Customer Reviews for

The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower

Average Rating 4.5
( 590 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(396)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dear Constant Readers

Look, this book can not possibly please everyone. It's not a fairytale. Nobody lives happily ever after. The sheer scope of the DT series is amazing. I am pleased with the book and if you don't like it, tough. He didn't write for you. He wrote for himself. We thankya bi...
Look, this book can not possibly please everyone. It's not a fairytale. Nobody lives happily ever after. The sheer scope of the DT series is amazing. I am pleased with the book and if you don't like it, tough. He didn't write for you. He wrote for himself. We thankya big-big storyteller.

posted by Anonymous on September 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Poor End To 25 Years Of Work.

After all those years and a great start to end like this is a tragedy. Feels like King ran out of story and felt he just had to finish it. The final where they actually reached the Tower was a complete throw away.

posted by GreenDragen on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    The end of a 20 year adventure

    I loved having the opportunity to read this book - I've been following the fates of these characters since I was 13 years old - 20 years later - no one could have been more excited than I to FINALLY reach the Tower. I will admit, it's not the ending I was hoping for but the book is an amazing ride for those who enjoy the journey - I was feeling cathartic till the last 4 pages....now, I need a drink..*sigh*

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    LEAVE THIS ONE ON THE SHELF

    I am a LOYAL King fan, but I cannot recommend this book. It's almost as if Stephen got LAZY and gave up!

    TOTALLY disappointed.

    Pick up UNDER THE DOME instead...CLASSIC KING AT HIS BEST!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    This was a let down.

    I was very disappointed in the Way this series ended. After all the big build up from all the previous books throughout the years and then Bam. The Ending did not do the characters or the Writer justice. There needed to be one more book to finish.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Acceptable ending...but...

    Looking back on the series I was really fine with everything until he wrote himself into the story. I just couldn't stand that turn. It brought me out of the mythical world of Roland's and into boring everyday life. This ruined the sixth and seventh books for me as they were the last escapes from the real world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    Sad

    Mr. King's final book in the epic journey has come to it's final, gasping for air end. You should read books 1-4 but stop after that. King's near death experience kept him from honoring this tale's end.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    A long journey to a short close

    I have read the dark tower series for ten years, have anticipated each of the newwer books and bought them the day they were released, and have never been more dissapointed by the ending. While clever, it is not the twist that leaves you wanting more, but a twist that leaves a sour taste in your mouth. The series is excellent, the storytelling is fabulous, but skip the pages after the coda and you will miss the dissapointment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    Masochistic

    I've been with this series from the begining, and it's always been one of my favorites. And I've read A LOT of King's work, so I went into this last book with the expectation that one or all of the main characters would die before the end. I expected this book to be a tough read. And it was. I had to put the book down every now and then before continuing. It is very emotionally draining. That being said, it's also a good story. However, like many readers, I disliked the ending. Intellectually, I understand why it worked, even why it had to end the way it did, but I felt that the ending demeaned all the characters and the sacrifices they made. The end result - although this series has been one of my favorites, and my other books are tattered from wear, I don't think I'll ever want to reread it. It's just too painful. I didn't even want the book in my house after finishing it. To readers who have read the rest of the series and will NEED to finish it, I make this recommendation: Before the final ending pages, King stops and encourages you to go no further. Opt out and skip the last few pages. Seriously, I hate that I'll never be able to go back and revisit these characters after knowing how it all ended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Dissapointing

    Not Kings best work!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    what might have been?

    mr. king forgot the face of rolands father, where was ka in this one mr. king? you left what was for me anyway one of the finest. stories ever put to print, to die a lonely ugly death, this story needed to come to a finish clean, unmuddled and with respect to roland who i lived with for all those years only to be left cold and hungry and extremely disappointed. the gunslinger is an enigma a force to be reconded with, this final book in the series was at best sad! mr. king lost the tread that held the story together, the man who hit mr. king with his vehicle robbed mr. king of much, but cost fans of roland the last gunslinger seeker of dark towers the truth in how the story might truely have ended!!! still if you have invested all the time and effort you must go here. even though disappointment awaits!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Closure to a Long Series.....maybe......

    This book was much better than 5 & 6, which were slow reads. The start of it had plenty of action and towards the end also had some good action but the ending just leaves you sitting there. Having King put himself into the series made it interesting and sheds more light into his accident back in 1999. On the down side, of the book and series, book 4 was well written but 4-6 did not seem neccessary. And some characters just seemed to appear and disappear through this book. At times it got really confusing but it read much faster than the previous 2. I would rate it higher but it had all this build up with what seemed like a lot of filler. But then again writing that much would take a lot of filler. My suggestion would be to finish them if you have started (book 7 is worth it if only to get to the end) and not to put it on the top of my list if you have not. The series can wait in my opinion. But I would say the first 2 books were the best of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    End of the Dark Tower

    The final book of the Dark Tower series leaves a lot to be desired. The ending was a let down to an already declining story since the 4th book 'The Wastelands'. I found the resolutions for each character lacking. If Patrick can draw anything out of or into existence, why can't he draw Susannah with legs? Mordred was too easily dispatched, for Roland's greatest threat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    disappointing end to a great series

    I didn't like this last book as much as the others in the DT series for several reasons, the main one being the deaths of certain characters (those who've read it will know what I'm talking about). I can understand that they were necessary to the ending of this book, but that doesn't mean I have to be happy about them! But ultimately, I was very disappointed and angry at the ending King wrote - and although it has a certain degree of hope (the horn), I felt it was a very weak ending to what was such a strong volume of work. I also didn't like the fact that King included himself so much in the last 3 books of the series - I felt making himself a god-like figure was just a tad arrogant. But I think King realized this himself, which is why he made his character so unlikeable. Overall, I'd still recommend this series of books to others, as I believe books 1-4 were outstanding, and books 5 & 6 were also pretty great. Yet I would warn them - and any who might be reading this - not to get their hopes up for book 7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2004

    Elvis is King!!!

    King slows down a little here. I didn't feel that this book kept up with the others. I can't pin it down. It felt slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3