Customer Reviews for

The Dark and Hollow Places (Forest of Hands and Teeth Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

This is one heck of a series. If anything it just keeps better and better. This is a continuation from the second book in Annah's point of view. And I admit, it was one good POV. Annah is waiting. Waiting for Elias to come back to her. It's been year and he is still no...
This is one heck of a series. If anything it just keeps better and better. This is a continuation from the second book in Annah's point of view. And I admit, it was one good POV. Annah is waiting. Waiting for Elias to come back to her. It's been year and he is still not there. She is determined to get back to her sister and begins looking for her. What Annah finds is not what she expected.

Let me tell you that Ms. Ryan did a great job describing the emotions off Annah. If one thing I enjoy in a book is being able to feel the characters as if my own. I like to read the story and walk in their feet. I felt Annah hearts in my hand. Annah is a strong girl and knows her place. She believes herself to be ugly and keeps all the guilt and hurt inside.

The reunion was...well mind blowing. Ms. Ryan did an excellent job describing and detailing everything. The hurt, the pain, the betrayal and most of the all, the jealousy. Even I was jealous at what I was reading! Ms. Ryan had a way of writing her characters to life. They felt so real, I felt them.

Catcher is a guy who is also broken like Annah. I knew they had a instant connection it was just a matter of time of which would fall first. Catcher held Annah and gave her strength. They have both been hurt the same ways. They had a bond and shared the same pain. I am happy that they were able to confide in each other.

Overall this book is just AMAZING! Simply amazing and beautiful. I can't even began to describe how much this book is a page turner. A magical page turner that will turn your life upside down.

posted by BooksWithBite on March 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Darkforest cats...

are EVIL.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    This is one heck of a series. If anything it just keeps better and better. This is a continuation from the second book in Annah's point of view. And I admit, it was one good POV. Annah is waiting. Waiting for Elias to come back to her. It's been year and he is still not there. She is determined to get back to her sister and begins looking for her. What Annah finds is not what she expected.

    Let me tell you that Ms. Ryan did a great job describing the emotions off Annah. If one thing I enjoy in a book is being able to feel the characters as if my own. I like to read the story and walk in their feet. I felt Annah hearts in my hand. Annah is a strong girl and knows her place. She believes herself to be ugly and keeps all the guilt and hurt inside.

    The reunion was...well mind blowing. Ms. Ryan did an excellent job describing and detailing everything. The hurt, the pain, the betrayal and most of the all, the jealousy. Even I was jealous at what I was reading! Ms. Ryan had a way of writing her characters to life. They felt so real, I felt them.

    Catcher is a guy who is also broken like Annah. I knew they had a instant connection it was just a matter of time of which would fall first. Catcher held Annah and gave her strength. They have both been hurt the same ways. They had a bond and shared the same pain. I am happy that they were able to confide in each other.

    Overall this book is just AMAZING! Simply amazing and beautiful. I can't even began to describe how much this book is a page turner. A magical page turner that will turn your life upside down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great read

    My friend picked up the forest of hands and teeth and told me it was the best zombie apocalypse novel ever. I agreed. What i like most about this series is how every relationship is intertwined....its amazing...
    I thought it was interesting when a cheerleader (out of everybody i know) picked this book up and read it. Read. Its awesome. You HAVE to start with the first book first to understand everything.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    The best

    Out of all the books in the series i liked this one the best. The forest of hands and teeth was kinda annoying with marys fixation on the ocean and the deadtossed waves was a little funky with the elias thing but this was the most beautiful. Even if you dont read the others i think you should read this one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I don't want this to be the end!

    Annah and Catcher vs. Elias and Gabry. I didn¿t realize how shiny Elias and Gabry¿s relationship was so clean. How fresh they seemed in the world full of broken people. I also didn¿t realize how unique and idyllic life in Vista had been for Gabry and Catcher growing up. Just makes me think back to the night Gabry and Catcher jumped the fence. At the time you knew it wasn¿t smart¿but the further away from that night we get¿the more of this world we see¿the more your heart aches, as a reader, for what those teens left behind that night. For what they unleashed in their community; a place that was peaceful before they opened Pandora¿s box.

    I was happy that in this installment Elias and Gabry¿s relationship was strong. Obviously they¿re being trailed by their past relationships. And those past relationships are very broken people. Annah has spent her life wounded and left behind¿as evidenced physically by her scars. Catcher is living in the inbetween; not yet unconsecrated and yet too scared of his infection to fully live. Ryan toes the line with this set of four. Elias and Gabry could have induced bitterness in both the reader and in Annah and Catcher with their display of happiness. In The Dark and Hollow Places we¿ve very much left behind Gabry and Elias¿s issues¿so they seem pretty perfect in comparison to Catcher and Annah. But, luckily, Catcher and Annah are aware they¿re broken. They know they need to fix something in themselves¿and they know that they share a bond. Catcher and Annah can help each other grow and fully live life. *Sigh* I loved watching them fall in love.

    This book has yet another zombie surge. Another city falls. Instead of feeling redundant I felt as though it seemed appropriate for the trajectory of society. That¿s honestly my favorite thing about these novels. Ryan set her world on a path of apocalyptic nature and she never deviated. Instead she gave her characters strength and hope for the future¿against catastrophic odds.

    I thought I would be content to see the end of this series happen with Catcher and Annah¿I¿m not! lol. I¿d love to see them survive on the ship¿find other pockets of people in this world¿watch the world finally end or sprout seeds for a new, stronger generation of humans.

    I loved that these were zombie books without being zombie books. And the way you fleshed out the post-apocalyptic world was beautiful. It was scary, and logical, and wonderfully effective. It¿s a world I don¿t want to see end¿

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Hjhf

    This is the saddest thing ever, its the last book!! I really wish that she wrote more. :(



    Score:10002222333345544546647467467568997531168911458123235525456375885796900852148074157961690931589072179610000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000099999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Darkforest cats...

    are EVIL.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Awesomeness

    This book is AWESOME!!! It's a must read!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Loveit!

    I didnt like it i loved loved loved it! Please write another book!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    I cant find it :(

    Well i want to read this book but i aint goin to pay for it. Naw, i dont want ta pay for it!!!!!! The library doesnt have the book. Dont you just hate it whan you read a book and maybey the second one and when you go to get the third they dont have it. It makes me soooo mad. For all you people that constantly read, yall want to get a big group and go to the library? I NEED THA OTHER BOOOOOKK. What am i going to do for the next few days. I could be done with the book in 3-5 days.(if i aint got nutten to do) help this fellow book worm. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    My favriot book ever!!!

    I love this book soo much its my favriot out of the whole series :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    D'Lee

    Now the Maze Runner series... even better (by like a million stars)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Great series

    Like her previous booms this one follows character we already know and meet a new ones as well. Beautifully written. Always leaves you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Perfect ending to a perfect series

    I cried that this book was over and I hate to read. The ending was perfect in so many ways but after you still want more because it is so amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This time the story is told from Annah's perspective. I really e

    This time the story is told from Annah's perspective. I really enjoyed seeing this world through her eyes. Each book brought us a different heroine that offered something different to the overall series. Annah showed the most growth as a character. I loved watching her story unfold. Carrie Ryan is an exceptional writer and story teller. She captures the good sides and the bad sides of humanity and weaves them into beautiful and believable stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Amazing

    The best of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Can't Wait!

    I have read the first two books and it blew my expectations out of the water! Can't wait to get the money to read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    More books

    They need to make books in the guys p.o.v

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Sci fi fan

    This series was by far the best thing that i have ever read. It captured such a disturbing essence. Gawd i freakin loved it, it deffinately changed the way that i looked at the world and it has only been a few days since i have read this series, i honestly was unable to read anything else. Same thing happened to me when i read the hunger games. I just can't stop thinkin about it. My fav character has to be Annah she is so daring and beholds such an apalling past and when cather comes into this book her past comes back to haunt her, the dark city is such a vast and decolate place that it gives me this chill that overtakes my body leaving me with this dark hole of emptiness in my heart, tgis author created the most beautiful and captivating series that i had to stop reading this book for a couple of minuets and do a spazz dance in facrti am spazzing right now. Tralalalala loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Awesome

    Action packed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12