Customer Reviews for

Dark Witch (Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 636 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(334)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Awsome book

I love all of Nora Roberts books and this one wasn't any different worth the money and one I will read again I can't wait for the rest of the series to come out

posted by 5517798 on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Although I love Nora Roberts, I was a bit disappointed with this

Although I love Nora Roberts, I was a bit disappointed with this one. It's just a slightly different version of the Three Sisters series. Instead of a curse that is waiting for 300 years, it's a curse from the thirteenth century. Iona is similar in personality to Nel...
Although I love Nora Roberts, I was a bit disappointed with this one. It's just a slightly different version of the Three Sisters series. Instead of a curse that is waiting for 300 years, it's a curse from the thirteenth century. Iona is similar in personality to Nell. Branna is similar in personality to Mia. Mia and Sam are Branna and Finn in this one. Even maring the wolf with the pentagram is repeated. I will read the next two books as I've read most of Nora's books, but I'm hoping that there are differences from the previous trilogy.

posted by LRM53 on November 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Awsome book

    I love all of Nora Roberts books and this one wasn't any different worth the money and one I will read again I can't wait for the rest of the series to come out

    25 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Love it!

    I love her trilogies and this first book has me excited for the next two. I think her best ones have that supernatural element, and she never goes wrong when she takes us to Ireland!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Enchanting

    She did it again! Couldn't put it down once I started it. Another wonderful read by Nora Roberts. Hope the second book isn't too long in coming. Worth every penny and more....

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    I agree please listen Mrs.Roberts

    Great stories just do Not need so many sex scenes in em. I know the editors or publishers ask for em but when you have great stories and writers like Nora Roberts , Jude Deveraux , we dont need so many sex scenes. The sexual attraction is great. Leave some to imaganation please!?!

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Fantastic!  Couldn't put it down and read it all today.  Nothing

    Fantastic!  Couldn't put it down and read it all today.  Nothing better than a new Nora Robert's Series.  Character development is wonderful and she makes you want to be a part of the inner circle of characters.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    5 STARS I love the characters. Lots of drama, action and romanc

    5 STARS

    I love the characters. Lots of drama, action and romance. The story is gripping for the most part.
    The problems with the book is too many sex scenes and have to wait for the next book to come out.
    The setting is Ireland the past and now.
    The pace is good and keeps you reading to find out what would happen next.
    I bought the book on amazon and will read the next two books of the series.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The story was entertaining and predictable. Nora Roberts has the

    The story was entertaining and predictable. Nora Roberts has the ability to draw you into a story with great history and details. But sadly, the plan reverts to her predictable pattern seen in all her trilogies. Yes they are entertaining but the ending is so predictable and anti climactic. I'll have to wait and see if I want or even dare to buy the next in the series. Sadly I'm left wanting more.Even though I know what to expect, I love to read about these deeply devoted families. I like to immerse myself in the love and the fantasy and for a little while a least become one of them.Didn't 'really think I would be reading about absolute witches and witchcraft. In fact I almost changed my mind about reading it. Glad I didn't as it was a good read. Loneliness finds family, a place to belong and be loved. Together they battle darkness using their supernatural powers. The story begins. You have my recommendation for this one.  

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Love Nora

    Great read- believable characters,great storyline and has some steamy moments while also thrilling plot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Dark Witch (Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy #1) Review

    Hello fellow readers,
    I love Nora Roberts! She is my favorite author, and when I saw the release of her new book Dark Witch I knew I had to read it!

    This book, like all of her books, kept me interested and on the edge until the very end. I couldn't get the witty characters and beautiful scenery of Ireland out of my mind. Nora did a fantastic job of bringing her readers into the story, at times I felt like I was in the tale myself! That's when you know you've read an amazing book, when you experience everything the character's are going through, when you can relate, while you laugh and cry, and when by the time the book is over with; they've become your friends.
    I loved Dark Witch, it was a fast-pased, energetic read. It was full of magic, love, and friendship! Once you get to know the O'Dwyer's, you'll never find a better group of friends!
    I rate this book a 5, and I encourage everyone who loves romance, or even Nora Roberts, and anyone who has never read any of Nora's books, to read this! You'll be glad you did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    LOVE HER BOOKS LIKE THIS!!!!!

    Wonderful story line!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Great Read!!

    Another great Nora Roberts book!! Well written with lots of suspense. Don't know how she keeps writing one after another like she does!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Loved it

    Great typical NR book. Can't wait for the next one! Love her trilogies - love Ireland!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Another awesome book by Nora!

    Can't wait for the next book in this trilogy. Nora is one of a very few who can write a great witch story. If you liked The Hollows trilogy, you'll love Dark Witch!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Loved it

    Love her books and this one was very god

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Nhr

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Recommend it

    Enjoyed the book-- kept me interested and anxious to see what would happen next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Great book

    It proves we can do better things with help rather than alone. Family ties are really strong even through the centuries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Really good series. Can' t wait for the last book.

    Dark Witch sounds like it would be something evil. Not the case. The dark witch actually fights evil. This is a good read. A series of 3 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Dark Witch

    Having stayed in Ashford Castle and visited the surrounding area, this book took me back to Beautiful Ireland. Another grand romance by Nora Roberts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Read from August 02 to 03, 2014 Book Info  Kindle Editio





    Read from August 02 to 03, 2014




    Book Info 
    Kindle Edition, 368 pages
    Published October 29th 2013 by Penguin Publishing
    original title Dark Witch
    ASIN B00BC25992
    edition language English
    series The Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy #1
    characters Iona Sheehan, Branna O’Dwyer, Connor O’Dwyer, Boyle McGrath
    setting Cong, County Mayo (Ireland) Ireland 
    other editions (28)
    Source:Kindle version borrowed from Public Library




    Book Buy Links
    Amazon
    B&N




    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    With indifferent parents, Iona Sheehan grew up craving devotion and acceptance. From her maternal grandmother, she learned where to find both: a land of lush forests, dazzling lakes, and centuries-old legends.




    Ireland.




    County Mayo, to be exact. Where her ancestors’ blood and magic have flowed through generations—and where her destiny awaits.




    Iona arrives in Ireland with nothing but her Nan’s directions, an unfailingly optimistic attitude, and an innate talent with horses. Not far from the luxurious castle where she is spending a week, she finds her cousins, Branna and Connor O’Dwyer. And since family is family, they invite her into their home and their lives.




    When Iona lands a job at the local stables, she meets the owner, Boyle McGrath. Cowboy, pirate, wild tribal horsemen, he’s three of her biggest fantasy weaknesses all in one big, bold package.




    Iona realizes that here she can make a home for herself—and live her life as she wants, even if that means falling head over heels for Boyle. But nothing is as it seems. An ancient evil has wound its way around Iona’s family tree and must be defeated. Family and friends will fight with each other and for each other to keep the promise of hope—and love—alive…




    Don’t miss the next two books in the Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy




    Shadow Spell and Blood Magick








    My Thoughts








    As with each book that I have read written by author Nora Roberts was looking for a smooth flow, likable charming characters, appealing location and plenty of the imaginative twists that make reading her work recognizable.




    Magic, love, mystery, suspense, family, friendships and more. What a wonderful example of why this author is one I return to again and again knowing her story, characters, plot lines and style of writing will make it very easy to immerse myself in her book world allowing everything around me to fade away!




    In the books beginning we learn about Sorcha,the ancestress and original Dark Witch, her son Eamon-daughters Teagan and Brannaugh and how in 1263 the battle between good and evil began.




    The main tale takes place however in 2013 when American Iona Sheehan comes to County Mayo Ireland to visit the place brought to life in stories told to her by her grandmother.




    On her first day she manages to meet her cousin Branna O’Dwyer, gets a chance at a job with local stable owner Boyle McGrath and for the first time in her life feels a sense of belonging.




    Learning that she is part of the triumvirate that now houses the powers of the Dark Witch Iona also finds a well of strong magic inside that she must learn to harness and control to help Branna and Connor defeat Cabhan who is the evil witch that has plagued their family for centuries trying to steal the magic passed on through Sorcha’s bloodline.




    Amidst learning her magic Iona embraces her new life wholeheartedly, along with making new friends she also finds herself finally falling head over heels in love with a man for the first time in her life. After a few stops and starts she believes that the one she has chosen feels as strongly as she does, a belief that is tested early on leading to them argue but remain friends after clearing the air.




    As always the romantic elements lend spice to the main story line, and as always it is such a pleasure to see how the obstacles to true happiness are overcome one by one. The main question still remains though whether all the preparation for the final showdown between good and evil will be enough and whether the O'Dwyers and Iona Sheehan, their American cousin, will prevail over Cabhan. 








    The answer to this and other questions will be found within the book and must be experienced firsthand so do not wait but grab your copy soon.




    Looking forward to continuing with Shadow Spell, book 2 in series sooner than later.




    [Kindle version borrowed from Public Library]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17