BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dark Tower VI: Song of Susannah

Average Rating 4.5
( 450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(243)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

good book!

I absolutely loved it... The pace seemed apropriately frantic in the way that this book is literally a race for the characters. Susannah/Mio's race to be done with Mia's "chap" and for Jake, Callahan, Eddie and Roland to not only reach Susannah but to save her and the R...
I absolutely loved it... The pace seemed apropriately frantic in the way that this book is literally a race for the characters. Susannah/Mio's race to be done with Mia's "chap" and for Jake, Callahan, Eddie and Roland to not only reach Susannah but to save her and the Rose.

I will admit i felt it was kind of obnoxious for the writer to include himself as a character. I was surprised that unlike most authors who write versions of themselves as some dashing sort of know it all King actually made himself a normal guy. someone who is just as bewildered as the rest of roland's ka-tet about the coincidences they come across. Someone who is as afraid of writing the journey as those who are making it are of failing. With this little palaver, King casts himself as a simple typewriter, at the whims of whoever is actually directing the players, moving the pieces into position. I feel it is a poor excuse for taking so long to finish this series but also a logical one. Well done and well played.

posted by Wiked_Kity on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

After reading two great books back to back (Wizard and Glass and Wolves of the Calla), I was extremely disappointed with Song of Susannah. What ruined it for me was when Stephen King wrote himself into the book. I was okay with the brief mention in Wolves of the Calla...
After reading two great books back to back (Wizard and Glass and Wolves of the Calla), I was extremely disappointed with Song of Susannah. What ruined it for me was when Stephen King wrote himself into the book. I was okay with the brief mention in Wolves of the Calla. It showed King had a sense of humor; however, he went too far in Song of Susannah. It cheapened the whole story line for me. Oh well, 3 out of the 6 so far have been great. Looking forward to starting the final installment. Let's see how this tale wraps up!

posted by CTK on July 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    At least it is short.

    Song of Susannah is by far the weakest book in the DT series, thankfully it is also one of the shortest. It reads pretty quickly which is good because all the negatives written elsewhere are pretty much true, but you need the information Song of Susannah has in it if you plan to finish the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    It was a Great Illusion. Why include yourself Stephen King?

    Great novel up until page 214 when the author writes himself into the story and decimates the whole illusion for me. Now, I am struggling to get back into the story and questioning should I read book #7? Anyone who has read the series please, comment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Susannah ain't singing very well

    I have read Stephen King for almost 25 years of my life and have tolerated poor showings such as Insomnia, and others because of my undying love for the Gunslinger series. But on page 169 of this book I became so completely irritated when, S. King forces his own existence and personality into the story, that I have put the book down. At this point, I'm so completely disinfranchised that I have no desire to continue. This close, and no cigar. Thanks Stephen, thanks a whole bunch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    A typical King novel

    I was fine with the story until Mr. King made an appearance. I thought of all the movies that Alfred Hitchcock made a cameo appearance in. And why didn't Roland grab Stephen by the collar and ask......Listen Sai, when am I ever gonna get to that tower?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    to all TDT constant readers...

    fear not help for this series is on the way. if you have not read TDT VII, please please please read 'the talisman' and 'black house' co-authored with peter straub. you will realize that these two stories tie into the last gunslinger novel, and goody goody, maybe there will be more of jack sawyer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    The worst of the Gunslinger series.

    I didn't enjoy this book at all. It was to short and no where imaginative as the other Gunslinger novels. What happend Mr. King - I was sadly disappointed. I've loved all of the gunslinger novels except this one. Hopefully you'll be back on track with the concluding novel. It just seemed like you hurried through this novel & you didn't spend the time necessary to make it wonderful, thought provoking & exciting all at the same time. Oh well !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    A pair of advid readers of Mr. King

    I and my husband listen to the audios of the dark Tower series together and have immensley enjoyed them thus far until The Song of Susannah.He would rather have heard more of Jake and the priest battling and felt the book was more based soley on the pregnecy of the females. He was so disappointed and also i. There was not the usual intrique to pull you further into the book althou we did finish it and so look forward to the final ending which will be so sad but then there always has to be an end. We are hoping for a happy ending maybe Roland will find his Susan in the dark tower wouldn't that be something. Hopefully Mr King will make the final book more exciting like in the first three books so that we won't want to put it down till its finished.We are both great fans of Mr Kings and will continue reading his fine books, he is a fantastic author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    King Ego Mania!

    I've always appreciated someone who can laugh at themselves - and certainly King has done that by putting himself, so obviously, in his latest Dark Tower installment. However, it's waaay overdone. The few, subtle references to his earlier works were fun, and it was a nice touch to end with his own death (hopefully this means that he will stay out of the way in the last book, although somehow I doubt it) but I would have much much preferred to read more about the Ka-tet and certainly *more* about Father Callahan, Jake and Oy, vs. devoting the last precious 23 pages (of an already too-thin book!) to his own (boring) diary! I'm an avid fan, and I felt ripped off by the ending of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Sloppy, strange and laborious

    This book is all over the place. I can't say that I enjoyed it, per se, but it was oddly compelling. I tired quickly of the Susannah/Mia plotline, which took so many convoluted turns and required so much explanation as to just be a deterrent to my continued reading. Having never really liked Susannah/Detta/Odetta anyway, reading an entire book about her was just short of torture. This was also a work wherein there were too many 'streams of consciousness' moments; it read like a crack addict's journal. I am particularly weary of all the coincidences (word play, numbers, etc.)and Mr.King's repeated allusions to said coincidences. The CRs, to coin King's own term, probably know what I mean: how many times can he write '...Calla, Callahan...' and other inconsequential, sing-song words. Before I'm crucified, however, I would like to point out some of the better elements (few though they may be). I thought including himself (King's self) in the story was interesting, and I liked Roland and Eddie's part in the story immensely. The requisite/gratuitous battle scene was just what I needed to get over the hump, and I liked the newly introduced character who helped them on their way. All in all this was a muddled effort in my opinion, and I hope that the last is much better...this doesn't work for me as a transitory work as did 'The Drawing...' Sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3