Customer Reviews for

Dark of Night (Troubleshooters Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Dark of Night has something for every reader

Suzanne Brockmann is back with the 14th installment of her popular SEAL/Troubleshooter series. Dark of Night puts closure to the threads and questions that began several books ago with the release of Flashpoint.

For the series reader, there are familiar charac...
Suzanne Brockmann is back with the 14th installment of her popular SEAL/Troubleshooter series. Dark of Night puts closure to the threads and questions that began several books ago with the release of Flashpoint.

For the series reader, there are familiar characters to follow. For the new reader, while Dark of Night is not overly saturated with introspection or description, there is enough that the book can function as a stand-alone read.

The plot in Dark of Night is tightly woven and very fast paced. It follows events and revelations in the relationships of three distinctly different couples (Nash and Tess, Dave and Sophia, Decker and Tracy) who are in different levels of their relationships and facing vastly different issues while confronting the one issue that they all have in common.

All the characters (main and secondary) are deeply involved in the pursuit of the person(s) who have kept fellow Troubleshooter Nash ensnared in very dark ops for The Agency. Here the reader will find echoes of a theme visited often by Suzanne Brockmann; that of the shadowy, out of control intelligence agencies now functioning in the United States and the need to stamp them out.

Balancing out the dark tone of the suspense are well placed, believable lighthearted moments, as well as some sizzling romantic moments, between the couples as they scramble to find the danger before it destroys not only the people they love, but everyone involved in the mission.

The dialog between the characters is well written and believable, as is the involvement and interaction of each character brought into the story. While there are quite a few 'cameo' appearances of past characters, each one has a specific reason and purpose for being brought into the action.

The discovery of the person(s) who were threatening Nash and the Troubleshooters, and the dispatching of said person(s) felt a little rushed, although not enough to lessen the suspense.

This is a book that I found to be a page turning adventure that left me feeling as though each character had found the happily ever after they were due.

posted by Gentry on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Very Different Characters

The new couples in Dark of Night may have worked had the characters not all changed their personalities.

Dave is now mini-Decker, Tracy is the smartest person at Troubleshooters, Sophia has lost her spunk, and Decker¿well Decker is the most different of all. ...
The new couples in Dark of Night may have worked had the characters not all changed their personalities.

Dave is now mini-Decker, Tracy is the smartest person at Troubleshooters, Sophia has lost her spunk, and Decker¿well Decker is the most different of all. Sophia and Decker finally talk to each other, but do not explain why it took them so many years to do so. That aspect was very disappointing. As was the big secret about Decker which was poorly executed and seemed to be in the book simply to shock readers.

On the good side, Jules appears. And one long-standing couple finally gets their act together.

I found it odd Decker and Nash did not have more scenes together.

The action plot is so-so. But the real mystery I found myself asking is ¿who are these people?¿

posted by DN22 on January 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    Dark of Night has something for every reader

    Suzanne Brockmann is back with the 14th installment of her popular SEAL/Troubleshooter series. Dark of Night puts closure to the threads and questions that began several books ago with the release of Flashpoint.<BR/><BR/>For the series reader, there are familiar characters to follow. For the new reader, while Dark of Night is not overly saturated with introspection or description, there is enough that the book can function as a stand-alone read.<BR/><BR/>The plot in Dark of Night is tightly woven and very fast paced. It follows events and revelations in the relationships of three distinctly different couples (Nash and Tess, Dave and Sophia, Decker and Tracy) who are in different levels of their relationships and facing vastly different issues while confronting the one issue that they all have in common.<BR/><BR/>All the characters (main and secondary) are deeply involved in the pursuit of the person(s) who have kept fellow Troubleshooter Nash ensnared in very dark ops for The Agency. Here the reader will find echoes of a theme visited often by Suzanne Brockmann; that of the shadowy, out of control intelligence agencies now functioning in the United States and the need to stamp them out. <BR/><BR/>Balancing out the dark tone of the suspense are well placed, believable lighthearted moments, as well as some sizzling romantic moments, between the couples as they scramble to find the danger before it destroys not only the people they love, but everyone involved in the mission.<BR/><BR/>The dialog between the characters is well written and believable, as is the involvement and interaction of each character brought into the story. While there are quite a few 'cameo' appearances of past characters, each one has a specific reason and purpose for being brought into the action.<BR/><BR/>The discovery of the person(s) who were threatening Nash and the Troubleshooters, and the dispatching of said person(s) felt a little rushed, although not enough to lessen the suspense.<BR/><BR/>This is a book that I found to be a page turning adventure that left me feeling as though each character had found the happily ever after they were due.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    Dark of Night---a fun and exciting read!

    I was lucky enough to get to read an ARC of Dark of Night and I LOVED it! This book totally worked for me. I urge all fans of Suz Brockmann to rush out and read this book before drawing any conclusions about it. I truly think it is among the best of the books in the Troubleshooters Series. The action and suspense kept me on the edge of my seat and the romance lover in me was totally satisfied. Dark of Night left me feeling very happy and contented with the way everything worked out.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    Very Different Characters

    The new couples in Dark of Night may have worked had the characters not all changed their personalities. <BR/><BR/>Dave is now mini-Decker, Tracy is the smartest person at Troubleshooters, Sophia has lost her spunk, and Decker¿well Decker is the most different of all. Sophia and Decker finally talk to each other, but do not explain why it took them so many years to do so. That aspect was very disappointing. As was the big secret about Decker which was poorly executed and seemed to be in the book simply to shock readers. <BR/><BR/>On the good side, Jules appears. And one long-standing couple finally gets their act together. <BR/><BR/>I found it odd Decker and Nash did not have more scenes together. <BR/><BR/>The action plot is so-so. But the real mystery I found myself asking is ¿who are these people?¿

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    very disappointed

    Not at all what I was hoping for. Felt the characters completely changed on me and very disappointed with the pairings. This is not why I read romance.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    Least favorite:

    I have loved all of Suzanne's books, but this was the most disappointing. I have put several books into wanting some couples together and am angry they did not end up together. I skipped through a lot of the plot, because I did not care about most of it. I loved seeing Jules, Sam, Alyssa and Ash. They were the best part of the book. I also loved Nash and Tess, but the rest was very disappointing.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    Terrible Book

    Ms. Brockmann has finally jumped the shark. Poor Kenny got shot. I think just about everyone in her books have now been shot. lol. Too bad Ms. Brockmann didn't put Dave and Decker out of their misery before writing this book. They are the most boring characters. Although probably better than reading about one of her last characters who turned out to be a pedophile. Yeah Izzy!<BR/><BR/>And the plot line was so convoluted, and ridiculous, it was laughable. <BR/><BR/>The whole series now seems like a money grab by Ms. Brockmann, with the unending story lines, and far fetched plots. Do yourself a favor.........don't buy this book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    It was so good!

    I was ready to be disappointed because Brockmann's been leaving so many relationships open ended. I have loved every Suzanne Brockmann book ever written, but Into the Fire wasn't one of my favorites because I never really liked Hannah and Vinh. They were too cold. Plus I really wanted to know more about all the other TS, Inc. people. But this installment was amazing; definitely one of the best. It finally explained so many things and I loved how Tess, Jimmy, Decker, Tracy, Sophia and Dave all got their happy endings. It was also great to see how Sam and Alyssa, Jules and Robin were all doing. I really hope the next one deals more with Izzy and Eden.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    Exciting Troubleshooters Installment

    In Dark of Night I had specific ideas about who and what I wanted to happen. However, Brockmann knew best and completely diverged from my own game plan<BR/><BR/>This book is a little different than previous troubleshooters stories since the terrorist/antagonist portion of the book is only a small part and the explanation of Nash and the Agency is not the most satisfying. Again, I still think Brockmann knows best because when this book ended I knew it was necessary for us to find a resolution with Sophia and Dexter and not split the story among too many plots. I can't wait for the next one!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not her best,

    but certainly not her worst. I enjoyed seeing more of Deck, and it's always nice to see other characters and how their relationships have progressed. I thought the plot was a little too convoluted though...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I adored DARK OF NIGHT!

    I loved the way Brockmann paired up the characters in this novel. I wouldn't have been nearly as satisfied with any other pairing. (Not that I knew that going into this novel!) I especially loved seeing Jules and Robin, Sam and Alyssa, Tess and Nash; tons of Troubleshooters made an appearance and I was THRILLED!<BR/><BR/>Loved the romance. Loved the suspense. Loved it all!<BR/><BR/>I recognize that many readers wished for a different romance for Deck and Sophia. I did too. Til I read DARK OF NIGHT. After reading DARK OF NIGHT, I understood why the characters paired the way they did. And I adored the romance. I truly did!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    She should just end the series!

    Her books have been going downhill for years. She wrote some great books at the beginning but I think she's writing like she's bored. It's been 14 Troubleshooter books - enough! Get something fresh going; her books are so convoluted I get a headache trying to remember who's who and what happen 5 years ago that the books don't make sense anymore.<BR/><BR/>Ms. Brockmann is a good writer; I just think she needs to move on from the Troubleshooters.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    Not My Favorite

    Too many characters wandering around in the first half of the book. After the plot finally starts coming together an easier read. I love all of Suzanne Brockmanns books. The last one Into The Fire was also confusing with all the characters running around. Be that it may, I still love everything she has written and will continue to do so.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    One of her best

    Suzanne Brockmann dazzle with yet another of her TroubleShooter series books. I is the kind of story that I was not able to put down. I loved all of the couples storylines & the plot was fantastic. Can't wait for the next book in the series. Suzanne cannot write fast enough!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging Troubleshooters romantic suspense tale

    In San Diego, except for a few in the know, most of the Troubleshooters remain in shock and denial after the shooting death of one of them Jimmy Nash (see INTO THE FIRE). Receptionist Tracy Shapiro and Jimmy¿s former partner Lawrence "Deck" Decker have always been attracted to one another, but though he knows Nash survived the hit and is in hiding at the home of his girlfriend Troubleshooter Tess Bailey, he remains concerned and more open than usual; so does Tess. Grieving their loss are operatives and lovers Dave Malkoff and pregnant Sophia Ghaffari.<BR/><BR/>To out Jimmy¿s ¿killer¿, the team begins a dangerous ploy against a culprit who knows the Troubleshooters so intimately he or she is always ahead of them. When Dave becomes the next target and is framed for murder, the cat and mouse game starts anew.<BR/><BR/>DARK OF NIGHT is an engaging Troubleshooters romantic suspense as three couples heat up the sheets (talk of corporate incest) and the streets. The action is fast-paced from the onset as the team struggles with someone who knows their turf and has a vendetta against them. As the romance supersedes the suspense, Suzanne Brockmann¿s myriad fans will relish this superb thriller as the Troubleshooters affirm the song Friends and Lovers (by Gloria Loring and Carl Anderson): ¿So I'll be your friend, And I'll be your lover Cause, I know in our hearts we agree, We don't have to be one or the other, Oh no, we could be both to each other¿ as long as have each other¿s back.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    Glad its over

    This was the end for me. I cant be locked into anymore series that yank my emotions and dont deliver. Dave/Sophia? - whatever. I really hope Dave takes that mechanic job. Decker/Tracy - smokin but....that's it? I felt really gipped by the time spent on them. I put aside the fact that Tracy became a genius, but I cant let go that I know barely anything about Decker...still. After 5 years. Nash/Tess - sweet but not high on my radar. Jules/Sam/many many others - funny moments but too many filler convos.

    Decker/Sophia - After 400 plus pages in thier concluding book I still cant figure these two out. Nothing was ever resolved except that they found other people. The past was discussed between them for about a page. If you can put on blinders to the previous books or if you didnt care about them, I'm sure you'll love this book. The plot was pretty good for a romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Has any one else read the previous books in this series?

    This book was HOT! I am suprised at the number of bad reviews, especially by people who thought that Decker and Sophia would get together. What books were they reading? Decker never gave any indication of being in love with Sophia and Sophia's love was definitely nothing more than hero worship. What their Troubleshooter friends thought was meaningless. One thing I love about Brockmann is that her characters are real. She knows that in the real world, people do not get together simply because they had a sexual encounter in a dangerous place or because their friends told them to. I hope Brockmann never changes. With Dark of Night, she remains my favorite romantic suspense author.
    Note: if you do not take the time to read Flashpoint first, you will not enjoy this book as much. The main characters are also further developed in Into The Storm and Into the Fire which both came before Dark of Night. To truly enjoy the depth of the characters that Brockmann has created here, it helps to read these books first.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    Disappointed

    This was a book I had been waiting for, I thought. The hint of a major romance between Decker and Sophia had been building through numerous books (at least it seemed that way to me) so when I read this book and found that was not the case at all, I was extremely disappointed. In fact when Decker told Tracey that he did not love Sophia and had never loved her it was like why spend all this time where even his friends thought that some day they would show up and Decker and Sophia would have gotten married over the weekend. The characters did things in this book that seemed off for them and I just did not get into the book.

    Though the Tracey character in this book was really good. I would of loved to see her get together with Izzy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    One of Brockmann's best. Hope it is not her last in the Troubleshooter Series.

    Great Read! Had trouble putting it down. Good to know some of her earlier characters are still the best.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I loved this book

    I have read through this series in two months and Suzanne Brockman just keeps getting better IMO. Her characters are realistic, sexy, and heroic at the same time. I was thrilled with Dave and Sophia's story and surprised to find myself caring about Decker this time around too. Great plot, lots of action, and very sexy romances.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    Sad & disappointed

    Review from Publisher's Weekly - - - - SPOILERS <BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>From Publisher's Weekly <BR/>Quote: <BR/>The spy games seldom interfere with the love games of the assorted couples in bestseller Brockmann's 14th Troubleshooters Inc. romantic thriller (after Into the Fire). In San Diego, sassy Troubleshooters receptionist Tracy Shapiro, who's survived several romantic disasters, may have met her match in Lawrence "Deck" Decker, Troubleshooters' macho team leader. Deck's the former partner of Jimmy Nash, a "dead" TS Inc. operative, who's actually in hiding with Tess Bailey, his girlfriend and colleague. Also in jeopardy are Dave Malkoff and his fellow op, Sophia Ghaffari, whose heart now belongs to Dave, who'll do anything to protect Sophia and their unborn child. When Dave's kidnapped to smoke out Jimmy, the TS Inc. team and the FBI unite in a rescue plan. While the pillow talk at times overshadows the action, Brockmann fans will cheer as her global problem solvers work out their latest sticky dilemmas, both personal and professional. (Feb.)

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7