Customer Reviews for

Dark World: Into the Shadows with the Lead Investigator of The Ghost Adventures Crew

Average Rating 4.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

The Chilling Adventure You Knew It Would Be

The Lead Investigator of The Ghost Adventures Crew, Zak Bagans, teamed up with Kelly Crigger to bring you an in-depth, behind the scenes look at paranormal investigations and the series of events that took a kid from Washington D.C. to some of the scariest places on Ear...
The Lead Investigator of The Ghost Adventures Crew, Zak Bagans, teamed up with Kelly Crigger to bring you an in-depth, behind the scenes look at paranormal investigations and the series of events that took a kid from Washington D.C. to some of the scariest places on Earth.

Admittedly, I've only seen the show a few times, but was intrigued enough to spend a few hours reading this book. I'm not sure what I expected to find or hoped would be inside the pages. Whatever it was, I enjoyed reading his take on what he's experienced. Any fan of the show or searching for what's beyond the grave will undoubtedly be in for a wild and exciting ride.

You want bone chilling, first had recollections of encounters with evil entities? You got it! You want a crash course history lesson on exorcisms, rites of passages, and the most haunted places in the world? You got it! You want a glimpse of the future and what paranormal activity experts can contribute to the crime-solving world? You got it!

Above all, the book is very well written and easy to read and follow. This is a must own for any fan of the show or anyone interested in pursuing a career a similar field as Zak. Be careful though, the warning on the inside of the cover wants you to be aware that if you try this stuff on your own, it might not turn out so well.

posted by JasonMoles on September 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Zak Bagans - The master of fallacious reasoning

If you are over 12 years old and have a reasonable amount of education (that is, you are not easily swayed by people just telling you to believe things), this book is likely to make you laugh out loud. It tries so hard to be a "serious" book, however, none of the reaso...
If you are over 12 years old and have a reasonable amount of education (that is, you are not easily swayed by people just telling you to believe things), this book is likely to make you laugh out loud. It tries so hard to be a "serious" book, however, none of the reasoning can hold any veracity. My favorite part was the chapter devoted to "science." This is where Zak is at his best. He launches into some "theories" (that are based on absolutely NO empirical data whatsoever)and states them as fact.

I also really enjoyed when Zak would discuss the use of his scientific equipment on investigations. The flaw here is that he never provides the reader with what typical baseline readings are. It would have been much more effective if he could have provided a table or chart with a range of readings that he has gotten in various locations.

It is little wonder that the book was not picked up by a larger publishing house, this book is risky in content. It is not clear what Bagans and Crigger had in mind for the purpose of this book. Was it to give background information on Zak? Is it to provide a recap on Ghost Adventures episodes? The text itself is a bit schizoprhenic. As you read, you find yourself saying "Now, why did they write that?" The whole thing just seems out of step.

The CONCEPT of the book is a good one. The problem is in the execution of the book. Unfortunately, a total rewrite of this book is in order to save it. There is some good information beneath some of the silliness. I think you rushed this one, Zak. Take your time on the next one...do not underestimate the use of a detailed outline.

posted by 9790144 on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly, highly recommended!!!

    This book is going to be AWESOME!!! Zak Bagans is the one and only leader in paranormal investigation! If you are a Ghost Adventures fan, you have to get this book!!!

    15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Loved

    If you like ghost adventures you will love this book. I loved this book. It really opened my eyes about the paranormal. I couldnt put it down.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    GREAT READ!!!!

    I had the honor of getting one of the first copies of this book printed. WOW!!! Its a must read if you are in to paranormal activity like I am.

    Great job Zak and Mr. Crigger

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    CAN'T WAIT!

    I love GA and Zak...I've been waiting for the book for a long time! can't wait to finally get it!!

    9 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    good read!

    This is an excellent book with not one dull part.Honestly, I didn't expect it to be this good. I love how he explains all the history about the places he's investigated.And there is a scare factor too.Hate to admit it but I had to leave my bedroom door open a couple of night, so the hall light would shine in! You won't be disappointed! Great job, Zak & Kelly! Hope they write another.....

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Great read!!

    I loved the book!!! Easy to read and enjoyable. You can definitely feel how passionate zak is about his career!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Scary Good

    Well done gents! I'm only about 3/4 of the way through but felt obliged to post because I needed an excuse to put it down and take a breather. I'm definitely in the skeptic category in regards to the paranormal, but after a few pages of Dark World I find myself looking at life (and the afterlife) through a completely different lens. Believable, entertaining, educational, and eerie. If those adjectives are what you're looking for in a book, pick this one up today. It also presents a great tale of the American Dream in action and what a little perseverance and a lot of passion can do for a fulfilling career. Enjoy!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Far More than Things that Go Bump in the Night

    Congratulations to Lead Investigator Zak Bagans of Ghost Adventures and co-author Kelly Crigger on presenting very well written and easy to read journey into some of the "spookiest" locations on the planet. I enjoyed the attention to detail and explanation of procedure behind the experiences.

    Having worked in one of the places toured in the series, I can testify to the occurrence of inexplicable phenomena that is not always benign. Whether one believes or not, the book is exciting, interesting and thought provoking and was a delightful volume to curl up with on a stormy night. Admittedly, I did go check the doors once in mid-read.

    The subject history is enlightening, the first-person encounters are at times terrifying and the opportunity to learn more about what we don't know is fascinating. Hopefully, there will be a sequel!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    A great read!

    This book was recommended by a friend of mine who loves Zak's show. It's well written, and grabs you from the start. Even for a skeptic of the whole "paranormal" world, his experiences are intriguing and definitely make you wonder what's really out there! A fun book to read and highly recommended!

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Sa-weeet!!!

    Received my copy yesterday. Have not put it down yet. Has great story telling and writing. Been a fan for only a couple of years, since the live Halloween special. Awesome. Checkout the show and this book.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!!!!!

    Can't wait to read this book!!! I'm a big fan of the Ghost Adventures and I'm really excited that Zak finally wrote a book about everything! If you are into the paranormal then this is a MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    About time

    Zak is one of my favorite ghost hunters. I enjoy watching him on TV and no longer watch the others....R we going to be able to get autographed copys of this book Zak?
    thanks...jill

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    OMG!

    I read clips of the book and it is a must read for sure! Count me in! Zak, Aaron, and Nick are the best when it comes to Ghost hunting and I want to hear Zaks take on all of this!!

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    NOOK BOOK?

    Can anyone tell me if this book will be available as a NOOK Book?!?!
    I sure hope so, because I can't wait to read it!

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    thought provoking

    Very interesting book. Like how it shows things from all points of view. Fun to read and not boring or trying too hard. Unique thoughts.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    ENTERTAINING

    Almost as good as watching the show!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Great bok

    I recomend to all readers and ghost adventures fans!i absoulotley loved it!read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    if you love ghost and zak bagans then you have to read this

    I havn't read it yet ,but when I do i'm going to love it because i love ghost and I LOVE ZAK BAGANS!!!!!!!

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    ZAK BAGANS IS SOOO HOT I WILL DO ANYTHING FOR HIM!!! ID EVEN JUMP OFF CLIFF I WILL MEET HOM ONE DAY MY ROOM IS FILLED WITH HIM I KNOW HIS BDAY HIS AGE HIA FAV COLOR I HAVE BIOGRPHYS OF HIM I HAVE A BUILD A BEAR THAT I MADE LOOK LIKE HIM I HAVE A VOODOO DOLL THAT I MASE OF HIM I HAVE POSTERS I HAVE A SHIRT THAT SAYS ZAKKY IS MINE!!!!!!!!
    I HAVE ALL THE EPISODES HE EVER DID IM FRIENDS WITH HIM ON TWITTER AND FACEBOOK I PRIVATE CHATTED WITH HIM AND HE SAID HE THINKS IM CUTE AND COOL I KNOW EVERY SINGLE PLACE HE EVER INVESTIGATED IVE WTCHED EVERY VIDEO THEY DID ON YOUTUBE HE EVEN SAID HE THINKS IM PRETTY/BEAUTIFUL/GORGEOUS/CUTE/ADORABLE WE HAVE SO MUVH IN COMMON ME AND ZAK ARE PERFECT I ASKED HIM IF HE HAS EVER SEEN THE MOVIE TITANIC AND HE SAID YES HE LOVED IT
    YOU CAN ASK ME ANYTHING ABOUT ZAK OR THE GAC CREW I DREW A PICTURE OF HIM SO YEAH DONT SAY YOUR HIS BIGGEST FAN BECAUSE I AM MEEE I AM IM HIS #1/BIGGEST FAN I LOVE ZAK MORE THAN ANY OF YOU
    ME AND MY FRIEND MADE A SHOW CALLED THE ZAK SHOW AND WE BASICALLY TALK ABOUT ZAK AND THE GAC CREW WERE GOING TO BE POSTING IT ON YOUTUBE SINCE WE HAVE AN ACCOUNT SO YEAH ILL ALWAYS LOVE ZAK FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE ZAK IF YOURE READING THIS I WANT TO TELL YOU I LOVE YOU AND THAT ONE DAY WE'LL BE TOGETHER IT'S JUST A MATTER OF TIME
    ZAK IS A HOTTY AND WE ALL KNOW THAT NO MATTER WHAT HAPPENDS IM ALWAYS GOING TO BE HIS #1 FAN AND NO ONE CAN MAKE ME STOP LOVING ZAK IM ALWAYS GOING TO LOVE HIM. OKAY BYE PEOPLE!!!! :)

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I like the way the book was put together. I enjoyed the detailed

    I like the way the book was put together. I enjoyed the detailed descriptions and things they didn't show on the tv show ghost adventures, but it is pointless to read if you have seen every single episode of ghost adventures. It is basically the show in book form with just a little added detail. Also, I must say I enjoyed the pictures in each chapter of Zak Bagans. He is one handsome man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7