which would occur later, in the waking state. Ironically, those first 40 pages also had the feel of the reality of ¿tripping over a dead body¿ (of a close friend) and dealing with that type of emotional/mental/spiritual trauma, compiled with the ongoing chill of threatening police procedural impositions impregnated with that metallic taste/smell, which Goldy made note of a few times during those opening pages, usually in reference to heat systems blowing warm air with that blood chilling flavor. Goldy cooks up storms of clues in her spaciously gourmet, commercial kitchen, simultaneous to sorting through the ones which come `round to bat her body and soul while she¿s in an eternal state of grieving exhaustion (to which, as faithful readers, we¿ve become happily addicted). So, how does she ever GET anywhere? That spring-loaded titanium back bone. And Tom¿s hugs accompanied by his ¿to die for¿ sharing of the career-laden-Mom-homemaker¿s loads of eternal daily duties. Then there¿s ESPRESSO, the Energizer Bunny bean! Couldn¿t love more the way Goldy snarls at anyone who has the wherewithal or gall to trash the natural, real values of caffeine, butter, eggs, and/or creme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    almost missed this one

    saw there was a new catering mystery and plunked my money down.so happy to have one of this series to make my nights as cozy as my mom's kitchen.and you can just imagine goldie's newly redone kitchen and the smell of that coffee she inspires you to be drinking.go get it quick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A tastey treat

    Caterer Goldy Schulz prepares breakfasts, snacks and occasional lunches for the legal staff and clients of Hanrahan & Jule law firm in Aspen Meadow, Colorado. However, when she arrives early to set up the day¿s menu, Goldy finds the corpse of paralegal Dusty Routt, a victim of strangulation.------------- Dusty¿s mom, already distraught over the recent death of her son while in police custody, believes law enforcement will do nothing to identify her daughter¿s killer. Knowing that Goldy has solved homicides, she asks the caterer to investigate. Though she knows better, Goldy feels sorry for the grieving woman and agrees. With help from her husband Tom the cop, gossipy clues from the caterers extended network, and her son Arch the student driver, Goldy begins to find the recipes for murder starting with the key ingredients of motive and opportunity.--------------- This thirteenth Goldy culinary mystery is a delightful fresh and original amateur sleuth tale that readers will enjoy (except for die hard dieters ¿ numerous recipes included). The story line is fast-paced as Goldy quietly makes inquires and taps into the caterer network to learn more about the law firm¿s employees and partners. Arch¿s driving lessons will hit home to parents of teens as Goldy ages gracefully. Diane Mott Davidson is in top form with this tasty whodunit.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Dark Tort

    Once again, in DARK TORT, Diane Mott Davidson has written the best of the best in the cozy mystery, small town, food receipts genre. Our caterer, Goldie, can do it all!! She has a wonderful husband, a terrific son, pesky pets, her own food catering business, volunteer work throughout the community, and a parcel of interesting, and wonderful friends. In her free time, she is solving the mysteries of the community. In this book, it is who killed the cute, young lawyer's helper who seems to have become too valuable to suite everyone in her law offices. The book opens with her dead body for Goldie to trip over as our caterer begins another 'average' busy day. Goldie sounds too good to be true, but she comes across as so very believable. Just the scenes of her son learning to drive might have made the book complete in itself for me. There are 11 assorted, yummy receipts from the story given at the end of the book also. So, if the cozy, with the hometown spirit, and assorted receipts appeals to you, give this one a try also!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    Dark Tort

    Once again, in DARK TORT, Diane Mott Davidson has written the best of the best in the cozy mystery, small town, food receipts genre. Our caterer, Goldie, can do it all!! She has a wonderful husband, a terrific son, pesky pets, her own food catering business, volunteer work throughout the community, and a parcel of interesting, and wonderful friends. In her free time, she is solving the mysteries of the community. In this book, it is who killed the cute, young lawyer's helper who seems to have become too valuable to suite everyone in her law offices. The book opens with her dead body for Goldie to trip over as our caterer begins another 'average' busy day. Goldie sounds too good to be true, but she comes across as so very believable. Just the scenes of her son learning to drive might have made the book complete in itself for me. There are 11 assorted, yummy receipts from the story given at the end of the book also. So, if the cozy, with the hometown spirit, and assorted receipts appeals to you, give this one a try also!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1