Customer Reviews for

Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I adored last year's GRAVE MERCY, and I've been so excited for t

I adored last year's GRAVE MERCY, and I've been so excited for the release of DARK TRIUMPH.  I was lucky enough to participate in the Blog Tour for this fantastic sequel, which never let me down and was everything I wanted it to be--and more.  Can readers pick up DARK T...
I adored last year's GRAVE MERCY, and I've been so excited for the release of DARK TRIUMPH.  I was lucky enough to participate in the Blog Tour for this fantastic sequel, which never let me down and was everything I wanted it to be--and more.  Can readers pick up DARK TRIUMPH without having read GRAVE MERCY?  Yes, absolutely.  DARK TRIUMPH is a self-contained story with an arc of its own.  Would I recommend
reading DARK TRIUMPH before GRAVE MERCY?  No, not really.  Robin LaFevers doesn't spend a lot of time re-introducing characters from the first book who take on a more secondary role this time around, choosing to instead focus on Sybella and her story.  There's also a lot more insight into the daughters of Mortain the first time around.  That isn't to say readers won't still enjoy
DARK TRIUMPH if they pick it up blind, but they won't have as much perspective as they would by reading GRAVE MERCY first.  This also isn't a series with evil cliffhangers that carry from year to year, so readers should feel secure in picking up the book and reading it now without waiting for all three titles to come out.  These are companion novels with interconnecting themes and plots, but the wait won't make you crazy.   If your memory isn't great between books, you'll remember the important stuff as you read, because LaFevers reintroduces elements well.




From the first book, I knew that His Fair Assassin
would surely follow Ismae, Sybella, and Annith, three daughters of Mortain introduced early on in GRAVE MERCY.  I didn't know what else to expect.  DARK TRIUMPH is more intimate than GRAVE MERCY in many ways.  Sybella has been through so much darkness and overcome it all.  I never could have anticipated the multitude of horrors she's faced, and just when I think I've unwrapped the last layer, there's always an even grimmer secret lurking.  I didn't expect the vast scope and depth of DARK TRIUMPH in retrospect to my reading of GRAVE MERCY.  I was always curious about Sybella based on her interactions with Ismae in the first book, but I never imagined the extent of her past.  Her plight is so much more harrowing than I ever thought possible.In fact, I want to go back and re-read GRAVE MERCY just to soak up every glimpse of Sybella now, because I will read those moments entirely differently than I did a year ago.




It's very hard to talk about plot without giving so much away, since intrigue is a big part in what makes the His Fair Assassin
series work so well.  Like with GRAVE MERCY, DARK TRIUMPH revolves around historical elements and figures from the past, combining them with fantasy and mythological lore to create a fascinating story full of romance, heartbreak, deceit, kingdom politics, and more.  In the first book, it is Isame's job to prevent D'Albret from forcing Duchess Anne into marriage.  In the second, we realize that D'Albret is Sybella's father, and even crueler than we could have ever imagined when reading the first book.  The convent of Saint Mortain has returned Sybella to her childhood household as a spy, but being back home rips open all the wounds that Sybella first tried to run away from.  When D'Albret takes the Beast of Waroch prisoner, Sybella is assigned the task of breaking him out, which will force her to sever ties to her family in irrevocable ways.




I had a feeling we'd see the Beast of Waroch make an appearance in DARK TRIUMPH and LaFevers didn't disappoint.  One prediction down, and one to go: Over the past two books, there have been hints of deceit and secrecy coming from within the convent, and I fully expect MORTAL HEART to sink into this issue when it releases next year, especially since it revolves around sheltered Annith's journey.  I definitely wouldn't recommend this series to younger readers because it can be very mature, but I would recommend it to anyone who wants a captivating fantasy that's easy to fall into.  After I finished reading it, I had so much trouble reading anything else for a while because I was so immersed in LaFever's world, and the same thing happened last year when I read GRAVE MERCY.  Sybella goes through so much more than any human being should have to and you'd think she'd be damaged for life, but through DARK TRIUMPH, she finds away to, well, triumph.  Sybella is an incredibly resilient character that I fell in love with and rooted for over the course of the novel, and I think you will, too.

posted by Bonnie_W on April 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Think before you act.

Though this book is good, its is not as good as the first. Many books are like this. I would strongly suggest you read the sample before buying it. I have made that mistake many times and it is a complete waste of money. But I hope this does not worry you too much. It i...
Though this book is good, its is not as good as the first. Many books are like this. I would strongly suggest you read the sample before buying it. I have made that mistake many times and it is a complete waste of money. But I hope this does not worry you too much. It is good, just do not buy it first. Read the sample.

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I adored last year's GRAVE MERCY, and I've been so excited for t

    I adored last year's GRAVE MERCY, and I've been so excited for the release of DARK TRIUMPH.  I was lucky enough to participate in the Blog Tour for this fantastic sequel, which never let me down and was everything I wanted it to be--and more.  Can readers pick up DARK TRIUMPH without having read GRAVE MERCY?  Yes, absolutely.  DARK TRIUMPH is a self-contained story with an arc of its own.  Would I <i>recommend</i>
    reading DARK TRIUMPH before GRAVE MERCY?  No, not really.  Robin LaFevers doesn't spend a lot of time re-introducing characters from the first book who take on a more secondary role this time around, choosing to instead focus on Sybella and her story.  There's also a lot more insight into the daughters of Mortain the first time around.  That isn't to say readers won't still <i>enjoy</i>
    DARK TRIUMPH if they pick it up blind, but they won't have as much perspective as they would by reading GRAVE MERCY first.  This also isn't a series with evil cliffhangers that carry from year to year, so readers should feel secure in picking up the book and reading it now without waiting for all three titles to come out.  These are companion novels with interconnecting themes and plots, but the wait won't make you crazy.   If your memory isn't great between books, you'll remember the important stuff as you read, because LaFevers reintroduces elements well.




    From the first book, I knew that <i>His Fair Assassin</i>
    would surely follow Ismae, Sybella, and Annith, three daughters of Mortain introduced early on in GRAVE MERCY.  I didn't know what else to expect.  DARK TRIUMPH is more intimate than GRAVE MERCY in many ways.  Sybella has been through so much darkness and overcome it all.  I never could have anticipated the multitude of horrors she's faced, and just when I think I've unwrapped the last layer, there's always an even grimmer secret lurking.  I didn't expect the vast scope and depth of DARK TRIUMPH in retrospect to my reading of GRAVE MERCY.  I was always curious about Sybella based on her interactions with Ismae in the first book, but I never imagined the extent of her past.  Her plight is so much more harrowing than I ever thought possible.In fact, I want to go back and re-read GRAVE MERCY just to soak up every glimpse of Sybella now, because I will read those moments entirely differently than I did a year ago.




    It's very hard to talk about plot without giving so much away, since intrigue is a big part in what makes the <i>His Fair Assassin</i>
    series work so well.  Like with GRAVE MERCY, DARK TRIUMPH revolves around historical elements and figures from the past, combining them with fantasy and mythological lore to create a fascinating story full of romance, heartbreak, deceit, kingdom politics, and more.  In the first book, it is Isame's job to prevent D'Albret from forcing Duchess Anne into marriage.  In the second, we realize that D'Albret is Sybella's father, and even crueler than we could have ever imagined when reading the first book.  The convent of Saint Mortain has returned Sybella to her childhood household as a spy, but being back home rips open all the wounds that Sybella first tried to run away from.  When D'Albret takes the Beast of Waroch prisoner, Sybella is assigned the task of breaking him out, which will force her to sever ties to her family in irrevocable ways.




    I had a feeling we'd see the Beast of Waroch make an appearance in DARK TRIUMPH and LaFevers didn't disappoint.  One prediction down, and one to go: Over the past two books, there have been hints of deceit and secrecy coming from within the convent, and I fully expect MORTAL HEART to sink into this issue when it releases next year, especially since it revolves around sheltered Annith's journey.  I definitely wouldn't recommend this series to younger readers because it can be very mature, but I would recommend it to anyone who wants a captivating fantasy that's easy to fall into.  After I finished reading it, I had so much trouble reading anything else for a while because I was so immersed in LaFever's world, and the same thing happened last year when I read GRAVE MERCY.  Sybella goes through so much more than any human being should have to and you'd think she'd be damaged for life, but through DARK TRIUMPH, she finds away to, well, triumph.  Sybella is an incredibly resilient character that I fell in love with and rooted for over the course of the novel, and I think you will, too.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have totally completely and whole-heartedly fell in love with

    I have totally completely and whole-heartedly fell in love with this series! It combines everything that I love in a book: suspense, romance, strong female characters that can kill twenty ways to sundown, and a huge paranormal vibe going through the story set in a historical fiction.  It is honestly the best of all genres and I am so glad that I jumped into this series head first!




    Okay....I will try to go through this review like a big girl, instead of a fan girl screaming like a maniac.   




    *composes self* 
    *takes deep breath*  




    ILOVETHISFREAKINGBOOKSOMUCH!!!!!!




    Now, I am much better.  




    Dark Triumph is very similar to Grave Mercy but in a lot of ways it is far different too.  In Dark Triumph, Sybella goes through her own hell and really starts to question her belief in Death, especially her place in his world.  Just as Isme went through her personal revelation in Grave Mercy, Sybella has to go through her own as well.  
    But Dark Triumph seems much more darker than Grave Mercy.  Okay, chill out.. I know what you're thinking: &quot; Um they are daughters of Death who kill for a living and as a religion..of course it is dark!!&quot; 
    And you're right the overall series is dark....but Sybella's life really brought the utmost pain to me.  The things this woman has went through, and continues to go through, is beyond what I think any normal woman could live through and still be somewhat sane.  
    Our main female protagonist is one of the strongest characters I have ever read!  I love that she is so dangerous and yet there is this fragility about her that really breaks your heart.  Sybella always has to be on guard because her very existence stays in danger constantly.  And yet even with all this darkness surrounding her, she still finds some things beautiful.  Like her friendship with Isme, her adoration for her younger sisters, and the growing attraction between her and &quot;Beast&quot;.  She is one of the most complex and fulfilling character I have ever read.  There is so much going on with Sybella that you will definitely have an emotional thrill ride with her.  




    Then there is our main male protagonist and I am so glad he is the one that is in this book.  I loved him so much in Grave Mercy and I am thrilled that LaFevers chose Beast as the male equivalent for Sybella.  On the outside, he has these scars and isn't the most beautiful man alive.  Many females run from him just for his looks, when they are perhaps missing out on the most admirable man alive.  Beast was a great guy and I enjoyed reading more about his life too.  




    As I read Dark Triumph, I kept thinking to myself what a small world it really was.  There are so many tie ins for these two characters that it almost seems like fate was involved.  Which could be true?  Who knows?  




    I love that LaFevers took a important event in history and twisted it slightly with a paranormal feel to it.  I also love that she personifies Death, giving him this fatherly personality to him.  It could really be compared to religion in this day and age.  Okay please stop before you get your torches and start screaming &quot;sacrilegious&quot; at me.  Let me explain.....
    You know how you have this faith but these awful things keep happening to you and sometimes your faith wavers, causing you to question your life, your creation, and your very existence.  Well the handmaidens in His Fair Assassin series do this as well.  Throughout the stories these ladies think he has forsaken them (sound familiar?) and in a special moment usually at our rock bottom, we find our faith and we see that our Father was there for us all along.  
    I really just completely fell in love with the similarities that LaFevers gives us when Isme and Sybella question their lives and beliefs  and they find that their father was watching all along.  
    I guess I rambled there a lot but I really had a point and I hoped I made it.  
    Anyways, back to the review.
    LaFevers also does a wonderful job of world building.  She takes this amazing time in history but alternates it to fit the paranormal view of it.  As she writes, I really feel like I am transported back in time with the characters in this historical fiction.  Oh and is it just me but man I would love to have one of those dresses so bad!  




    All in all, Dark Triumph is an overload for our emotions.  We get so many going on: despair, love, fear, hatred, and hope.  But probably most importantly, forgiveness.  There are a few surprises through out the story and we find out who our real enemies are and those that we can truly trust.  
    Also be prepared for a abrupt ending.  I would have loved a little bit more but I guess I will just impatiently wait till the next book.  




    One more thing.  Raise of hands: Who really wants to punch the Reverend Mother all the way back to the convent?  I don't know how much I can take of her until I have to get a punching bag with a picture of her face on it!?!?!




    I had to give Dark Triumph five out of five hearts!  

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of those books that I¿m not sure how to put into wor

    This is one of those books that I’m not sure how to put into words how much I loved it. Grave Mercy was really good but Dark Triumph was to me amazing.
    When we were introduced to Sybella in Grave Mercy I was never very sure if I liked her or not. I thought this person is probably crazy but Ismae had seemed like she trusted her and it made me too. This sounds weird since they are book characters but that is seriously what I thought. Sybella is by no means naive even though she is really a novice assassin. Her tortured life has seen to that and we start off the books with only bits and pieces of what has happened in the past. When things are finally revealed it went beyond even my worst assumptions. She is amazingly strong and hardened and yet she wants to protect the innocent. It didn’t take me long to warm to her character.
    Beast was such a great match up for Sybella and I didn’t care that they kept calling him ugly it didn’t even register on my radar because he is such a great character. I love the way that he is able to banter with Sybella so easily. Plus he just ignores any of her attempts to sway him from having any interest in her. I loved him for it, how could she not too. For a girl who has been so mistreated Beast is like a lifeline, but he is not so far from her own nature that it would make the match unbelievable. They both enjoy battle lust and therefore it’s something that gives them common ground. They can fight side by side or exchange ideas on battle tactics. This is the kind of girl that Beast needs for the lifestyle he leads, rather than someone that waits at home from him. Plus with Sybella being so exposed to the ugliness that beautiful things can hide she easily sees Beast gentle eyes and demeanor even though he is scarred and “ugly”.
    We have a lot of great side characters. Yannic, the loyal gargoyle, had his moments of stealing the show even though he couldn’t even talk. We also have the reappearance of Ismae which at first kind of took me off guard. It was weird not being in Ismae’s head when she was interacting with Sybella. It was nice though to see the two cross paths. You are looking at things from Sybella’s eyes now so it gives it a different take. There is also Julian who for some reason I had a soft spot for, even thought that seemed wrong but I felt like he really cared about Sybella and that their twisted world is what caused the strangeness in their relationship.
    This story had more adventure then Grave Mercy. Where Grave Mercy is set more in the political aspects and the court intrigue this novel is more about being on the field and in the front lines. Sybella and Beast not only spend time in the Lion’s Den but also must cross the countryside to meet up with the Duchess. They also often find themselves engaged in different types of battles as they go along.
    My heart really went out to Sybella in this book and I cannot wait to read Annith’s tale next. Robin created such a wonderful world that it’s easy for me to get lost in. After reading the book I had to take a minute to collect myself and remember that there is no one out to kill me and I don’t live in Brittany.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    I loved the first book and was unsure before starting this one b

    I loved the first book and was unsure before starting this one but I was blown away and read it in just two sittings, I could not put it down!  The story of Sybella envelops you as you learn about her past.  I cannot wait for the third book, but first I will have to read this one a few more hundred times!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    I think I am in love with this series.  I must say that to me bo

    I think I am in love with this series.  I must say that to me book 2 was even better than book 1.  I think maybe because all the world building and the characters were introduced in the first one, so the second could focus more on the story.  This book is from a different point of view, and I loved it.  Loved it!




    Sybella is sent back to her home when she leaves St. Mortain's convent to be a spy in her own fathers home.  Her life is absolutely horrible.  My heart broke for her.  her father is the D.E.V.I.L.  I do not like him at all.  Her brother Julian.  Well, he is a piece of work.  That relationship was messed up on so many levels.   
    I got to get to know the characters even better in this book, and understand the horror of what they have had to go through.  Sybella's life sucks.  I don't know any other way to put it.  She is abused over and over by someone who is suppose to take care of her and love her.  It's just sad and wrong.  
    Sybella is sent a message to find out if Beast is being kept prisoner there and if so, to help him escape.  Sybella does so at the risk of her own life.  When she finds Beast in his cell, he is beaten, bruised, and broken.  They are able to escape and make their way to Ismae, Duval and the Duchess Anne.  There are many obstacles along the way.  This is where we get to see the true beauty of Beast.  
    Beast is one of my favorite characters.  I had to giggle every time it's mentioned about how ugly he was.  I could picture it in my head, but still loved him so much.  Beast is truly a great man.  There are some things we learn in this book that connect the characters and I just love it.  I cannot wait to see what the next book brings.
    I absolutely love the relationship between Beast and Sybella.  Beast proves over and over that men can be kind, loving, and protective without hurting you.  I do not usually talk about &quot;sex&quot; scenes in a book, but I am going to this time.  When Beast and Sybella finally &quot;connect&quot; it was one of the most beautiful passages I have read in a long time.  It made me feel happy.  I felt so happy for Sybella.  She finally got to feel what it was like to be loved, respected and cherished.  Beast, finally to to feel what it was like to be loved in return for who he was and not what he looked like.  He opened up his heart to another person and was greatly rewarded for it.  He was loved not for his looks, not for his ability to protect, and not for his ability to fight.  Just for him.  It was magical.  I know that might offend some, but honestly it was the most beautiful writing.  I cried like a little girl.  I know...silly.
    I love that we find out about all of d'Albrets wives, and what really happened to them.  I absolutely LOVE that we find out that one of d'Albrets wives was Beast's sister.  There are so many heart breaking revelations in this book, yet it has such a great story of love and overcoming the evil in their lives.  
    I could probably go on and on, because I just loved this book so much.  I am so excited to read Mortal Heart, and it's killing me that it won't be out until November.  UGH.  That is a long time to wait.  I hope we get to see another point of view, as well as continue with Ismae and Sybella's stories.  SUCH A GREAT SERIES!!!!
    I would recommend picking this series up.  It's just so fantastic :).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have to say, I loved Dark Triumph by R.L. LaFevers even more t

    I have to say, I loved Dark Triumph by R.L. LaFevers even more than book one, Grave Mercy!  It was darker and I felt as though it were more action packed.  I felt more nervous for the main character and her companions about getting busted than I did for the characters in the first book.  I felt as though I was more emotionally invested and felt so much hate and repulsion for the villain, Alain d’Albret.  I thought that my hate for him had peaked midway through the book, but when dark secrets are revealed, my loathing for him intensified.  He truly was like evil incarnate.

    Dark Triumph by R.L. LaFevers is told in the voice of Sybella…and oh what a voice author, R.L. LavFevers has given her!  We bear witness to the strength of a strong and remarkable woman who is almost broken, but finds a strength deep inside of herself to seek vengeance upon the very man who has made her regret the life she was given.

    Dark Triumph follows the journey of Sybella D’Albret, daughter of Alain d’Albret, a man who rules his people with an iron fist and a cold heart.  After escaping the pain and deceit in her home she is allowed the opportunity to train at the Convent as one of Death’s handmaidens…one who is skilled in the art of assassination.  After completing her training at the Convent, she is sent back to the very home she had escaped, with a promise from Abbess of Saint Mortain that she will be able to kill her father.

    Unfortunately, much time passes and the marque that appears on those that she has been granted to kill never shows up on d’Albret.  She suffers through much pain and is constantly looking over her shoulder as she tries to do the missions the Convent sends to her, all to assist the Duchess.

    But one mission changes everything for Sybella.  She is commissioned to rescue a captured knight and return him back to the Duchess.  The knight in questions happens to be none other than Benebic de Waroch, also known as Beast.  And all thanks to Beast, Sybella’s simple plan of breaking out this prisoner all goes to hell in a hand basket, and her plans change.  Whether it’s for the greater good or for the worse depends on Sybella.

    OMG this book.  I loved it.  It was full of non-stop action, constant plot twists, characters that are both original and were addictively written, and a story that is pretty unforgettable.  If you’ve read book one, Grave Mercy, then you many find that Dark Triumph is more of a darker read.

    It completely baffled my mind how much strength and courage that Sybella must have had deep inside her to be able to continue living under the same off as her psychotic father and unstable brothers.  I can’t even imagine having to endure all the she has had to go through both before she left the first time and after the return.  I have to say, I think she is my fav. Kick ass female character right now.  Only is she physically capable to take down any man that gets in her way, but mentally – she has to be pretty strong to survive what she has.  And holy crap the freaking crap she has had to put up with.  Those crazy ass brothers of her, and her insane father!

    But with all this hate, there has to be some love, am I right?  And enter Beast.  Ohhhhh Beast… This character grows and grows on you until you just can’t get enough of him!  The fact that Beast is constantly being referred to as an ugly ogre does not deter me from falling head of heels for this giant hero.  For although he may be lacking in the looks department, he more than makes up for it with his patience, his kindness, and his heart.  A perfect example of how looks are not everything and that what makes the love bloom is not what is on the outside, but what is inside of someone.  Even though Sybella tells him time and time again that he is ugly, I feel bad for him each and every time even though it doesn’t affect him!  He still smiles and cracks jokes.  And because of the way in which Beast acts when he is told that he is unbelievable ugly, he is instantly hotter and sexier than most characters in books I’ve read.

    Although there are a whole slew of characters in this book, the way in which the author presents them makes it easy to follow, and not all difficult to figure out who is who from where.  And it’s pretty epic that characters from book one make a reappearance in this installment.

    Not only are the characters pretty awesome, but the story that lies within these pages is unbelievable.  As I’ve said before, the twists and turns in this book made it all that more addictive.  The fact that I felt so nervous for our champions for fear that they would be found and captured had my heart racing, and had me on the edge of my seat.  Whatever emotion that you can think of, I’m pretty sure that it can be found and felt in this book.

    Fans of Grave Mercy will completely devour Dark Triump by R.L. LaFevers.  A story mixed with history and a bit of paranormal makes Dark Triumph an instant hit and a book that will leave readers everywhere breathless and anticipating book three, Mortal Heart.  I  know I, for one, can’t wait to get my hands on this one and dive back into this amazing world created by an amazing author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Amazing

    I love both books. They are amazing. I would recommend reading the first book, rather than just picking up the second one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Absolutely gripping! I can not wait for MORTAL HEART to be relea

    Absolutely gripping! I can not wait for MORTAL HEART to be released next year, this series is only going to get better. Great writing and I would highly recommend this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book, fast paced, interesting, and well written.

    Another great book, fast paced, interesting, and well written. I am anxiously awaiting the third installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Excellent

    easy to read, very captivating, had a hard time putting it down. while there are "intimate momements" implied they are not inapproprite for the teen reader.
    I also reccommend the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Simply delicious

    One of the best books I have read in years. Well developed characters and many surprises I did not predict along the way. In my opinion this book is way better than the first. Here, here Robin!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Great story!

    Read the first book and could not wait for the second. Just finished the second and couldn't put it down! Hope you injoy it just as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2014

    Loved it even more than Grave Mercy!

    Dark Triumph is a stunning sequel to Grave Mercy. I had high expectations picking it up and I was not disappointed. I loved this story just as much if not more than Grave Mercy!

    Sybella is one of St. Mortain’s daughter’s and thereby gifted with deadly talents, and skills in the art of killing to carry out his will. She owes a debt to the convent in service to St. Mortain since they brought her back from the brink of madness, taking her in at fourteen and training her for special assignments. Sybella never thought she would be forced to go back to the very same household that caused all the terror in her life, but that’s exactly what she’s had to do. To aid the young duchess of Brittany she is sent as a spy into the d’Albret’s household, one she knows only too well. For the last year there she’s been there, languishing in hell until she is instructed to move against him. The only thing that keeps Sybella going is knowing that she’ll be the one to kill d’Albret, and finally bring retribution to this vile man.

    Finally Sybella receives word to take action, but it’s not what she expected. Instead she’s instructed to save one of the duchesses’ knights being held in d’Albret’s dungeons, the mighty Beast.

    While I was thrilled to pick up Dark Triumph, I was also a little nervous. Knowing it would be Sybella’s story, I knew it would be darker than Grave Mercy, because she was such a tortured character. I was even more nervous when I found out Sybella was in d’Albret’s house. I shuddered thinking of what she might be going through, because one thing you found out in Grave Mercy is that d’Albret was a man of twisted and dark depths! It was heartbreaking to find out the full story of Sybella’s past but her strength and bravery made you love and admire her. Plus, she was no defenseless creature, and I love that she dealt out some much needed kick-ass!!

    Another hesitation I had was the thought of a romance between Sybella and Beast. He’s described as a big hulking and ugly character, and to be honest, that didn’t sound very appealing as a potential love interest. I had nothing to fear because what Beast lacked in looks he made up for with his big heart, and charismatic personality, he’s like a magnet you can’t help but be drawn to. I loved the slow progression of their relationship and how is lightened Sybella’s soul. I can’t tell you how much this romance touched and filled my heart!

    While Dark Triumph is an adventure and full of action, I felt there wasn’t as much focus on political drama as there was in Grave Mercy, and I liked that change. I would like to know more about the abbess: her motivations whether they’re good or bad. I couldn’t stand the woman for most of the story.

    If you’re a fan of Graceling, Fire, or Poison Study, I highly recommend this story and Grave Mercy. You won’t be disappointed. Dark Triumph is a story you won’t be able to put down! I was addicted to the point of sneaking pages in between work when I could! Robin La Fevers’ writing utterly captivated me, and I will be picking up anything she writes in the future. I can’t wait for Annith’s story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it

    When I read this one was going to focus on Sybella and a certain beast, I was excited. But of course I didn't want to raise my expectation too high. But you know what, I loved this book. Honestly, this is by far better than Grave Mercy and I liked it. Even if there were times when I was waiting for it to move forward. But at the same time I still liked the reading experience. I can't think of anything wrong with Dark Triumph. Well except at times, I was like okay getting into creepy territory are we? A lot of creepy territory. Anyway, I just about had a big smile with the scenes with Beast and Sybella, okay a tiny bit fangirled. And don't get me started on the feels. The feels man, the feels. Just, thanks for that book. I even put aside two other books I was reading, along with this just so I could continue reading. And who didn't get Beauty and the Beast vibe with those two. So yeah, there you go, I got nothing. Though the next book sounds very promising. I wonder what will happen in that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book but I will warn you now it is very DARK. I don

    I loved this book but I will warn you now it is very DARK. I don't even deem this as a YA so you are forewarned. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    This book takes the series to a deeper and darker level of polit

    This book takes the series to a deeper and darker level of politics and humanity. In LeFever's notes at the end of the book, she shares that Sybella's story is more personal than that in Grave Mercy, and I truly appreciate this choice. The story is much more emotional and poignant, and through these changes, I can definitely see her growing as a writer. LaFevers continues to make multi-faceted, complex characters, like Beast, D'Albret, and Sybella. In particular, Sybella's past (increasingly revealed) and conflicting emotions and loyalties make her an intriguing and unique character to follow. Her action-filled storyline and romance are not rushed, and I give major props for the pacing of this book. Like Sybella's character, the story draws you in subtly but strongly, and I was hooked long before I realized it. All thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely amazing! I received an advance reader edition of this

    Absolutely amazing!
    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt via Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    5 Stars!

    I loved the first book in this series and to be honest I really didn't think the second one would be able to top it. But it did. This book was absolutely amazing. This was the kind of book that I hated to put down. This story grabbed me and made me feel for the characters. This type of novel is exactly why I read. I read to be swept away by a story, to feel for the characters, and hope for their triumph.

    &quot;We all have our secrets. And our scars.&quot;

    This book picks up right where Grave Mercy left off. Sybella has been placed in the home of d'Albret, who is by all accounts an evil man. This book had a darker feel that the prior book in the series. It also had a lot more action. Sybella is given the task of rescuing the man being kept in d'Albret's dungeon. That man is known as Beast and is known and loved throughout the region.

    After fleeing the dungeon with Beast and his former guard, Sybella works to keep Beast alive. We quickly learn that these two people have a lot in common. They have both killed and are good at it. They both have a horrible past that they have been forced to overcome. They are both also very stubborn and determined to succeed.

    The writing in this book was absolutely remarkable. I really did not care of Sybella too much in the first book but by the end of this book my heart was breaking for her. She was tough and a survivor and one of the most wonderful characters I have read. Beast was very likeable in the first book and as we learned more about him in this story that feeling only grew. Beast was able to see Sybella for who she really was and look beyond her past. These two characters made the story and I found myself hoping that they would find strength and healing in each other.

    &quot;Through the darkness, his big warm hand tenderly takes hold of mine, and I want to weep at the understanding of his touch.&quot;

    I would highly recommend this book to really just about everyone. This is the second book by Robin LaFevers that I have had a chance to read and I will definitely be reading more. I would recommend that this trilogy be read in order as it is a continuation of the overall story. I cannot wait for the final book in this trilogy to be released and I hope that we see more of Sybella and Beast in that novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2014

    I am hooked on this wonderful series. The characters are intrig

    I am hooked on this wonderful series. The characters are intriguing and I want to know more and more about them. The story is fast paced and keeps me up in the wee hours of the morning just to finish one more chapter. An excellent story that will keep you spellbound and escaping into another world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Omg

    Thank god this book came i been wainting a bitting my finger nails trying to figure Sybellas story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Must read

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3