Customer Reviews for

The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower

Average Rating 4.5
( 588 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dear Constant Readers

Look, this book can not possibly please everyone. It's not a fairytale. Nobody lives happily ever after. The sheer scope of the DT series is amazing. I am pleased with the book and if you don't like it, tough. He didn't write for you. He wrote for himself. We thankya bi...
Look, this book can not possibly please everyone. It's not a fairytale. Nobody lives happily ever after. The sheer scope of the DT series is amazing. I am pleased with the book and if you don't like it, tough. He didn't write for you. He wrote for himself. We thankya big-big storyteller.

posted by Anonymous on September 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The end of a 20 year adventure

I loved having the opportunity to read this book - I've been following the fates of these characters since I was 13 years old - 20 years later - no one could have been more excited than I to FINALLY reach the Tower. I will admit, it's not the ending I was hoping for but...
I loved having the opportunity to read this book - I've been following the fates of these characters since I was 13 years old - 20 years later - no one could have been more excited than I to FINALLY reach the Tower. I will admit, it's not the ending I was hoping for but the book is an amazing ride for those who enjoy the journey - I was feeling cathartic till the last 4 pages....now, I need a drink..*sigh*

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Poor End To 25 Years Of Work.

    After all those years and a great start to end like this is a tragedy. Feels like King ran out of story and felt he just had to finish it. The final where they actually reached the Tower was a complete throw away.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Worst book of the series!

    Did not like the ending. Stephen King should have known better. I have read all of the series with such exciting anticipation for Roland to reach the Tower only to have it (the Tower) to be such a disappointment.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Forgot the story?

    I hated this book! I expected more from Mr. King. I absolutely LOVED The Song of Susannah and Wolves of the Calla. They were inventive, smart and cool. I loved their time in the Calla and their time in the underground tunnels was fantastic, very exciting, great stories. It wasn't just losing 'the two' but also it seemed just an easy ending, giving up the story. I still love King though and I'm working up to reading them all again without the long delays in between. My next least favorite one was Wizard and Glass. So slow and alittle boring, I thought. I fell in love with all the characters and I almost liked them running into SK himself but it was alittle too out of character.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    DISSAPOINTED

    Being a huge fan of Stephen King, and being a bigger fan of the Dark Tower series, I was very dissappointed with the last book. I hope he has not lost his edge in writing novel.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    The tragic conclusion of the Dark Tower

    Dark Tower VII had a promising beginning and a disappointing end. I expected much more out of the end of the great Dark Tower series. I thought that books 1,2,3,and 5 were the best. Mr. King could easily have given the long series a pleasant ending yet chose not to. Some parts of the book also didn't seem to have too much of a point(The fiemalo,fumalo,famlo part comes to mind). Also I was displeased with the unceremonious death of the great Randall Flagg. This was the being that brought the world of The Stand to it's knees and he is easily killed by newcomer Mordred. Also the end of The Crimson King is quick and too easy. I don't know about other readers but after putting in months of reading, a happy ending suits me just fine. The deaths of Eddie, Jake, and Oy were very disturbing. You go through the entire series coming to love and know these charaters.In DT 7 most of the main people are quickly killed off. Alas, looking back at the epic Dark Tower series, I'll choose to remember books 1,2,3, and 5, maybe a little bit of six. Seven however, I think I will choose to ignore and remember happier times of the series. I have to admit King is still one of my favorite writers, even though some of his later books were disappointing such as this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    A major disappointment

    Although I only started The Dark Tower series a month or two ago, I can't believe I went through those thousands of pages for this. In my opinion, the series got off to a promising start, building with each successive addition through Books III and IV (far and away the best two of the series), only to begin to decline slightly in Book V, fall off the face of the earth with Book VI, and only a slight improvement with Book VII. I think that Mr. King got a little nervous after his accident that he might not be around to let the books come to him, as he suggested they did in Book VI. It seems as though the last three volumes were forced, and therefore didn't live up to the groundwork already lain. I would still say the series as a whole is worth the read, if only just to experience Books III and IV, but I found the ending to this series to be terribly disappointing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2004

    sad

    I'm so disappointed. I was looking forward to reading the final book of the dark tower series, and now that I've finished the book I just feel very sad. I found it distracting how SK put himself into the story and the ending was a huge let down.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    Cheap Ending

    In Misery, King complains about a movie that cheats on the ending and he felt short changed. That is exactly how I felt about the dark tower series. He got lazy and used his past ideas for the ending. The first four books were great and it all went downhill from there. He was on the verge of completing a great body of work and ruined it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    No FAIR!!!

    This tale ran on and on and on, the first of King's works I've ever read (and I read them all) that would benefit from abridgment. At the end, Roland and Susannah do things completely out of character, and the final outcome of the tower is a lazy, cheap way out. Come on, King, you can do better than this!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    WTF?

    I loved the series all the way up until the last chapter of this book (even with him writing himself into it). It leaves you with nothing but questions that you now know will never EVER be answered and all because the once magnificently gifted author got tired of writing. How lame.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2004

    Rush Job, Pretentious, a Disappointment

    Like many others who read the Dark Tower, I started at the beginning, The Gunslinger, and worked my way through. I eagerly awaited the last three books in the 'cycle,' and snapped them up when they arrived at my local library. Not only that, but after I was hooked (read: after The Wastelands), I diligently read all of the DT-related books, Insomnia, The Regulators, etc., and even reread some of S.K.'s works that I hadn't known were connected to the DT. I started getting worried when King wrote himself into the story, but I read on. I started getting really worried when the last 5/6's of The Dark Tower started feeling like something an old, tired writer dumped down over a weekend. I was furious when I read the end, but also happy, because I was finally done with this increasingly self-indulgent, abrasively psuedo-metaphysical wreck of a series. King layed down the framework for an uber-epic with books #1-5, but he dropped the ball at the end. The Dark Tower was written by someone scrambling to pull himself out a quagmire, and willing to climb over anyone in is way, especially great characters who deserved better. Despite what the Great Sage and Eminent Philosopher Steven King might think, the destination is at least as important as the journey, and a happy (or at least satisfying) ending does not reduce the power or value of a story. My advice is not to give any more money to Mr. King - borrow this book first. Still, King is very good at being very popular, and not totally without reason. The first four DT books were great. The irony of the thing is that the best novel he's written is The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, a book about a fourth the size of DT#7, and about ten times as exciting, scary, and fulfilling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Disappointing is not a strong enough word

    I may not have the 20+ Years invested into the story of Roland and his ka-tet, but the ending of this story is just an insult not just to myself but anyone that has followed the series. The first 4 books were excelent, but when reports come out after his unfortunate incident that some readers had jokingly remarked more concerned with the culmination of the Dark Tower Series than Mr King's own well being. For that reason alone I personally feel that the ending of this wonderfull series was a major slap in the face to the dedicated readers that have wated over 20 years to see Roland reach the top of the Tower. How else can you explain taking 15 years to write 4 books and then only 15 months to write the last 3.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Disappointing

    I have read every Stephen King book ever written and have forgiven him killing off Tad in Kujo and have forgiven him killing the baby, mother and dad in Pet Sematary and various and other heartless acts within his books but I'll never forgive him for letting Roland get to the tower only to have to begin again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Dismall

    I have spent the last year reading this series. Having just finished this book, i felt like i was reading something written by another person. At times it was actually foolish. Perhaps s.k. simply became as bored with the caracters as i did. Frankly the whole series is overrated.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Not sure what to say

    While I didn't really like certain things King did in the past books(including himself in the story springs to mind) I looked past it, I accepted it an tried to enjoy that story anyway. This worked for a while, in fact I thought the first half of this book was really enjoyable. At about the midway point though is where it seems like he just wanted to get it over with. Battles that could hardly be called battles and the way King decides he needs to admonish people who actually want to see whats in the tower makes him look really arrogant. I still enjoyed my journey with the series but it definitely made me look at Stephen King in a different light, and not in a good way.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Disappointing to say the least!

    King had a wonderful epic going on and he ends it with arrogance and a non caring attitude towards his readers who have been loyal to him. He puts himself into the story. WHATS UP WITH THAT? The series had been wonderful and I couldnt wait for the last book. Now I wished I was still waiting. What a hateful way to end this. He total disrespected the characters he created. What a waste. Were you tired Mr King? If you were why did you finish the book? Why not wait until you were really inspired? It's my opinion. I am sure others will disagree.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Dark Tower VII Needs help

    I put a lot of time into reading the Dark Tower series, only to become fully disappointed with Dark Tower VII. Did SK fall asleep while trying to find a conculsion to this epic? Perhaps Dark Tower VII needs to be reworked, or better still, Dark Tower VIII needs to be written...C'mon King, you owe us a better ending or a new beginning.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am sorry but that was just ridiculous. All the time and devotion I put into reading that series and for WHAT!!!! STEPHEN KING, You were absolutey WRONG for doing that to your loyal readers. I will be forever leary of picking up another book for fear of EXTREME let down. I do not think I could handle another let down like that. The series was great a little slow but really good the ending was JUST PLAIN WRONG

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    sigh . . .

    Somewhere between the great promise of the first volume and this tired conclusion, sai King forgot the face of his father.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    very disappointed

    I wish I hadn't read the ending of this book. King let his readers down. I agree with another reviewer by saying I should have stopped reading this series after the fourth book. It went downhill from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2