Customer Reviews for

Dark and Stormy Knights

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

fine urban fantasy collection

This fine nine urban fantasy collection focuses on dark knights who protect the innocent and the not innocent from dark nights. The anthology contains five strong entries and four solid contributions. The best two tales are "Even Hand" by Jim Butcher with a Dresden co...
This fine nine urban fantasy collection focuses on dark knights who protect the innocent and the not innocent from dark nights. The anthology contains five strong entries and four solid contributions. The best two tales are "Even Hand" by Jim Butcher with a Dresden connection as his enemy Marcone has a grudge match with an inhuman sorcerer and Carrie Vaughn's "God's Creatures" with a Kitty connection as Cormac the hunter searches for a werewolf at a reform school. Also top quality are "Even a Rabbit Will Bite" by Rachel Caine starring a dragon slayer who faces unemployment and a fear what next since her prey are almost extinct; Vicki Pettersson's Shifting Star has a female lead who stalks a predator kidnapping young girls; and Ilona Andrews' Kate Daniels assigned to protect "A Questionable Client". The entertaining compilation also includes fun tales from Shannon K. Butcher, P.N. Elrod (a Jack Fleming thriller), Deidre Knight and Lilith Saintcrow.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dark and Stormy Knights

Ilona Andrews "A Questionable Client" I really enjoyed this novella. It reads like a prequel as Kate's first encounter with Saiman. It was interesting creative and action-packed. I am a huge Kate Daniel's fan; however this novella just didn't feel the same without Cu...
Ilona Andrews "A Questionable Client" I really enjoyed this novella. It reads like a prequel as Kate's first encounter with Saiman. It was interesting creative and action-packed. I am a huge Kate Daniel's fan; however this novella just didn't feel the same without Curran. 4.5/5

Jim Butcher "Evenhand" Mr. Marcone, a crime lord assists a desperate woman n the run whose plight is not as it seems. I haven't enjoyed many of Jim Butcher's novellas but I did enjoy this short story. The novella was interesting, felt hard-boilish and was full of action. 3/5

Shannon K. Butcher "The Beacon" Ryder is a hunter walking a fine line between villain and hero. This was my first experience reading any of Shannon's work and I enjoyed this novella. It was entertaining and fast moving. 3.5/5

Rachel Caine "Even a Rabbit Will Bite" This story really grabbed my attention in the beginning but after a quarter of the way through, the story just seem to drag on and on. Nothing exciting seemed to happen and the story became more about a dragon slayer's long and grueling training, than the exciting and dangerous profession of being a dragon slayer. I am not a fan of Rachel's Weather Warden series. I stopped reading it simply because there were too many convenient coincidences and it was becoming completely unbelievable, even for fantasy. 2/5

P.N. Elrod "Dark Lady" I've never clicked with P.N. Elrod's novellas in the past and this short story is no different. Even though this novella had a nice 1930s detective feel to it, the plot was completely predictable and boring. 1/5

Deidre Knight "Beknighted" This short story was way too bad paranormal romance for me and I just couldn't get into it. 0/5

Vicki Pettersson " Shifting Star" Skamar learns what it means to be human, with human frailties. This story was well done and extremely interesting. I am a huge Joanna Archer fan and this tease of a story made me salivate for the next book in the Sign of the Zodiac series The Neon Graveyard. 4/5

Lilith Saintcrow "Rockwood & Mrs. King" Rookwood, a vampire PI finds himself in a bind when a mysterious widow shows up with deep pockets and trouble. 3.5/5

Carrie Vaughn "God's Creatures" I just couldn't get into this short story, it was so boring. 0/5

Authors rarely seem to impress me these days and as far as anthologies go, this was ok. The only exceptions were Ilona Andrews and Vicki Pettersson's short stories. Without those novellas this anthology would have been a bust.

posted by kitkat3ny on August 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fine urban fantasy collection

    This fine nine urban fantasy collection focuses on dark knights who protect the innocent and the not innocent from dark nights. The anthology contains five strong entries and four solid contributions. The best two tales are "Even Hand" by Jim Butcher with a Dresden connection as his enemy Marcone has a grudge match with an inhuman sorcerer and Carrie Vaughn's "God's Creatures" with a Kitty connection as Cormac the hunter searches for a werewolf at a reform school. Also top quality are "Even a Rabbit Will Bite" by Rachel Caine starring a dragon slayer who faces unemployment and a fear what next since her prey are almost extinct; Vicki Pettersson's Shifting Star has a female lead who stalks a predator kidnapping young girls; and Ilona Andrews' Kate Daniels assigned to protect "A Questionable Client". The entertaining compilation also includes fun tales from Shannon K. Butcher, P.N. Elrod (a Jack Fleming thriller), Deidre Knight and Lilith Saintcrow.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    RAINCLAN DESCRIPTION

    Rainclan is a beautiful place, located in a forest filled, mountainous area, making the ground often sloping in one way or another. Camp is nestled at the very middle of two mountains, on the only level ground for miles. The Camp Barrier is made with bracken and underbrush, tightly woven together all around the perimeter. In the corner of the camp, a large tree rises, with one branch just low enough for an adult cat to spring to. This is High Branch. On the diagonal corner, is the Warriors' Den, a large green bush that flowers in new leaf. Next to it is the Apprentices' Den, which is based on the same type of bush, but smaller. The Leader's Den is not far from High Branch, in the back part of camp. It is a pricker bush, with a hole just wide enough for a cat to fit though. Inside is large enough up to threecats can sleep comfortably. Used as a hideout during attacks at some times. Next to the Leader's Den, but farther back in the corner, is the Elders' Den, a area with a boulder against the back, and the one spot in camp the sun hits perfectly, the boulder providing shade to hide under if one gets tired of the rays. The den itself is a bush with an arching open, the nests made of soft moss and any feathers not used in the nursery. The Nursery is a ways away from the Elders' Den, in between there and the Apprentices' and Warriors' Dens. It is also a pricker bush, with a wider entrance protected by bracken, and an inside area completely coated with bracken so kits don't hurt themselves. The nests are made off moss and feathers from prey. The Medicine Cat Den is across from the Warriors' Den, on the same side as High Branch. It's the largest den in camp, one large bush for sick cats, a circle of mossy nests, with three smaller bushes attatched. One smaller bush is used for herb storage, another as the Medicine Cat's Den, and the third as the Medicine Cat Apprentice's Den. The Main Clearing is a grassy clearing, with the center being the Fresh-Kill Pile. The entrance to camp is a hole in the bracken, with a pile of bracken beside it on the outside for extra wall support, or a blockage for the entrance if needed. Not far from the camp is the river, which bends around the camp, and can be reached easily from both back and front,but far enough away the camp is safe from the new leaf floods. Along the back bend of the river is Sunning Rocks, a sunny area with large flate stones along a stretch from the forest to the river bank. The training area is near the front of camp, a little ways away from the river. It is a short stretch of dirt, hard packed fom cats of many generations trodding across it. The dirtplace is not far from camp, though in the opposite direction of the river and training area. The rest of the territory is a fresh green forest. The border is a long ways from camp in both directions. May Starclan light your path, and may you never lose your way in your own territory!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark and Stormy Knights

    Ilona Andrews "A Questionable Client" I really enjoyed this novella. It reads like a prequel as Kate's first encounter with Saiman. It was interesting creative and action-packed. I am a huge Kate Daniel's fan; however this novella just didn't feel the same without Curran. 4.5/5

    Jim Butcher "Evenhand" Mr. Marcone, a crime lord assists a desperate woman n the run whose plight is not as it seems. I haven't enjoyed many of Jim Butcher's novellas but I did enjoy this short story. The novella was interesting, felt hard-boilish and was full of action. 3/5

    Shannon K. Butcher "The Beacon" Ryder is a hunter walking a fine line between villain and hero. This was my first experience reading any of Shannon's work and I enjoyed this novella. It was entertaining and fast moving. 3.5/5

    Rachel Caine "Even a Rabbit Will Bite" This story really grabbed my attention in the beginning but after a quarter of the way through, the story just seem to drag on and on. Nothing exciting seemed to happen and the story became more about a dragon slayer's long and grueling training, than the exciting and dangerous profession of being a dragon slayer. I am not a fan of Rachel's Weather Warden series. I stopped reading it simply because there were too many convenient coincidences and it was becoming completely unbelievable, even for fantasy. 2/5

    P.N. Elrod "Dark Lady" I've never clicked with P.N. Elrod's novellas in the past and this short story is no different. Even though this novella had a nice 1930s detective feel to it, the plot was completely predictable and boring. 1/5

    Deidre Knight "Beknighted" This short story was way too bad paranormal romance for me and I just couldn't get into it. 0/5

    Vicki Pettersson " Shifting Star" Skamar learns what it means to be human, with human frailties. This story was well done and extremely interesting. I am a huge Joanna Archer fan and this tease of a story made me salivate for the next book in the Sign of the Zodiac series The Neon Graveyard. 4/5

    Lilith Saintcrow "Rockwood & Mrs. King" Rookwood, a vampire PI finds himself in a bind when a mysterious widow shows up with deep pockets and trouble. 3.5/5

    Carrie Vaughn "God's Creatures" I just couldn't get into this short story, it was so boring. 0/5

    Authors rarely seem to impress me these days and as far as anthologies go, this was ok. The only exceptions were Ilona Andrews and Vicki Pettersson's short stories. Without those novellas this anthology would have been a bust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    The stories are all very good. Unfortunately I've read almost al

    The stories are all very good. Unfortunately I've read almost all of them in other anthologies. Which makes me feel very taken advantage of. I read two to three books a week and can't remember the titles of short stories I have read a year ago and shouldn't be expected to. In the past I've used anthologies to discover new and talented writers but after having this experience three times now I will no longer be buying them. I think it is unethical, if not downright dishonest, for writers and editors to put the same story in multiple collections. Just put me down as an unhappy customer. A very unhappy customer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Frostfur

    Sits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Flamewind

    Will you be my mate dreamwing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Eagle to snowshine

    Look at my bio i think your very attractive at bio look at crush then meet me back at res three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Frostkit

    Goes to the northclan border.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Lunapaw

    I am here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    good solid fantasy short stories

    For when you really cannot sit and read a book cover to cover. I think I have one of these as a novella from before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good

    I bought this book.


    Anthologies are increasingly serving as "samplers" for hungry paranormal readers, but books like this one prove anthologies can be more. In fact, the tales in this book all carry such depth and weight it's hard to choose a favorite. I'd advise readers to make this anthology one of the ones you pick up first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4