Customer Reviews for

Dark Water Rising

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Great Review Rising

    This book is great. At first I was not interested, but I continued to read and I realized I couldn't put it down. It turns out being a little sad. I realized though that life is life and it always has some reason whether it means death or surving in a floating house. This is an action book.
    This book takes place in Galveston, Texasin the twentieth centry. A boy named Seth wants to be a carpender, but his father disagree's. His father wants him to go to a good college to get a good job. Soon a storm or as I would say a huricane comes and destroys everything. Only a few people and houses survive. The railway is destroyed and the people who did survive are running out of food and fresh clean water. The only smell in the air is mud and the smoke from the burning of the dead.
    I hope you enjoy this book as much as I do!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Intense but fun

    I thought it was a good read and i did not want to put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Super Historical Fiction

    It is the year 1900 and sixteen year¿old Seth¿s father has moved the family to Galveston, Texas to take advantage of the building boom and for Seth to attend the local medical school. Only problem is Seth wants to follow his father and become a carpenter. After arriving in Galveston Seth reconsiders the move, as things are looking up. His Uncle Nate secures him a summer job as a carpenter he befriends a fellow carpenter, an African American named Josiah, and meets a beautiful young lady, Ella Rose. Then the unthinkable happens, the worst hurricane to ever hit Galveston strikes. Seth and Josiah are forced to take refuge with neighbors not knowing if their families are safe. After the storm passes Seth and Josiah are faced with horrifying tragedy as they work their way to Uncle Nate¿s to find their families. The story integrates fact with fiction in a way the reader can¿t separate the two. What a wonderful job of giving actual historical accounts of the destruction, hope, and rebuilding of the city of Galveston. The reader is taken through the tears, exhaustion, and the remarkable strength the people of Galveston displayed during the aftermath of such devastation. I highly recommend this book for ages 12 and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Amazing book

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great book . Boring at first , kept reading , AMAZING !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    HeLp JKiNG

    Horrible

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    i loved this book and hope there are more books of this high lev

    i loved this book and hope there are more books of this high level of
    interesting-ness. ;p great job to the author for such a captivating read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Gruesome and not for for younger readers

    Pro-yes, the portion of the book detailing the story and it's aftermath make fascinating reading. The historical research and amount of detail is gripping. However, this level of detail is too much for younger kids. My school is requiring this for 7th grade but I wouldn't let my son go to a movie which contained the disturbing and graphic images of the many dead and dying. I would say it is suited to some one of the age of the main character- 16 or 17 . My other beef is that the plot elements are very thin. The characters are not interesting. Yeah, yeah yeah the main character becomes close to an African American. But it is so stock and shallow and the "I wanna be a carpenter" plot line is contrived. If the characters were inspired, then I can see it being worth wading through the carnage, but readers interested in the great storm should maybe seek out the historical accounts on which this book is based instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    OK

    This book is a historical fiction about The Galveston Storm. I liked it, but its a little sad and gruesome. I have always lived near Galveston and I beleive it does not include all that it should?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Aaah...mazing!

    I had never heard of this book before but was at the local library searching for books to share with my kids during our unit study on hurricanes. I found this historical fiction novel in the young adults section....not having a clue if my young children would even stick with it as I read aloud. After the first chapter, my kids were literally begging me to read more...I was tired of reading aloud but couldn't hardly but it down myself. All in all it took 3 days to read through with my small children: 11, 8 and 5. I am so impressed with the author's writing and her ability to paint a picture (sometimes uncomfortably real) of the tragedy that took Galveston by surprise in 1900...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2