Customer Reviews for

Dark Wolf Running (Harlequin Nocturne Series #173)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    How on earth did I not find this woman's work before now? Okay,

    How on earth did I not find this woman's work before now? Okay, that's easy enough - I don't routinely scour the category romance section in bookstores on the rare occasion I go to one these days (don't judge - I don't get to escape the family very often and it's impossible to read/browse with two toddlers running around). But wow, I'm so glad I have now!

    First the world-building. This was awesome. Set in the real world (at least so I presume), but a completely separate community from it in a way. I liked the werewolf communities and the idea of rival/enemy packs. The concept of the Blood Runner (half-breed werewolves who have to earn the right to be considered part of the pack by killing a specific number of pack enemies) is great, and I found it believable that wolves would have such a requirement.

    Wyatt - a strong guy and Blood Runner, who did have a tendency to be too strong, at least as far as El was concerned (he liked to give her orders about where she's going to stay). However, when it came to dealing with her intimacy issues (she was raped 3 years before this book), he was incredibly patient and determined not to make things worse. I loved him for this. He has a tragic story in his past and I ached for him when his secret was finally revealed.
    El - very strong in that she's fought back against the nightmare that happened to her. She has lost touch with her inner wolf since the rape, and fears she might never get it back, and because of that, she doesn't believe she'll ever have a family of her own. But as we find out, don't mess with El's loved ones. She'll kick your butt. I liked how, once Wyatt got past her initial barriers, she was just as aggressive about sex as he was, without too many shadows of the nightmare. She wouldn't just let her brother or Wyatt lock her away despite the clear threat against her, although she did have a stupid moment after her house burns. But, I'll forgive her that because of her emotional distress - we all can do stupid things when we're upset.

    Wyatt and El were fantastic together. I loved them as a couple, and how they grew individually and as a couple in this book.

    There were two plot lines (beyond the growing romance) in this book - one a continuation (I presume) of the series arc, the growing isolation of the Silvercrest pack (they've been top, er, wolf for a while) as its rivals sense potential weakness and strive to exploit it now that the pack's evil leader was dealt with (El's father), and the truth behind the assault on El. Both were handled with commendable skill and found adequate resolution. I say adequate because the series plot didn't wrap up of course, but it did have a conclusion as far as it tied in with the secondary plots.
    Now I have to go back and find other books in this series, along with watching out for the next one. Thanks, Harlequin & Ms. Byrd!

    Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2015

    Nebula&star

    I love it, but I also think that in actuality, the NA wern't really always super voilent. But other than that, it's really good! Could you read my fanfic at 'firr' res 1? It's warrior cats but I need more readers, please...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2015

    Sky

    Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2015

    That Bethesda Guy (Hey UFG!)

    I love it! Amerian colinism! Yay! Here's my app. Name: Nathaniel Tarrick. Age: 18. Side: Coliniolits (sorry. I can't spell it.). Looks: White skin, brown hair, green eyes. Personality: Kind, ruthless at times, fun. Please put me in your next chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    Dawn&star

    Love it! Here is acharacter app...
    <br>
    <p>
    Tikatino
    <br>
    Nickname: Tino
    <br>
    Gender: Male
    <br>
    Age: two or three years older than main character...
    <br>
    Side/Race: Native Americans
    <br>
    Appearance: Tikatino is tall, slender, and evenly muscled. These traits come from his younger days playing the Native "sports". His face is slightly narrow and he has dark brown eyes. He looks intimidating d powerful, even for his age, although he is really kind and loyal. Long, shoulderlength dark hair with a white and black feather in it. He wears the normal attire.
    <br>
    Peesonality: serious, competitive, loyal, demanding, natural leader, brave, but can be very fiesty and fun.
    <br>
    Relationships: maybe the princess? Or the main character....anyone really...
    <br>
    <p>
    Asimira
    <br>
    Nickname: Princess, Asi, Mira
    <br>
    Gender: Female
    <br>
    Age: same as main character
    <br>
    Description: tall, slender, pretty. Long black hair in braid over one shoulder. Feathers behind ear. Actually pretty atheletic. She played "sports" with the boys when her father was away.
    <br>
    Personality: fiesty, brave, sometimes shy, not afraid of getting hurt, loyal, caring, loving, competitive. (She is all sweet and everything her father wants her to be when he is around, but totally boyish otherwise. She even is a really good archer!)
    <br>
    Family: chief (dad)
    <br>
    Friends: main character?, Tikatino
    <br>
    <p>
    I love it so far! Maybe change paragraphs every time someone speaks...once I did that it helped a ton!
    <br>
    <p>
    ~Dawn&star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    Portal ✧ or Silversnow

    Fabulous! Let's see... Liz/Elizabeth, Kat/Katrina, Mira, Mya, Missy, Toni, Mary, Ann, Mary Ann, Rosie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    Loves it write more!!!!!!!!

    Write more!!! Names: Lily, Rose, or Kiki

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2015

    Love it!!!

    Love it and sounds like its going to be interseting <p> Name|| VictoryMoon <br> Age|| 20 moons <br> Rank|| queen <br> Gender|| female wolf <br> Looks|| tan and brown wolf with brown eyes and tan colored tail <br> Personality| cares for all wolf kind. Just because shes a queen doesnt mean she doesnt know how to fight. She is very fierce at fighting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    Ultimate Fangirl

    I have some wolf character apps.
    Name: Pierce
    Gender: male wolf.
    Appearance: solid jet-black with green eyes.
    <br>
    Name: Strike
    Gender: male wolf.
    Appearance: light silver with a white face & chest and amber eyes.
    <br>
    Name: Swift
    Gender: she-wolf.
    Appearance: snow white with black patches on her body & tail with a black paw and blue eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    Running With The Wolves chapter one (retry)

    (I accadently erased chapter one, so here it is again. This is in the 1670's.) "THE INDIANS! THE INDIANS ARE COMING!" The call struck terror in the Colonist's hearts. Men grasped for their weapons, women clutched their children's hands, their eyes wide. The men ran out of the cabins, and the sounds of battle started-wild yells, gunshots, and screams of dying people. One woman stood by the window, holding her baby in her arms and her twelve-year-old sonbstanding by her side. "Mom, let me go out there. I can beat those indians." He said. Mom shook her head. " Matthew, those indians would skin you alive!" She winced as an indian shot past the window, yelling and waving a tomahawk. Matthew sniffed the air. "Do you smell smoke?" Mom's face paled. "They've caught the house on fire. Get out of the house! Quickly!" She yelled. They ran out the door. Almost iddmediatly, Matthew fell over, an arrow embedded in his stomach. "Matthew! NOO!" Screamed Mom, but then an indian ran over, yelling something. Mom ran away, out of the gate and into the woods. She heard two indians running after her. Mom ran as fast as she could, but she knew it was futile. They were catching up. "They must'nt get my daughter." She whispered. She put the baby under a bush and covered her with leaves. Then she ran back into the undergrowth. The baby heard a scream and the sound of someone over, then silence. The baby whimpered, knowing she was alone. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ The wolf crept through the undergrowth, looking for prey. She sniffed the air, then wrinkled her nose. All she smelled was burnt wood and flesh. Then the wolf heard a soft crying noise. She walked towards the noise, and stopped. A tiny thing was laying in the leaves under a bush. She sniffed at the thing, realizing it was one of those strange creatures that walk on two legs. *It must be a cub.* she thought. The wolf carefully picked up the baby and carried it to her pack. &starf end of chapter &starf could i have a few charecter apps?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    :)

    ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    To kota

    Go to the seventh book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    loved it

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Kiara

    *lays down*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Kasia

    Licks kala

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Excellent!!

    Loved it!! Cant wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Nadia

    *Pads in.*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    ' I received a free ARC of this book through Netgalley in exchan

    ' I received a free ARC of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review '

    Wyatt knows that Elise is his mate. But she won't have anything to do with him. He doesn't feel that he is good enough to mate her but he would like to be with her. He knows what happened to her and he feels that it is time for her to quit running and start living. When she is in danger he will do anything to protect her.

    Elise has lost touch with her wolf. She has been hiding for so long. As much as she tries to keep Wyatt at a distance he just won't quit. Will Wyatt be able to help Elise get past what happened to her and start to live again? Will Elise be able to get in touch with her Wolf again?


    I thought that this was an enjoyable book. Elise went through a horrible experience. She has been trying to protect herself emotionally ever since. But she just can't get Wyatt out of her head. When she is in danger Wyatt is there for her. I think that the patience that Wyatt has with Elise why she is fighting her emotional battle and getting over her fears is Amazing. I would definitely recommend reading.

    ' Read and Reviewed by LSK Sweetheart Reviews '

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Loved this book, and it goes well with the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Stella

    Pads in

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3