Customer Reviews for

The Dark Wind (Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Whisperwind

    A pretty grey tabby walked into the clearing. "Can I join?" She asked her dark blue eyes filled with sorrow. "My clan HawkClan was invaded by dogs and everyone was killed." All the cats notice that her fur is matted with blood and wounds cover her whole body. (She wants a mate badly. Post to be her mate.) :)

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    This Dark Wind blows no good!

    Vintage Hillerman here. Jim Chee is at his best also. Hillerman manages to capture the sheer essence of the Navajo tribal life. The suspense, the intrigue, the inter-play between the characters combine for a first rate police procedural. Not to be missed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Hi north clan im gopherkit of ember clan

    H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    NorthClan // Ceremony Requests \\

    Make any ceremony requests here. The leader or deputy will post a ceremony, every Friday. So have your requests posted by then!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Good read.

    Short but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Living in New Mexico and being a mystery lover and not reading T

    Living in New Mexico and being a mystery lover and not reading Tony Hillerman is probably some sort of sin. Possibly even multiple sins. So I plan to work on rectifying that travesty. THE DARK WIND is my initiation into the mystery series revolving around Jim Chee and Joe Leaphorn.

    The setting made this book for me. Sure, Jim Chee proved to be a likeable enough character with well-meaning intentions and motivations, and the bad guys eased off the page like green goo with simple, yet concrete nefarious objectives, covering the world in sticky greenness. But it was the New Mexico setting filled with rich descriptions that blanketed nearly every page, cloaking the world in a warm afghan that filled my world with richness and color.

    The Indian tribes were described in detail and nearly became characters of their own, and this was done with a careful hand. This added another dimension to the novel, and certainly left me wanting even more.

    The plot certainly enticed me, but it wasn’t filled with tricky slipups and red herrings and dangling cliffhangers, and it wasn’t what kept me turning the pages. This was a novel overflowing with richness and created with love, and that was evident on nearly every page.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Hg

    Nm

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Kit to Ivykit

    My clan was invaded and killed she mews blood of her mother and family stains her paws which were once snow white

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Silverfang

    No
    Problem
    She
    Mews

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Chaosclaw

    What happened?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    A kittypet

    A tom pads over* im gale. Will you accept me?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Liongod to sundapple

    You know why I got another mate?! Because you abandoned me for mistyclaw! Was I just supposed to not get another mate?!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Shadesong

    My day has been filled with lies, curses, and douches. Now youre saying that Sundapple is a imposter?!! I dont believe you. Prove it to me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Cutekit

    She fall asleep

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Mistystar (real)

    Sorry i havnt been on. I went on a trip. Why did yall move camp? Whats happened why i was gone? Well just give me an update. The reason thw post at the bottom dodnt disapear is because i didnt write it ~*~

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Northpaw

    Hello

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Dreamfoot

    Wheres fireheart i havent seen him in a while :'(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Whitefire

    She padded in with two rabbits and laid them on the pile.

    ~Whitefire

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Nightheart

    Picks up a water vole. She lays down and streches.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3