Customer Reviews for

The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower

Average Rating 4.5
( 588 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dear Constant Readers

Look, this book can not possibly please everyone. It's not a fairytale. Nobody lives happily ever after. The sheer scope of the DT series is amazing. I am pleased with the book and if you don't like it, tough. He didn't write for you. He wrote for himself. We thankya bi...
Look, this book can not possibly please everyone. It's not a fairytale. Nobody lives happily ever after. The sheer scope of the DT series is amazing. I am pleased with the book and if you don't like it, tough. He didn't write for you. He wrote for himself. We thankya big-big storyteller.

posted by Anonymous on September 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The end of a 20 year adventure

I loved having the opportunity to read this book - I've been following the fates of these characters since I was 13 years old - 20 years later - no one could have been more excited than I to FINALLY reach the Tower. I will admit, it's not the ending I was hoping for but...
I loved having the opportunity to read this book - I've been following the fates of these characters since I was 13 years old - 20 years later - no one could have been more excited than I to FINALLY reach the Tower. I will admit, it's not the ending I was hoping for but the book is an amazing ride for those who enjoy the journey - I was feeling cathartic till the last 4 pages....now, I need a drink..*sigh*

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 589 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Dear Constant Readers

    Look, this book can not possibly please everyone. It's not a fairytale. Nobody lives happily ever after. The sheer scope of the DT series is amazing. I am pleased with the book and if you don't like it, tough. He didn't write for you. He wrote for himself. We thankya big-big storyteller.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Great ending - well done!

    SPOILER ALERT - I know a lot of people hated the ending, but what did you expect? I thought the ending was perfect. At first, I wondered why punish Roland - what did he do wrong? He saved the beams, the tower, and killed the Crimson King. What else could he have done? Why make him repeat the past - what lesson does he need to learn? These are all the questions Stephen King wants you to consider. He is doomed to repeat the past until he gets it right. How I thought the book was going to end was with Stephen King as Gan sitting in the top room of the tower writing the ending and having "palaver" with Roland. I am glad that was not the case. It ended as it should with the classic line "The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed". Perfect!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    I love you SK and Hate you all at once

    By page 404 I was in tears! When I got to the end...of course I kept going to see what Roland finds..I wanted to toss you out the window. How can you leave me this way!! But I have to say what an ingenious ending to a wonderful series. I so love Jake, Eddie and Suzannah!!! I will miss them, but glad all turned out...It's been 2 days since I finished the Dark Tower and the ending is still on my mind. Thank you Mr. King for a wonderful journey!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING STORY!

    *Before I write a review you need to understand that Stephen King is a great author and he does not just write horror stories. This story is a mix of sci-fi, adventure, romance, thriller, and action. It is simply epic. I am a big Stephen King fan but it all began by reading the Dark Tower series.. This is the final book of the series and it is such a great story that I was left wanting more. (Good thing The Wind Through The Keyhole is coming out in a few months!) This hardcover edition will make an excellent addition to your library whether you are a Stephen King collector or not!
    If you have never heard of the Dark Tower before you need to begin by picking up a copy of The Gunslinger first..

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    The end of a 20 year adventure

    I loved having the opportunity to read this book - I've been following the fates of these characters since I was 13 years old - 20 years later - no one could have been more excited than I to FINALLY reach the Tower. I will admit, it's not the ending I was hoping for but the book is an amazing ride for those who enjoy the journey - I was feeling cathartic till the last 4 pages....now, I need a drink..*sigh*

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    To be honest, Steven King gave you all the option you had the go

    To be honest, Steven King gave you all the option you had the good happy ending and you could have stopped there so I don't know why so many people complain about reading on when he clearly warns you will be dissapointed in the book and that it would be tragic. That said I actually really liked the ending and wanted to have that chill going down my spine, after all it is a horror book and the reason why I read them. Love it all and I loved the epic last line.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Fantastic

    The Gunslinger series are the best books Stephen King has written in my opinion. You must read all of his other books first though. He has incorporated characters in to this series. The man is a genius!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Poor End To 25 Years Of Work.

    After all those years and a great start to end like this is a tragedy. Feels like King ran out of story and felt he just had to finish it. The final where they actually reached the Tower was a complete throw away.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    Ruined

    Steven King takes the easy way out and ruins the entire dark tower series in the process. The ending of the book is clearly out of line with the rest of the series, and makes the hours spent reading all seven books a big waste of time. If only Tolkien had written the series-it truly would have been great.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Love it!

    Great audio book, I listen in my car through my iPhone,hooked to the radio. I just say Serri play "The Dark Tower," then she plays it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Incredible

    I loved the entire series, but like many others I was disapointed at the ending--until I thought about it a bit. Then I realized given the fluid nature of time and space and events as presented in the series, all the improbable coincidences, as well the inherent magic in Roland's world-- the ending was perfect. A dark tower, a dark quest and a dark anti-hero. A dark tale. Roland is given hope at the end as well as the blessing of forgetting. Perhaps he has more tasks than saving the beam, who can say? He serves the white does he not? He is a under the dominion of Ka and understands this better than any other charecter.
    There were plenty of hints in the series that the ending might be difficult--or unexpected when I reread it.
    A great series from a great writer

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Great series!

    A lot of people complain about the ending being anti-climactic, which I would absolutely agree with if this were a traditional action-adventure story. However, this book, and indeed the entire series, is not a traditional adventure tale. This series is a story about telling stories, and the point King makes is that stories, for as long as people are reading them, telling them, etc. will never end, hence the "anti-climactic" ending. King's hope is that he has created a tale, much like "Lord of the Rings", that readers will want to revisit again and again. One of the aspects of this series that I really enjoyed was the almost self-referential nature of the narrative. Why else would King insert himself into the story if it wasn't to blur the line between fiction and reality? At first I was irritated by the King character, but King the author took it in a direction I never expected, and ultimately made it very satisfying. A great series that, based on what King had set up, ended the only way it could.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    A Fitting Finale to the Series

    I've spent several years reading the Dark Tower series, and have a fondness for King's writing style. When reading through the series, you also read how King's writing has matured and grown into the role of the famous author over the years. This final chapter of his gunslinger tale, his magnum opus, is no disappointment. The momentum of the first six books have prepped the reader for an ever-escalating trip to finally scratch that itch created in reading the tale of Roland and his tunnel-visioned quest to reach the tower. If you're a King fan, it's a must-read. If you love westerns, sci-fi, horror, or just losing yourself in the tale of someone else, this is a great book. I'm just sad it finally came to an end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book series was never a let down to begin with

    stephen king has one more dark tower book to be published and its called the wind thru the key hole its going to finish this book series for good this book series is amazing from begining to the very end its way better than the twilight saga in my opinon it is way better than the twilight saga

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Loved the Ending!

    I don't understand why people didn't love the last few pages. If you are not a constant reader, you didn't get it, I guess. It just made me go back and re-read every book with the dark tower references to it. The ending was PERFECTION...There are other worlds than these. I thought that the ending was a true character revelation of the Gunslinger. It revealed .... ALL! Loved this book and the series and most everything that Steve writes. (I must be on a first name basis after all these years of him being in my head).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    awesome!

    i have to admit the first time i read this last book of a very long story i felt a little let down. i have since reread it all and now believe that it was the perfect end to a story that really never ends!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Ending!

    The seventh and final book in The Dark Tower series is in many ways a combination of all the previous Dark Tower books. King draws from past events, themes, and characters while weaving them into this highly entertaining novel. That being said, The Dark Tower is mainly an action adventure story most closely resembling The Waste Lands (with a more satisfactory ending). Roland and his ka-tet travel through multiple wheres and whens in this story that leads them finally to the Dark Tower itself. Whether they all make it to the tower or not I will leave for you to discover. Just know that King does take you there and his descriptions of the tower (and possibly what's inside) I found to be satisfactory. I didn't think they were amazing, earth shattering, or mind bending. After 3700 pages from the previous books through this one I don't know that I'd be entirely happy with any ending. I found it hard to let the characters go. Alas it does end and I couldn't recommend a book or series of books more to a reader than The Dark Tower.

    PS The Wind Through The Key Hole

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a great book

    I liked the series, it took me years to read it. Got interested when my high school teacher (5 yrs ago) gave me song of susannah to read. The ending isn't bad either. I bet most people don't get the ending and there for don't like it. But Stephen King gave Roland a SECOND chance. Where as he never had the horn before, he had then. That's what I believe anyways.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    Very enjoyable.

    This was a great ending for the series, some people might not like it, but definatly a Steven King ending.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Worst book of the series!

    Did not like the ending. Stephen King should have known better. I have read all of the series with such exciting anticipation for Roland to reach the Tower only to have it (the Tower) to be such a disappointment.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 589 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30