BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dark Whispers (Unicorn Chronicles Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

OMG!!!! LOVE IT!!!!

like some people i too have been waiting a very long time for the third book to come out. i am 22 years old and being an adult, it is nice to go back to your child hood fantasies. it is my escape from the real world. this book is soo awesome i wish for the unicorn chron...
like some people i too have been waiting a very long time for the third book to come out. i am 22 years old and being an adult, it is nice to go back to your child hood fantasies. it is my escape from the real world. this book is soo awesome i wish for the unicorn chronicles to continue. i would hate for them to stop here. so if bruce coville ever reads these things than all i have to say is write faster man...they are too good to stop now.

posted by squeekers1986 on November 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long in coming...

I remember when 'Into the Land of Unicorns' came out, I was about 12. I remember waiting for 'Song of the Wanderer'. I can only hope that 'Dark Whispers' can continue the magic that was held in book one and, to me, felt a little lost in book two.

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!!! LOVE IT!!!!

    like some people i too have been waiting a very long time for the third book to come out. i am 22 years old and being an adult, it is nice to go back to your child hood fantasies. it is my escape from the real world. this book is soo awesome i wish for the unicorn chronicles to continue. i would hate for them to stop here. so if bruce coville ever reads these things than all i have to say is write faster man...they are too good to stop now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another Chapter of Luster

    The land of the unicorns,Luster, is in danger. Their ultimate enemy, Beloved now holds a key to entering their world. The unicorns know that time is precious while they wait for the blood moon to enter the sky and Beloved to enter their world. There's rumor of a greater threat, one behind Beloved, who's secret lies in their ancient history. But when they look in the books, it's clear pages are missing. Thinking that this story might be useful in their upcoming battle, Cara's grandmother, the Queen of the Unicorns, sends Cara, three unicorns, and the keeper of the stories to the Valley of the Centaurs to gather this tale. They need to move quickly and quietly across the land. But they do not make it there without detection. Delvers track them and in a battle, take Cara as prisoner leaving the others behind. Cara doesn't know what they want with her, but she suspects, they want the amulet she wears, the amulet that allows her to cross back into Earth. Will she allow them to take it or will she fight back, even though she's alone?<BR/><BR/>I Love this series and this book is no exception. There's drama, action, betrayal, and friendship found in these stories. I was a little disappointed because I thought this series was a trilogy, but it is not. I'm hoping the wait to the next one isn't too long. because the cliff hanger at the end is HUGE. <BR/><BR/>~ yabooknerd : http://yabooknerd.blogspot.com/

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    WTF

    I got the first book when I turned 10. Which was when the first book was published. I waited years for the second book. Which I read straight through without stopping once. I have waited years again for the third book, I just learned that it came out. I will be going straight to BN in the morning (online shopping takes too long to arrive, need instant gratification). By the way I am 23.5 years old now. So I don't think you teenagers have any clue about waiting on books to follow in a series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Highly Anticipated

    When I first entered the land of Luster I was only 10 years old. Twelve years later, I rediscoved it and was happy to find that Coville had begun work on this third installment. I was hooked, beginning to end, and am a huge fan of the Unicorn Chronicles. Coville still shows his passion for unicorns and Luster even after the long wait between novels. His character development is truly wonderful. You see Cara grow up a little bit more as she discovers who she is and what possible purpose she has in life. You gain more insight to each of the other characters as well. And although many questions are answered, more questions are posed that keep you hooked into the series. I highly recomend this book, as well as the previous ones, to anyone who has ever believed in unicorns and far-away worlds. Coville leaves the ending open for a fourth book. I just hope that his fans will not have to wait too terribly long for the next installment and possibly the conclusion to this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    WOW that is good adventure

    the book was good adventure all the way but the only thing is,, at the end it leaves an opening for another book and i really hope that the writer does hae another one coming because that leavse a good story with no happy ending and no one knows what happen next if there is another one coming i cant wait intil it comes out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally, It's Here...

    This book was well worth waiting for. Like so many, I already read the first two and pined with baited breath for the third one. Where to start? Firstly, the characters draw you in and allow you to take their amazing journey with them. Also, I enjoyed how B. Coville put a more serious, darker spin on this installment. Not so much the kid fun this time, but more focus on the dire peril Luster hangs in. Cara and her friends have to race against time to thwart Beloved in her quest to invade the unicorns' world and begin the dreaded "Final Hunt." This book also has more involved and complicated storylines where you follow mulitple journeys at once, not just Cara's and that makes it far more interesting. The characters are believable and multi-faceted, they grow and progress well in the story, the cliffhanger ending is great- I just hope Coville doesn't leave us hanging for several years THIS time around- have mercy Mr. Coville! You WILL love this book. It's for all ages, genders, etc., is crosses all borders. Read this book, you will not regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FINALLY!

    I am so excited that the third books out! I've been waiting for years! I read the first book in elementary school. Only by chance did i find the second book when i randomly looked for it in the kids section in the library downtown when i was in high school. I've checked from time to time for this book to come out but i was shocked to actuality see that Dark Whispers is out. The Unicorn Chronicles is a wonderful series! I recommend it for all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    I have waited three years for another to come out I highly recomend this to all ages I am 14 and love to read though my generation is more with trying to be cool instead of reading! this book is absolutely amazeing and the contrast of the real world and the land of enchantment,when I read this I feel like I am right beside cara and am face to face with delvers and being carried on the back of lightfoot, or maybe in the back of a magic cart that folds down to the size of a wallet!this my friends and fellow readers will be a book that wiil not be forgoten for years to come.read and enter the magical world of Luster!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    omg

    i have been waiting fo rthis book since i was about seven or so, when i was younger my dad would read a book to me every night or if it was a chapter book a few chapters. when i got the first book from my uncle i immediatley had my dad start on it. before we knew it we had finished and we were both entigued by this magical world. i made my mom look for it online and found out there was a second one, not too long after and my dad and i had it finished. ive been waiting for the next book to come out ever since i read the beloved had obtained a amulet. i am now fourteen but i am still entrigued by the books i cant wait for it to be released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Long in coming...

    I remember when 'Into the Land of Unicorns' came out, I was about 12. I remember waiting for 'Song of the Wanderer'. I can only hope that 'Dark Whispers' can continue the magic that was held in book one and, to me, felt a little lost in book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    a big fan

    i can't wait for this book to come!!!!!! me and my sis. have been waiting for years, and years. at one point we thought that Coville had died before he finished the book!!!! but we are glad that he didn't!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    Such an Awsome Series!!!

    I can't wait until this book comes out in August. I hope you keep writing in this series until you can't think up anymore ideas and I hope that never happens and if it does then people will have to give you ideas. Again, can't wait for the book to come out. ~A very entertained reader!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Long Awaited, Much Loved Sequel!

    Coville is engrossing. His books always grab the reader and leave them wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    wonderful, it's just so unexplainable.

    i've waited for two, long years for this book to finally come out.and the wait, well, it was totally worth it.i enjoyed this book a lot.it's just like, "wow, i can't believe this book.", but saying that in a very good way.the ending leaves you screaming, "NO!! THAT CAN'T HAPPEN!! I WON'T LET IT!!" sorta thing(:get this book.i'll garuantee you this,you'll love it the way i did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2