Customer Reviews for

Dark Towers Boxed Set

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    Amazing Series

    My older brother got me into this series and I have NEVER been more entertained. In my list of favorites, this series ranks as number one, far above anything else I've read. King creates a stunning world that I simply got lost in and want to revisit again and again and again. Some nights I was a little bit scared to go to bed after reading it and some nights I couldn't even put it down. The characters were completely stunning and orginal and the twisting, warped worlds in which Roland and Co. traveled were freaky and, at the same time, completely addicting. Its most certantly a good read and I would recommend this series to anyone who has a taste for the fantastic, creepy, brilliant, and weird.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Stephen King has done it again...

    I have been an avid reader of Mr Kings books since I first read Pet Semetary at the age of 12, and when I saw the first book of this series, I picked it up and started reading, but found that I couldnt put it down. After what seemed like an eternity, the second book followed, and again the remainder...but it always seemed like forever until the next book came. Once I finished the Seventh book, I was floored! I had to start them all over again and read the series again. I own every book, and many books with his short stories, that Stephen King has written, and I will always be on the lookout for the next great story from this master storyteller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    In My Collection Till The Day I Die

    Stephen King can do no wrong! I have only read "'Salem's Lot" before this, but boy I never expected such a small idea to have such a big plot and big affect on me. I love how Stephen King can make such a ridiculously obvious fake world seem so real! Every time I open the book I immediately leap back in. Slow moments of the book? what slow moment. The entire book of every insallment in the series is a thriller that keeps your mind involved. I could read this book all day without ever stopping. If my parents would only stop calling me to dinner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Amazing

    This series is fantastic!! I loved it from the beginning to the end. Stephen King does it again with his amazing use of language. Over the years, writing has gotten worse, but King brings it all the way back up! This series is thrilling and you won't be able to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    By Far the BEST!!!

    I started reading The Dark Tower when i was in 9th grade and ever since then I started a small library of my own with Stephen King's books. I love him! I love the way he opens up another world in your imagination, I used to spend nights reading chapter after chapter, I acctually found my self dreaming about the story one night. He is a master!! The series is more than worth the wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    stephen king rocks!

    this is one of my fave stephen king books of all time & i have ALL of his books from the beginning, even an old copy of eye of the dragon in paperback that i found at a flea market. the dark tower is so good that one of king's faithful readers emailed him & told him if he didn't hurry up & write another book in the series he was going to kill him! LOL (the guy was joking of course, just being macabre like king...but i think king got it! LOL it was a long, long time between books it seemed but they were always well worth the wait. as always for me, the parallel-world-thing is awesome & the ever-present war between good & evil is completely enthralling. i never wanted this series to end & i was a tad disappointed in the ending but overall, it's just great reading especially if one likes to bury him/herself in a book & escape for awhile! READ THIS--YOU WON'T REGRET IT! my all-time fave of king's is the talisman written w/peter straub...i really loved that book! read it, too, if you want to go on a fantastic journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    THE BEST I'VE EVER READ

    I have never gotten wrapped up so totally into a collection of books before the Dark Tower series. Its twists and turns kept me literally from being able to put it down. After reading the first installment (The Gunslinger) i went and purchased the rest of the series right away. Each books takes you deeper and deeper into the thrilling world saga the way only Stephen King can. The Characters are harrowing, and the mysteries are unparalleled. I can honestly say i was sad when it ended, and have compared every book i have read since to it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    High recommendation - classic Stephen King!

    I absolutely love having an entire series to follow from my favorite author! Completely engrossing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    I remembered why I love to read!

    I began in the middle, with The Wastelands in 1996. I picked it up at a Wal-Mart on an exhausting trip to bury my Grandmother. I WAS HOOKED!
    These books have saved my life at times - it's true! I have been so stressed and depressed at times, and the ONLY thing I could do to calm down was read the Dark Tower series. Also, it's a comfort knowing that strange and absurd thoughts pop into other people's heads besides my own.

    I just don't see this EVER being transformed for movies, or television. I don't think any movie studio could get it right! Besides, it's so much more fun to imagine the characters and scenes just using the descriptives in the books! I am just glad he didn't retire after this series was complete. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Series!

    I'm not a huge reader. Most of the time, I'll just wait for the movie interpretation to be released and watch that. However, The Dark Tower series by Stephen King is fantastic. These books drew me in and didn't let go. The stories are great, the characters are fantastic and the locations will take you to the far reaches of Mid-World as well as the streets of Manhattan.

    This is definitely Stephen King's magnum opus. I'm half way through the fifth entry in The Dark Tower series and I am surprised that (although there is a significant fan base out there) more people haven't been drawn into the quest for the Dark Tower. The main character, Roland Deschain, is one of the best protagonists I've ever encountered and I will most definitely read his tales over and over again throughout my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    blah

    I only ready about 10-15 chapters of the first book "The gunslinger" the dark tower I and I couldnt even get into the book. It was just so boring and didnt have any kind of a forming plot at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Timeless

    Excellent this books were written before i was born, but i love books that connect to other works, the dark tower is exactly that, original fiction, the opening words capture you and you cant let go after that, I'm on the fourth book and ordered the last 3 so i don't have to go a day waiting to know what happens next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    A good beginning to the series

    This series is one of my favorites, and each book has its ups and downs- I The Gunslinger A bit confusing at times (doesn't seem like a Stephen King book), but in my opinion better than the revised edition. I think it is the perfect beginning for the series. II The Drawing of the Three Continuing Roland's 'journey'. This book has little to do with the actual 'quest for the Tower', and the title pretty much sums up the whole book (still an excellent read). This book has a lot of action (much more than book I). III The Waste Lands Where the adventure REALLY begins. Now that Roland has 'drawn' his three to form a 'ka-tet', he can truly start on his quest. A very descriptive book, The Waste Lands takes you to a variety of environments and situations, which is why this is one of my favorite books. The ending is a big cliffhanger. IV Wizard and Glass Roland and his ka-tet continue on their journey. The cliffhanger from book III is handled. The main chunk of this book (over 1/2) describes Roland's past. The ending is sort of quick and abrupt, but it is sort of throws a character at you that you weren't expecting. All in all, if you want to read this series, I would reccommend starting from book I (the original) and reading through to book VII. If you are someone who doesn't have the time to read all seven lengthy novels, each book (up until V) has an arguement (summary) of the books that preceded it. This way, it is possible to start at book V and then read to VII. If you can't read them all, I would read them in this order: I, V, VI, and VII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    great - yet not for everyone

    some people might not want (or be able) to follow along with these books, but that's why they're so good. You cannot help but love Roland, and King works hard to make you truly feel for him when all these terrible things happen to him. You can really suspend reality while reading these, and maybe even wish some of it was real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    i loved this series

    it was just what i wanted. Action, Adventure, Suspense, Horror, and Grief all mixed into one. it took me a couple months to get and read all the books and i was happy i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    The Dark Tower Series

    This box set along with the remaining three books of the series in essence are Steven King's versions of reality. Combining most of his literary works, expirences, and imaginations into an epic series. If you loved Clint Eastwood, The Knights of the Round table, The Wizard of Oz, than you will definetly love this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Simply the Best

    King's excellence continues... I've read a number of his books now, and they just get better and better. The Dark Tower series masterfully written~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    I am glad I read this series.

    King did an awesome job with this series. Ive read all the books and all I can say is the ending may be the most frightening thing I have ever read. I hope there is a God so that things like that don¿t really happen to people. Anyway, great character build up. I actually cared about each of them. The story went directions I never thought it would. There were some things I would have liked to be different but then again I did not write the story. Read it and go on a journey, make some new friends. Awesome, awesome story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    Completely Compelling Story

    I can not say enough wonderful things about this series, much less comment on the individual books themselves. I have read the complete set of Dark Tower books and highly recommend reading them in order, otherwise you will be quite confused. I love Oy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6