Customer Reviews for

Dark Visions: The Strange Power; The Possessed; The Passion

Average Rating 4.5
( 486 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(322)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Amazing.

I first read these books like 8 years ago. I've reread them many times over since. Far better than her Vampire Diaries series and even better than Night World. You will love all the characters -- Dark and brooding Gabriel, sweet and noble Rob, and indecisive and strong ...
I first read these books like 8 years ago. I've reread them many times over since. Far better than her Vampire Diaries series and even better than Night World. You will love all the characters -- Dark and brooding Gabriel, sweet and noble Rob, and indecisive and strong Kaitlyn. You'll probably laugh, cry, and not be able to put down the books until you finished. This isn't a vampire story - it's about psychic teenagers brought together at a group home for studies. There is a form of "psychic vampire" but you still get your heart melting bad boy. Just brilliant and completely original for her times. Pre-order it so you save the buck, it is so worth it.

posted by 965201 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

3.5 stars

I was really torn in this book between loving it and hating it. I really couldn't figure out what I thought, overall, of the book. Did it keep my interest? Yes. And it was certainly long enough for my liking. I tried to read L.J. Smith's other books, the Night World ser...
I was really torn in this book between loving it and hating it. I really couldn't figure out what I thought, overall, of the book. Did it keep my interest? Yes. And it was certainly long enough for my liking. I tried to read L.J. Smith's other books, the Night World series, but I really didn't like that they were short stories. And this one sounded great so I gave it a try. Overall, I really didn't like the main character, Kaitlyn, but I loved Gabriel. I loved that Smith switched to his point of view every once and a while. I would've loved if he was the narrator of the whole book. Reason being, Kait was insensitive and obnoxious, which was even more apparent when we entered Gabe's life. I wanted to hit her on the head, she was so dense and mean to him. I also need to say how Extremely similar this book is to the Summoning (and the Awakening, its sequel). They both started off with a girl narrator who enters a home made specifically for kids that are "special". The women who run the home come off as nice, but strict, making them eat healthy foods. The kids are all kind in the home but one dangerous boy, who catches her eye, but he in return, doesn't want her company. She's intrigued by the boy, and she feels a senstitive side of him and help shim throughout the book. The home they are staying in turns out to be corrupt and the kids lash out against it. The girl gets tired of the dark, mean boy so she goes for the other way cuter boy, who takes her up quickly. The kids run away, live on the streets, get caught, and eventually defeat the system for good. The girl falls for the dark, mean boy who suddenly turns very nice when she finds out he loves her.

Anyway, (so sorry for the long comparison) I'm sure I gave too much away right there. So I didn't ever have a great feeling about Rob but I liked Anna and Lewis. The other thing is, throughout the book, I would go from loving Gabe to hating him, to loving him, and feeling sorry for him, to hating him again. It seemed like when i liked him, she didnt like him, and when i didnt like him, she liked him. Totally messed up. And same with Rob, I hated him, then warmed up to him. I also had a constant dislike for Kaitlyn, I though her power sucked. I mean, drawing, then having to decipher it? Yeah, real fun. Why not just drain 'em like Gabe, or heal them like Rob? Another point that made Kait look so dense is her situation with Gabe. I mean, isn't it obvious that he had feelings(I'm trying not to give it away...) but it really killed me to see him open up, and she had nothing in return. And lastly, I didn't like the ending. Extremely predicable. From the first ten seconds when Kait meets the kids, you know who's going to end up with who. And Smith hinted it! She literally said, Kait wondered if [blank and blank] would ever be together. And look, it did! Wow, shocker. So extremely predictable book all the way through. I felt very sorry for Gabe during the book, and I hated Kait. Then almost near the end, I disliked Gabe, loved Kait. Then Kait gives in, and I just didn't like them all. Lol. So, I think I'm going to give up on Smith's writing. Sorry for the long review, I'm sure no one will read it. So, yeah, rating: 3 1/2 stars, it wasn't good enought for 4, but not bad enough for 3.

posted by kajJK on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 322 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    A love story that you MUST READ!!

    A love story that will keep you wondering who will Kaitlyn choose. I got this book quickly and once I got it I read it. A definite page turner, and a must read. If you like Vampire's and Psychic then this book is for you. L. J. Smith's writing keeps you wondering what's going to happen next and this book defiantly does that. Great book must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Loved it ¿10000000000000000

    Get it now!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    WORDS CAN'T DESCRIBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is the most incredible book I have read in my entire life!!!!!!!!!! Words can't even desrcibe how amazing this book is and I wish that this was a long series. I was so happy I finished the book but I was mad because it ended, it is not something you want to end. I have read some of her other books but they weren't in any competion with this one, this was over the top rediculously amazing its not fair. I love how original she is and I can't wait until I get my hands on her books that i haven't read yet. This is something you will never put down until its over and then you will want to read it again. I highly recommend this book because you will not be disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Luvvvved thisss!!!!!!!!!!!

    Absolutely luvved

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Is there a second book???

    Oohhh god. I may have miss read what you guys said but... did you say theres another book?! Pllleeeeaaaaassseee write a review to tell me if there is one and what the title is!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    OMFG

    I luv this book! I hav read it like a thousand times and it never bores me! I also luv the night world series, but i havent read strange fate yet. I cant find it anywhere

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Dark Visions-L.J. Smith

    L.J. Smith is an incredible author, giving the reader of this book very visual discripitions of the characters and the settings. I have read The Forbidden Game, and loved every bit of it. I picked Dark Visions to read next and am very pleased with the choice. The book is long enough to keep the reader intrigued, and has dramatic plotlines all throughout it. I am a writer myself, and I found this to be a very good read. I would recommend it to people who enjoy books such as the House of Night series, the Vampire Academy series, Demon Girl, and others of that nature. Very Good Read! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    .......

    Big, long,very entertaining. One of the greatest books(along with all three/nine Night Worlds) ive read. Bring on the psychic world

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Please write another one u must read this!

    Amazing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    This book was really really good, at first i thought it sounded stupid but i started readding it a fell in love with the book. At times kaitlyn got on my nerves i still love it)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Best book ever

    I just love this book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    :)

    Gr8 book ...gr8 author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    It is amazing

    The story pullsu in and u will forget about reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    WOW

    Wow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED LOVED LOVED! I have re read this a thousand times. Twiligh

    LOVED LOVED LOVED! I have re read this a thousand times. Twilight can't even compare. I disagree with comparing it to the darkest powers series, both series are amazing, yes they start off a little bit similar, but take off in WAY different directions. I love how every character has their own different personality, and enough time is spent on each person to show who they really are.Love Gabriel. Course I always go for the bad guy... Damon <3 lol I do believe that this series is much better than the rest of L.J. Smith's books. Lets face it, The Vampire Diaries gave us the show and Ian Somerhaulder< but the books were way out there. most of it was confusing, didn't really make sense. And about half of them should be in the science fiction category. So I was hesitant to spend ( maybe even waste) more money on another L.J. Smith book, but this one made me a huge fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    I say.....

    You should totally read it! I prefer this over other stupid books like twilight and all (no offense twilight lovers and stephanie something) but this book is just- a thousand times better. I highly reccomend it.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    I recommend any of L. J. Smith books

    I have enjoyed this book as much as L. J. Smith's other books that I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Amazing! You have to read it!

    I thought this book is was amazing and so is the author and all of the books that he writes. This book is mostly about a group of psychic teenagers from all around the country, a crazy scientist, love and a crystal.Its really good. I loved it. And I think that anybody else who is interested in the book will love it when they read it too. Good Luck And Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Loved it!!!!!!

    This book I could barely put down. This is truly one of the best books LJ Smith has published!!! ALL HER BOOKS ARE AMAZING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    highly recommended- must check it out

    L.J. Smith always at her best! great story, very fast read. I could not put it down, i wanted to know what happened next!!! You can never go wrong reading any of her books. Great for adults also not just for teens!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 322 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 17