Customer Reviews for

The Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger

Average Rating 4.5
( 1071 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(648)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(111)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Lucky Find! 5/5 stars!

I've never read a Stephen King book, but after two friends started reading this series, I decided I had to read it now. Everyone is always saying he is a good writer, and they are right! It is a bit slow-moving at first. That's not a surprise though since it's the first...
I've never read a Stephen King book, but after two friends started reading this series, I decided I had to read it now. Everyone is always saying he is a good writer, and they are right! It is a bit slow-moving at first. That's not a surprise though since it's the first in a series of seven books. It's not a boring read at all though, it just takes a while to get attached to the characters (Like most books). King provides plenty of twists in the mean-time to keep you reading.
I'll be sure to stop by the library when i can to get the next book in the series. King has gotten me very interested in continuing to read his works and i plan to do so. It was a mysterious plot with a dark and twisted sense of humor. Looking forward to reading more of his work! Ive never really read any books like this one so all i can recommend is to read the series yourself if you haven't.

posted by 2675839 on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the original

I'm not sure these people writing reviews understand. I've been reading the Dark Tower series for around 13 years now. People are writing this review for the original book, which it isn't. This is a re-written version. Each new Dark Tower book since DT2, the Drawing...
I'm not sure these people writing reviews understand. I've been reading the Dark Tower series for around 13 years now. People are writing this review for the original book, which it isn't. This is a re-written version. Each new Dark Tower book since DT2, the Drawing of the Three becomes a little less interesting. Why change one of the best books Stephen King has ever written?

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Lucky Find! 5/5 stars!

    I've never read a Stephen King book, but after two friends started reading this series, I decided I had to read it now. Everyone is always saying he is a good writer, and they are right! It is a bit slow-moving at first. That's not a surprise though since it's the first in a series of seven books. It's not a boring read at all though, it just takes a while to get attached to the characters (Like most books). King provides plenty of twists in the mean-time to keep you reading.
    I'll be sure to stop by the library when i can to get the next book in the series. King has gotten me very interested in continuing to read his works and i plan to do so. It was a mysterious plot with a dark and twisted sense of humor. Looking forward to reading more of his work! Ive never really read any books like this one so all i can recommend is to read the series yourself if you haven't.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book begins a series that is, frankly, unbeatable. I have not read any other series that even comes close to the opus that is The Dark Tower series. King creates characters that are far more than simply 'memorable,' they're real. It was seriously difficult to wrench myself from the world of the Dark Tower back into reality after several hours of reading. That being said, be wary of getting into this series, as it makes all other reading seem somewhat substandard.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Stevies Best Yet

    Having read the series several times, its like meeting up with old friends. The first book sets the tone for the next 7 books, its 8 total sincehe finished the Wind Thru the Keyhole. I cant say enough good things about this, it has stuff from so many other books- Father Callahan from Salems Lot, characters from The Stand, Insomnia, and many others find a home in this series. There is truly something in this for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    The start of an epic journey, ...

    ...the likes of which has not been seen before. This quick read introduces the main character Roland Deschaines as he follows the enigmatic 'black man' across what's left of the world. Do youself a huge favor (say thankee, sai) and follow along with Roland and his ka-tet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    igor test

    igor test

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Recently discovered Dark Tower series

    King's ability to drawn you in to the strangest (and scariest) tales is a gift. Love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Gunslinger, the Dark Tower series, Book 1

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book within a day and I absolutely loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is the start of a wonderful series, which will leave you in awe at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Perfect

    Simply put, this is one of the greatest books in the history of literature. Possibly will be the defining novel of this generation for future centuries. Deserves nothing less than to be an all-time classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Dark, dangerous, and a hell of a read

    A magnificent start to an amazgin series. Any avid King reader will be able to piint out all King's allusions from many of his other works which will make it easy to feel that King's imagaination has been leading up to an epic. The first 4 books are fantastic, the fifth is good and the sixth lacks a little, but by the second half of the final book you feel King's excitement rising and pushing along your own. Take the time and read the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Amazing Start to an Awesome Series

    This book was awesome. One of those books that you just can't set down until the very end, it keeps you hooked the whole way through. In my opinion, it is probably one of Stephen King's best works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    The Dark Tower books are perhaps the greatest books on the face of the earth

    I personally believe that the Dark Tower books are easily the greatest books ever (these books easily surpass that of The Lord of the Rings or any others). The books display the adventure of Roland Deschain, the last gunslinger of Gilead. Only a great author like Stephen King could ever write such an extordinary adventure. Every page is as great if not greater than the last, and I guarantee that you won't be able to put this book down until you've finished it and you'll be crying for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    the guslinger=greatness

    a really good book very compelling hard to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    A Thought-Provoking and Intriguing Read

    I have not read too many of Steven King's works, but this one is the best. Explicit and (as is typical) descriptive, King depicts the tale of the last gunslinger--a hunter searching for an almost mythical prey--in a world unlike any other. Though such a world seems too unreal to be believable, it is deep enough, real enough, to draw you into the novel and become aborbed with the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    A Great Start, You will want to finish the series that day!

    This is an excellent start to the Dark Tower series. Even though Stephen King did not know where his writing would take him, he did an excellent job foreshadowing different events. To sum this novel up in one word, intriguing would be the word. The Gunslinger and the Man in Black are very rich characters set in a beautifully ironic and deserted world. Highly Recommended. Once you finish volume one, you will be sure to want the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    The Gunslinger Rules!!!!

    Probally one of Stephen Kings greatest works ever :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    awesome

    one of the best books i have ever read and I love the ending to it. It makes you think a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger

    This book is probably my favorite book from Mr. King's Dark Tower series. It is written like all his older books (I like his older writing style) and it's very detailed. I think this is because he based it on The Lord of the Rings and that was how Tolkien wrote his books. Very great story with one of the best endings of any book I've read. Enough is left unknown about the Gunslinger to make him still mysterious, but you now know a little about his past and his way of thinking. A perfect departure from his usual books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    This refers to the audio version which is expanded and revised

    I was first introduced to Roland's world in the summer of 1998 when I listened to the original edition of the Gunslinger, and I was hooked after that. This version, however, seems to bridge a small gap between the books. King was a verry young man when he wrote the original edition, and there were some vague plot devices. Here, King paints better pictures of his characters: Roland, and the man in black to name a few. In this edition, Roland seems more determined to reach the tower and fix whatever is going on there. The man in black is all the more mysterious. Are Walter and Martin the same person? Walt tells Roland that he seduced his mother as Martin. Roland says that after Martin left to join the rebels in Farson's army, he noticed a fellow in a black robe and with a shaven head. This ofcourse was Walter. Roland says that Martin never really left, he just changed. Changed what? His shape? His manifestation. Is this symbolic or literal? Some thought provoking stuff, here. All in all, it was a great book. Fantastic stuff all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12