Customer Reviews for

Dark World: Into the Shadows with the Lead Investigator of the Ghost Adventures Crew

Average Rating 4.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

The Chilling Adventure You Knew It Would Be

The Lead Investigator of The Ghost Adventures Crew, Zak Bagans, teamed up with Kelly Crigger to bring you an in-depth, behind the scenes look at paranormal investigations and the series of events that took a kid from Washington D.C. to some of the scariest places on Ear...
The Lead Investigator of The Ghost Adventures Crew, Zak Bagans, teamed up with Kelly Crigger to bring you an in-depth, behind the scenes look at paranormal investigations and the series of events that took a kid from Washington D.C. to some of the scariest places on Earth.

Admittedly, I've only seen the show a few times, but was intrigued enough to spend a few hours reading this book. I'm not sure what I expected to find or hoped would be inside the pages. Whatever it was, I enjoyed reading his take on what he's experienced. Any fan of the show or searching for what's beyond the grave will undoubtedly be in for a wild and exciting ride.

You want bone chilling, first had recollections of encounters with evil entities? You got it! You want a crash course history lesson on exorcisms, rites of passages, and the most haunted places in the world? You got it! You want a glimpse of the future and what paranormal activity experts can contribute to the crime-solving world? You got it!

Above all, the book is very well written and easy to read and follow. This is a must own for any fan of the show or anyone interested in pursuing a career a similar field as Zak. Be careful though, the warning on the inside of the cover wants you to be aware that if you try this stuff on your own, it might not turn out so well.

posted by JasonMoles on September 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Zak Bagans - The master of fallacious reasoning

If you are over 12 years old and have a reasonable amount of education (that is, you are not easily swayed by people just telling you to believe things), this book is likely to make you laugh out loud. It tries so hard to be a "serious" book, however, none of the reaso...
If you are over 12 years old and have a reasonable amount of education (that is, you are not easily swayed by people just telling you to believe things), this book is likely to make you laugh out loud. It tries so hard to be a "serious" book, however, none of the reasoning can hold any veracity. My favorite part was the chapter devoted to "science." This is where Zak is at his best. He launches into some "theories" (that are based on absolutely NO empirical data whatsoever)and states them as fact.

I also really enjoyed when Zak would discuss the use of his scientific equipment on investigations. The flaw here is that he never provides the reader with what typical baseline readings are. It would have been much more effective if he could have provided a table or chart with a range of readings that he has gotten in various locations.

It is little wonder that the book was not picked up by a larger publishing house, this book is risky in content. It is not clear what Bagans and Crigger had in mind for the purpose of this book. Was it to give background information on Zak? Is it to provide a recap on Ghost Adventures episodes? The text itself is a bit schizoprhenic. As you read, you find yourself saying "Now, why did they write that?" The whole thing just seems out of step.

The CONCEPT of the book is a good one. The problem is in the execution of the book. Unfortunately, a total rewrite of this book is in order to save it. There is some good information beneath some of the silliness. I think you rushed this one, Zak. Take your time on the next one...do not underestimate the use of a detailed outline.

posted by 9790144 on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    The Chilling Adventure You Knew It Would Be

    The Lead Investigator of The Ghost Adventures Crew, Zak Bagans, teamed up with Kelly Crigger to bring you an in-depth, behind the scenes look at paranormal investigations and the series of events that took a kid from Washington D.C. to some of the scariest places on Earth.

    Admittedly, I've only seen the show a few times, but was intrigued enough to spend a few hours reading this book. I'm not sure what I expected to find or hoped would be inside the pages. Whatever it was, I enjoyed reading his take on what he's experienced. Any fan of the show or searching for what's beyond the grave will undoubtedly be in for a wild and exciting ride.

    You want bone chilling, first had recollections of encounters with evil entities? You got it! You want a crash course history lesson on exorcisms, rites of passages, and the most haunted places in the world? You got it! You want a glimpse of the future and what paranormal activity experts can contribute to the crime-solving world? You got it!

    Above all, the book is very well written and easy to read and follow. This is a must own for any fan of the show or anyone interested in pursuing a career a similar field as Zak. Be careful though, the warning on the inside of the cover wants you to be aware that if you try this stuff on your own, it might not turn out so well.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly, highly recommended!!!

    This book is going to be AWESOME!!! Zak Bagans is the one and only leader in paranormal investigation! If you are a Ghost Adventures fan, you have to get this book!!!

    15 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Loved

    If you like ghost adventures you will love this book. I loved this book. It really opened my eyes about the paranormal. I couldnt put it down.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Zak Bagans - The master of fallacious reasoning

    If you are over 12 years old and have a reasonable amount of education (that is, you are not easily swayed by people just telling you to believe things), this book is likely to make you laugh out loud. It tries so hard to be a "serious" book, however, none of the reasoning can hold any veracity. My favorite part was the chapter devoted to "science." This is where Zak is at his best. He launches into some "theories" (that are based on absolutely NO empirical data whatsoever)and states them as fact.

    I also really enjoyed when Zak would discuss the use of his scientific equipment on investigations. The flaw here is that he never provides the reader with what typical baseline readings are. It would have been much more effective if he could have provided a table or chart with a range of readings that he has gotten in various locations.

    It is little wonder that the book was not picked up by a larger publishing house, this book is risky in content. It is not clear what Bagans and Crigger had in mind for the purpose of this book. Was it to give background information on Zak? Is it to provide a recap on Ghost Adventures episodes? The text itself is a bit schizoprhenic. As you read, you find yourself saying "Now, why did they write that?" The whole thing just seems out of step.

    The CONCEPT of the book is a good one. The problem is in the execution of the book. Unfortunately, a total rewrite of this book is in order to save it. There is some good information beneath some of the silliness. I think you rushed this one, Zak. Take your time on the next one...do not underestimate the use of a detailed outline.

    12 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Unique and informative

    This is not just another account of "ghost stories". As well as findings from his investigations, Mr. Bagans goes into detail about the theories and aciences that go along with ghost hunting. He gives tips on proper technique and explains essential gear and equipment. Whether a sceptic, casual ghost hunter, or superfan i think you will enjoy this. It is a great read!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Did I read the same book as everyone else?

    I cannot believe BN is allowing Zak's fangirls to leave 5-star ratings without having even read the book. There are several reviews in which the rater writes that s/he cannot wait to get the book. Huh? What? It seems unethical to leave a 5-star review when you do not even HAVE the book. Even more surprising is that other people are rating the review as helpful.

    I have read the book and find it trite and nothing more than a rehash of the Ghost Adventures episodes. If you are a fan of the show, then you will really find nothing new in this book.

    Perhaps the most disconcerting thing about this book is the actual writing itself. At times, the tone tries to be serious. At other times the language is actually too laid back and falls into slang. It is obvious when Kelly Crigger is wrting and when Zak Bagans is writing. This split personality of having two writers has an end result of the book never finding a voice.

    Zak also uses the technique of subheadings within each chapter instead of natural transitions. These subheadings have no natural or logical connection to each other topically and leave the reader pondering how the topics relate.

    This is a very freshman effort and could have used an editor to guide the authors more. For instance, several times Bagans would write about an investigation and instead of completing the story, he would write "hold that thought." This technique is very frustrating in a book. Someone doing a live presentation may be able to get away with that once, but an author cannot do that several times in a book.

    As for providing information to fledgling investigators, the information was so scant it was practically useless. Those looking to learn about paranormal investigating would be advised to look elsewhere.

    The most interesting aspect of the book was learning about the events that lead to the development of the Mel Meter.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    GREAT READ!!!!

    I had the honor of getting one of the first copies of this book printed. WOW!!! Its a must read if you are in to paranormal activity like I am.

    Great job Zak and Mr. Crigger

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    CAN'T WAIT!

    I love GA and Zak...I've been waiting for the book for a long time! can't wait to finally get it!!

    9 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    good read!

    This is an excellent book with not one dull part.Honestly, I didn't expect it to be this good. I love how he explains all the history about the places he's investigated.And there is a scare factor too.Hate to admit it but I had to leave my bedroom door open a couple of night, so the hall light would shine in! You won't be disappointed! Great job, Zak & Kelly! Hope they write another.....

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Great read!!

    I loved the book!!! Easy to read and enjoyable. You can definitely feel how passionate zak is about his career!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Scary Good

    Well done gents! I'm only about 3/4 of the way through but felt obliged to post because I needed an excuse to put it down and take a breather. I'm definitely in the skeptic category in regards to the paranormal, but after a few pages of Dark World I find myself looking at life (and the afterlife) through a completely different lens. Believable, entertaining, educational, and eerie. If those adjectives are what you're looking for in a book, pick this one up today. It also presents a great tale of the American Dream in action and what a little perseverance and a lot of passion can do for a fulfilling career. Enjoy!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Far More than Things that Go Bump in the Night

    Congratulations to Lead Investigator Zak Bagans of Ghost Adventures and co-author Kelly Crigger on presenting very well written and easy to read journey into some of the "spookiest" locations on the planet. I enjoyed the attention to detail and explanation of procedure behind the experiences.

    Having worked in one of the places toured in the series, I can testify to the occurrence of inexplicable phenomena that is not always benign. Whether one believes or not, the book is exciting, interesting and thought provoking and was a delightful volume to curl up with on a stormy night. Admittedly, I did go check the doors once in mid-read.

    The subject history is enlightening, the first-person encounters are at times terrifying and the opportunity to learn more about what we don't know is fascinating. Hopefully, there will be a sequel!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    A NO GO TO MUCH REDUNENCE NOT ENOUGH THOUGHT

    I read the book and have come to the conclusion this book was written for all the bubblegum chewing," I want Zak " wearing fans that are'nt interested in something more substantial. Perhaps The Times should review who is making whom a best seller. The book was a recant of all the lockdowns no more then watching reruns. And who is allowing "fans" to review a book they have'nt read? How does one come to be on the best seller list? What is written between the covers or how many fans one has?

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    A great read!

    This book was recommended by a friend of mine who loves Zak's show. It's well written, and grabs you from the start. Even for a skeptic of the whole "paranormal" world, his experiences are intriguing and definitely make you wonder what's really out there! A fun book to read and highly recommended!

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Sa-weeet!!!

    Received my copy yesterday. Have not put it down yet. Has great story telling and writing. Been a fan for only a couple of years, since the live Halloween special. Awesome. Checkout the show and this book.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Leave it on the shelf.

    Worthless, exactly what you would expect from a moronic TV personality who has no real concept of what paranormal investigation and research is about.

    Do yourself a favor and save the money so we can get this loser out of the spotlight.

    5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!!!!!

    Can't wait to read this book!!! I'm a big fan of the Ghost Adventures and I'm really excited that Zak finally wrote a book about everything! If you are into the paranormal then this is a MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    About time

    Zak is one of my favorite ghost hunters. I enjoy watching him on TV and no longer watch the others....R we going to be able to get autographed copys of this book Zak?
    thanks...jill

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    OMG!

    I read clips of the book and it is a must read for sure! Count me in! Zak, Aaron, and Nick are the best when it comes to Ghost hunting and I want to hear Zaks take on all of this!!

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    NOOK BOOK?

    Can anyone tell me if this book will be available as a NOOK Book?!?!
    I sure hope so, because I can't wait to read it!

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9