BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dark Witch (Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(359)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Awsome book

I love all of Nora Roberts books and this one wasn't any different worth the money and one I will read again I can't wait for the rest of the series to come out

posted by 5517798 on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Although I love Nora Roberts, I was a bit disappointed with this

Although I love Nora Roberts, I was a bit disappointed with this one. It's just a slightly different version of the Three Sisters series. Instead of a curse that is waiting for 300 years, it's a curse from the thirteenth century. Iona is similar in personality to Nel...
Although I love Nora Roberts, I was a bit disappointed with this one. It's just a slightly different version of the Three Sisters series. Instead of a curse that is waiting for 300 years, it's a curse from the thirteenth century. Iona is similar in personality to Nell. Branna is similar in personality to Mia. Mia and Sam are Branna and Finn in this one. Even maring the wolf with the pentagram is repeated. I will read the next two books as I've read most of Nora's books, but I'm hoping that there are differences from the previous trilogy.

posted by LRM53 on November 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 673 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Although I love Nora Roberts, I was a bit disappointed with this

    Although I love Nora Roberts, I was a bit disappointed with this one. It's just a slightly different version of the Three Sisters series. Instead of a curse that is waiting for 300 years, it's a curse from the thirteenth century. Iona is similar in personality to Nell. Branna is similar in personality to Mia. Mia and Sam are Branna and Finn in this one. Even maring the wolf with the pentagram is repeated. I will read the next two books as I've read most of Nora's books, but I'm hoping that there are differences from the previous trilogy.

    39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Awsome book

    I love all of Nora Roberts books and this one wasn't any different worth the money and one I will read again I can't wait for the rest of the series to come out

    28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    While good, i think the story was a bit rushed. I was hoping for more tension between iona & boyle & less conversation in general. I miss the detailed descriptions of the settings, & the characters themselves. Its almost as if since where we already know where this is going, why waste pages on building the story. Parts of the story resounded with hints of some her older novels while other parts seemed written by another person altogether. Maybe the editors missed the mark there. Overall, i still enjoyed it & will be looking for part two.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Love it!

    I love her trilogies and this first book has me excited for the next two. I think her best ones have that supernatural element, and she never goes wrong when she takes us to Ireland!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Enchanting

    She did it again! Couldn't put it down once I started it. Another wonderful read by Nora Roberts. Hope the second book isn't too long in coming. Worth every penny and more....

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    I agree please listen Mrs.Roberts

    Great stories just do Not need so many sex scenes in em. I know the editors or publishers ask for em but when you have great stories and writers like Nora Roberts , Jude Deveraux , we dont need so many sex scenes. The sexual attraction is great. Leave some to imaganation please!?!

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Fantastic!  Couldn't put it down and read it all today.  Nothing

    Fantastic!  Couldn't put it down and read it all today.  Nothing better than a new Nora Robert's Series.  Character development is wonderful and she makes you want to be a part of the inner circle of characters.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    This may sound familiar...

    Although I have always been a fan of her books, her newest offering sounds and awful lot like...well, every other supernatural trilogy she has written. Roberts found a formula that works, that's for sure, but now fans like me can only hope she will find a new one. I will not be purchasing the next two books in the series... I am pretty sure I already know what happens.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Slow, has good points but drags on and on. Table talk on and on

    Slow, has good points but drags on and on. Table talk on and on....boring. Not one of her better books.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The story was entertaining and predictable. Nora Roberts has the

    The story was entertaining and predictable. Nora Roberts has the ability to draw you into a story with great history and details. But sadly, the plan reverts to her predictable pattern seen in all her trilogies. Yes they are entertaining but the ending is so predictable and anti climactic. I'll have to wait and see if I want or even dare to buy the next in the series. Sadly I'm left wanting more.Even though I know what to expect, I love to read about these deeply devoted families. I like to immerse myself in the love and the fantasy and for a little while a least become one of them.Didn't 'really think I would be reading about absolute witches and witchcraft. In fact I almost changed my mind about reading it. Glad I didn't as it was a good read. Loneliness finds family, a place to belong and be loved. Together they battle darkness using their supernatural powers. The story begins. You have my recommendation for this one.  

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Did I read this 10 years ago?!?!

    I KNEW it was a new book, but as I read on I kept feeling like I had read this book before. Love NR but this was a bit stale and 'already done'.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Falls Short

    I've always loved reading Nora Roberts more magical or witchy books and i waited anxiously for the release of this book. Unfotunately this fell short of my expectations. It really felt like the story was rushed even the first sexual trist between Iona and Boyle was short lived and uneventful. This could be a really good story line if you'd slow down, bring the characters to life and allow your readers to live the story instead of rushing us through this just to get to the next book. Hoping you take your time with next book because i really want to fall in love with this series!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Recycled stories!

    This has all been done before. If you read the Three Sisters trilogy dont bother with this one. The ominous fog, the big bad wolf, the family curse, it's all there. The difference is she set the story in the Born In series location. Oh, and she added some animals as familiars. Nora Roberts didn't try very hard here. Dont waste your money.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Nora Roberts has always been a hit or miss with me but I decided

    Nora Roberts has always been a hit or miss with me but I decided to give this book a try.  Sorry that I did.  All 
    I can say is that it will be a long time, if ever, that I read another one.  This story can be figured out in the first few chapters.
    Not any different than any of her other books, I take that back.  Worse than most of her other ones.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Faulty

    I enjoyed the book, not sure of the ending as it will not let me read the last pages.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    5 STARS I love the characters. Lots of drama, action and romanc

    5 STARS

    I love the characters. Lots of drama, action and romance. The story is gripping for the most part.
    The problems with the book is too many sex scenes and have to wait for the next book to come out.
    The setting is Ireland the past and now.
    The pace is good and keeps you reading to find out what would happen next.
    I bought the book on amazon and will read the next two books of the series.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Such a Disapointment

    I was so excited to see that Roberts had written another witchy trilogy and better yet, one set in Ireland! that when I started reading I was flabbergasted.... this couldn't be NORA Roberts, could it? I checked and doubled checked and indeed her name was on it. The writing is just horrible. The characters are so two dimensional. I tried. I TRIED to finish reading it but I just could not.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Boring

    Flipping pages just to finally get through it. The writing is ho-hum. The story is boring and the lines seem repeated and tired. There is no substance to build any interest in the actual characters.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Disappointing

    I am a loyal fan of Nora Roberts and have read most of her books especially her trilogies. It took awhile for the plot to interest me. I thought the witchcraft was overplayed and it steered us away from endearing ourselves to the characters. I won't be reading books 2 and 3. Sorry, Nora!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Enjoyed from cover to cover.  Follows the standard Nora Roberts

    Enjoyed from cover to cover.  Follows the standard Nora Roberts format which to me makes it a bit predictable but didn't take away from it for me.  Will continue on with the series.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 673 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34