Customer Reviews for

The Dark Tower VI: Song of Susannah

Average Rating 4.5
( 449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(242)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

good book!

I absolutely loved it... The pace seemed apropriately frantic in the way that this book is literally a race for the characters. Susannah/Mio's race to be done with Mia's "chap" and for Jake, Callahan, Eddie and Roland to not only reach Susannah but to save her and the R...
I absolutely loved it... The pace seemed apropriately frantic in the way that this book is literally a race for the characters. Susannah/Mio's race to be done with Mia's "chap" and for Jake, Callahan, Eddie and Roland to not only reach Susannah but to save her and the Rose.

I will admit i felt it was kind of obnoxious for the writer to include himself as a character. I was surprised that unlike most authors who write versions of themselves as some dashing sort of know it all King actually made himself a normal guy. someone who is just as bewildered as the rest of roland's ka-tet about the coincidences they come across. Someone who is as afraid of writing the journey as those who are making it are of failing. With this little palaver, King casts himself as a simple typewriter, at the whims of whoever is actually directing the players, moving the pieces into position. I feel it is a poor excuse for taking so long to finish this series but also a logical one. Well done and well played.

posted by Wiked_Kity on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

At least it is short.

Song of Susannah is by far the weakest book in the DT series, thankfully it is also one of the shortest. It reads pretty quickly which is good because all the negatives written elsewhere are pretty much true, but you need the information Song of Susannah has in it if y...
Song of Susannah is by far the weakest book in the DT series, thankfully it is also one of the shortest. It reads pretty quickly which is good because all the negatives written elsewhere are pretty much true, but you need the information Song of Susannah has in it if you plan to finish the series.

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    I didn't want it to end...

    I've been hooked on the Dark Tower series since my first stumbling upon them, which was quite by accident honestly. I'm not an avid King reader, but these books, these characters, and this story have trapped me from the first line and I've been following Roland faithfully ever since. He and the ka-tet haunt my very dreams! While 'Song of Susannah' was a great book, fantastically written and not one iota of disappointment do I have (not to mention that I finished it within a mere two days after my purchase), my only complaint is that I wished it longer. I'm not ready for the end yet. I'm terrified to read the final tale yet ka calls me to it, and I know I will obey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Filler material, like much of a Billy Joel album.

    Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying it wasn't great. It was. I just think it could've been spliced in half and spread back and forth, instead of being an installment on it's own. But cliffhanger, definitely. But far too short to really rave about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Captivating

    I finished this book in 3 days!! As a long time fan, this series is his best yet. It is hard to put down. I can't wait to finish the last one....If it would just show up in the mail... One thing ...one heck of a cliffhanger!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Stephen King continues to delight fans all over the world with h

    Stephen King continues to delight fans all over the world with his masterpieces. The Dark Tower has been a long time coming for me (I've been reading it for a little over three years now) because the books are simply so large, his worlds so vast, and his characters so deep. He does not dissapoint in Song of Susannah. The sixth installment of this legendary series, we follow the events of Susannah as she has to come to terms with delivering her "chap", a demon that threatens to destroy everything Susannah cherishes. Roland and his gang of Gunslingers set out to find her before it is too late, and we are taken on a wild ride through multiple "whens" of our world. Playing around with history and time itself, King continues to amaze his legion of readers and this book, which is cleverly designed and fast paced, is one heck of a good sequel and helps to build toward the final revelation of Stephen King's most prized work.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I just finished this installment of the Dark Tower and I think it is the best one yet. I loved it. I am reading the final Dark Tower book right now and it promises to just as good as Songs of Susannah. Thank you Stephen King for this great adventure. Other Stephen King books I recommend are: It, Desperation, and Insomnia. Enjoy! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    AMAZING

    I actually liked the fact that King added himself. It was interesting to see how he perceived himself as a character. Overall great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Confused enjoyment

    Somehow this book in the series was the most and least suspenseful for me. I can't wait to read book seven but will be so sad when I'm done. Thank goodness for the extra volume being released this spring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Another Great King Masterpiece

    Fantastic.

    This book in the continuing series was riviting. I lost a lot of sleep because I couldn't put it down. I didn't start reading the "dark tower" series until a couple of years ago. I wanted to read them back to back. It's been a great adventure and I can't wait until the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Book six of seven in the series

    Steven King goes right into where book five leaves off in this one a baby if you want to call it is born and want happens in between the time this happens is where Steven King is at his best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    By request

    Daughter requested this book for Christmas. She has the entire series, so we assume she enjoyed it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    Incredible, can't wait for the final book

    As part 6 of Stephen King's 7 part Dark Tower Series, this book is incredible and makes me glad that I purchased book 7 with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    At first I thought this book would be so boring and extremly stupid but

    boy was I shocked.I lovvvvvve this book!!! It honestly is one of the greatest series Iv'e ever read it.Even though this book is fantasy it feels real when I read it . My mom reccomended it to me.Now she says I'm addicted. I love the relationship of Susannah and Eddie.It is so beautiful and strong.Overall even if you only loved one type of book you will grow to love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    love The all!

    Ilove this book and find it a great addition to the series. I LOVE the way that Mr. King has entered the story and gone on to finish the series. I wish there was more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    One of his best

    I juat bought the book like 2 weeks ago and i just finished it today. I have never finished a book that fast. It is a gripping page turner, and hard to put down. A little bit of a let down at the end since all it says is the baby is born and thats the end. I now have to go get the last DT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Best DT to date.

    Of all the DT books to date this has been the hardest to put down. The action is fast and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    The Most Compelling Series

    This series has compelled me more than others, except maybe Potter. This installment was a funfilled ride that focused mostly on troubling Susannah. It makes me want to read the finale even sooner. I hope to God that King keeps turning out his fiction. The fiction that has changed the literary fantasy of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    from a fan named Mik

    this is by far the most complex and mind boggling Dark Tower of them all so far and i think the best, also by far. i love how he ties himself in with his own story and how so many of his books are involved. i am excited and sad to see it all end so soon, though. im dying to know what is at the top of the dark tower (is it really empty???) also King has stated that roland will NOT make it to the Tower. . . . i wonder how he dies, if he does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    A great read for fans of the series.

    But.........there I said it! But, I can't believe he wrote the entire book about Suzanna and still never got to the birth! Heaven help us if he doesn't squeeze some conclusions; to some of the story lines into the final volume. I was afraid that the insertion of himself into the story was going to result in one of those 'It was all in their head's' kind of endings and was gratified that it did not and also did not come off corny at all. Can't wait for the final volume even though I feel sort of sad that these characters will not be out there in the future. Can we hope for some Prequels about Rolands time before the world moved on, or dare we hope that the final volume will leave the door open for more exploration of the worlds and beams. I had never read a King book before The Gunslinger, and it hooked me harder than Mike Tyson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Outstanding

    A compelling and philosophical addition to an extraordinary series of nearly unrivaled novels. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    WOW!!

    This has to be the best book King has written. Ie will keep you guessing at every page. The cliffhanger has to be his best ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13