Customer Reviews for

Dark World: Into the Shadows with the Lead Investigator of The Ghost Adventures Crew

Average Rating 4.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

The Chilling Adventure You Knew It Would Be

The Lead Investigator of The Ghost Adventures Crew, Zak Bagans, teamed up with Kelly Crigger to bring you an in-depth, behind the scenes look at paranormal investigations and the series of events that took a kid from Washington D.C. to some of the scariest places on Ear...
The Lead Investigator of The Ghost Adventures Crew, Zak Bagans, teamed up with Kelly Crigger to bring you an in-depth, behind the scenes look at paranormal investigations and the series of events that took a kid from Washington D.C. to some of the scariest places on Earth.

Admittedly, I've only seen the show a few times, but was intrigued enough to spend a few hours reading this book. I'm not sure what I expected to find or hoped would be inside the pages. Whatever it was, I enjoyed reading his take on what he's experienced. Any fan of the show or searching for what's beyond the grave will undoubtedly be in for a wild and exciting ride.

You want bone chilling, first had recollections of encounters with evil entities? You got it! You want a crash course history lesson on exorcisms, rites of passages, and the most haunted places in the world? You got it! You want a glimpse of the future and what paranormal activity experts can contribute to the crime-solving world? You got it!

Above all, the book is very well written and easy to read and follow. This is a must own for any fan of the show or anyone interested in pursuing a career a similar field as Zak. Be careful though, the warning on the inside of the cover wants you to be aware that if you try this stuff on your own, it might not turn out so well.

posted by JasonMoles on September 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Zak Bagans - The master of fallacious reasoning

If you are over 12 years old and have a reasonable amount of education (that is, you are not easily swayed by people just telling you to believe things), this book is likely to make you laugh out loud. It tries so hard to be a "serious" book, however, none of the reaso...
If you are over 12 years old and have a reasonable amount of education (that is, you are not easily swayed by people just telling you to believe things), this book is likely to make you laugh out loud. It tries so hard to be a "serious" book, however, none of the reasoning can hold any veracity. My favorite part was the chapter devoted to "science." This is where Zak is at his best. He launches into some "theories" (that are based on absolutely NO empirical data whatsoever)and states them as fact.

I also really enjoyed when Zak would discuss the use of his scientific equipment on investigations. The flaw here is that he never provides the reader with what typical baseline readings are. It would have been much more effective if he could have provided a table or chart with a range of readings that he has gotten in various locations.

It is little wonder that the book was not picked up by a larger publishing house, this book is risky in content. It is not clear what Bagans and Crigger had in mind for the purpose of this book. Was it to give background information on Zak? Is it to provide a recap on Ghost Adventures episodes? The text itself is a bit schizoprhenic. As you read, you find yourself saying "Now, why did they write that?" The whole thing just seems out of step.

The CONCEPT of the book is a good one. The problem is in the execution of the book. Unfortunately, a total rewrite of this book is in order to save it. There is some good information beneath some of the silliness. I think you rushed this one, Zak. Take your time on the next one...do not underestimate the use of a detailed outline.

posted by 9790144 on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    I want my money back!

    I wish I had more positive things to write about this book, but unless you are a 12 year old girl, this book will most likely not appeal to you. Although Zak really, really tries to come across as an earnest writer/investigator he just cannot pull it off. His true personality ultimately shines through and he manages to contradict himself throughout the book. At times he writes that he wants the "skeptics" to shoulder the brunt of scientific research, at others he writes that the "skeptics" will never do the research or be satisfied. With statements like these, Zak manages to villify a group of people who believe in using the scientific method as opposed to just blind faith. This has had a profound effect on the many young fans of his who constantly come to his defense and cyber bully anyone who dares to question the existence of ghosts or the Ghost Adventures show. As such, this book and Zak's treatment of science is socially irresponsible. He includes a chapter on "science" in this book which are all his own theories which are not supported by any studies that have been published in peer-reviewed journals. However, thousands of young people who worship Zak Bagans will now think he is actually writing the "truth." The last section of the book has several of his friends who added some information on what they perceive to be the "future" of paranormal investigation. Again, the flaw here is that Bagans did not reach out to anyone in the scientific community or who was not already a buddy. It is interesting that this book has received NO reviews outside of his friends in the paranormal community...no one from any reputable source has reviewed this book. Save your money. If you are curious about this book, wait until your local library gets it or it shows up in the 99 cent bin.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    thought provoking

    Very interesting book. Like how it shows things from all points of view. Fun to read and not boring or trying too hard. Unique thoughts.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    ENTERTAINING

    Almost as good as watching the show!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Great bok

    I recomend to all readers and ghost adventures fans!i absoulotley loved it!read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    if you love ghost and zak bagans then you have to read this

    I havn't read it yet ,but when I do i'm going to love it because i love ghost and I LOVE ZAK BAGANS!!!!!!!

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    ZAK BAGANS IS SOOO HOT I WILL DO ANYTHING FOR HIM!!! ID EVEN JUMP OFF CLIFF I WILL MEET HOM ONE DAY MY ROOM IS FILLED WITH HIM I KNOW HIS BDAY HIS AGE HIA FAV COLOR I HAVE BIOGRPHYS OF HIM I HAVE A BUILD A BEAR THAT I MADE LOOK LIKE HIM I HAVE A VOODOO DOLL THAT I MASE OF HIM I HAVE POSTERS I HAVE A SHIRT THAT SAYS ZAKKY IS MINE!!!!!!!!
    I HAVE ALL THE EPISODES HE EVER DID IM FRIENDS WITH HIM ON TWITTER AND FACEBOOK I PRIVATE CHATTED WITH HIM AND HE SAID HE THINKS IM CUTE AND COOL I KNOW EVERY SINGLE PLACE HE EVER INVESTIGATED IVE WTCHED EVERY VIDEO THEY DID ON YOUTUBE HE EVEN SAID HE THINKS IM PRETTY/BEAUTIFUL/GORGEOUS/CUTE/ADORABLE WE HAVE SO MUVH IN COMMON ME AND ZAK ARE PERFECT I ASKED HIM IF HE HAS EVER SEEN THE MOVIE TITANIC AND HE SAID YES HE LOVED IT
    YOU CAN ASK ME ANYTHING ABOUT ZAK OR THE GAC CREW I DREW A PICTURE OF HIM SO YEAH DONT SAY YOUR HIS BIGGEST FAN BECAUSE I AM MEEE I AM IM HIS #1/BIGGEST FAN I LOVE ZAK MORE THAN ANY OF YOU
    ME AND MY FRIEND MADE A SHOW CALLED THE ZAK SHOW AND WE BASICALLY TALK ABOUT ZAK AND THE GAC CREW WERE GOING TO BE POSTING IT ON YOUTUBE SINCE WE HAVE AN ACCOUNT SO YEAH ILL ALWAYS LOVE ZAK FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE ZAK IF YOURE READING THIS I WANT TO TELL YOU I LOVE YOU AND THAT ONE DAY WE'LL BE TOGETHER IT'S JUST A MATTER OF TIME
    ZAK IS A HOTTY AND WE ALL KNOW THAT NO MATTER WHAT HAPPENDS IM ALWAYS GOING TO BE HIS #1 FAN AND NO ONE CAN MAKE ME STOP LOVING ZAK IM ALWAYS GOING TO LOVE HIM. OKAY BYE PEOPLE!!!! :)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I like the way the book was put together. I enjoyed the detailed

    I like the way the book was put together. I enjoyed the detailed descriptions and things they didn't show on the tv show ghost adventures, but it is pointless to read if you have seen every single episode of ghost adventures. It is basically the show in book form with just a little added detail. Also, I must say I enjoyed the pictures in each chapter of Zak Bagans. He is one handsome man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    My scariest encounter w/ some black thing w/ red eyes

    Zak bagans, i myself had experince something like u but scarier. My cousin was babysitting me + my siblings i saw something outside my window ( since i slept by one) went back to bed then this thing came out of nowhere cause i saw the street lights come towards me i knew at that moment i lived in a haunted house near grant elementry school i noticed that my bffs didn't want to come over at all so now i live by maran prarie in Spokane,Washington. Yet, i want to be like u thats y i whatch ur show when i can i think i would want to be a part of ur ga crew Zak i also whatch u get pissed off cuz u had 2 ride a unhappy paint horse in nevada iread ur book all the way to pg 33 i notice that one of the pics in the book u were in orgeon and wat seemed to be cannon beach.i also want to say i<3 u zak bagans + aaron goodwin plus my sis put her gum right next to urs on the gumwall in seattle which aaron did a vlog about it weird aaron right.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Love u zak!

    I just bought this book! I have a huge crush on you zak, i think you are smart,funny,clever,handsome,strong,and i really like that. You are a good writer, but i didnt like the book at all, i loved it! I really think if you are GAC fan, BUY IT!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Doesn't fit onto the Nooks screen, you can only see part of the

    Doesn't fit onto the Nooks screen, you can only see part of the table of contents. Same with the nook app on an iPad. I don't want to start reading it just to find out there is more of the book missing.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Had high hopes HA Ad Had high hopes, bur Had high hopes, but couldn't even finish ...

    The topic was interesting and I was excited to learn a bit about his background, but simply put, the dude can not write. It was just too terrible to continue reading anymore ...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved the book! Great read if you are a Ghost Adventures fan, interested in the paranormal, or even if you are a skeptic. After you finish the book, I bet all you skeptics out there will become believers thanks to Zak! I <3 GAC!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Interested in the paranormal? Then read this book.

    Well written and very informative. Wether your interest in the paranormal is new or you delved deep into the field long ago you'll enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great book!!!

    I could not put this book down! Great read for any paranormal fan!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Highly recommended to all

    "I never believing in ghost until I came face to face with one" Zak Bagans says. Skeptic or believer, fan of Zak Bagans or not, Dark World by Zak Bagans is an amazing book. It'll sent chills down your back, and makes you wonder if there really is such thing as life after death. It feels as if he's reading it to you and tells you the thrilling adventures he's gone on as it is. A New York's Bestseller that'll make you never put it down and might even make you go on an investigation yourself to seek the truth about the paranormal.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    LOVED!!!!!

    This was sooooo good i just finished and toataly recaamened to any GAC gans:)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Nick Groff writes a better book!

    This was an 'okay' read but more appropiate for Zak's lovesick girly fans! I preferred Nick Groff's " Chasing Spirits". Save your money & watch his show instead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Zakie

    I love zakie boo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Fascinating, Thrilling & A Must Read!!

    Zak Bagans personal experience within the paranormal field is fascinating, thrilling and a major help to those interested in this particular field. Zak's experiences are real, true and honest; something you don't always find nowadays. Once i started reading Dark World i couldn't stop reading it. Very excited to see what else Zak Bagans writes in the future, i know it'll be just as awesomely amazing as Dark World. Zak Bagans keep up the great work, keep doing what you do and know you are such a true inspiration and hero to so many people!! Much love and respect!! #GACFamily

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I can't seem to put this book down. This is easily one of my top

    I can't seem to put this book down. This is easily one of my top favorite books, and the pictures in it aren't too shabby either.....such a hottie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9