Customer Reviews for

Dark of the Moon (Louis Kincaid Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    very suspenseful

    This book was very hard to put down, a real page turner. It has all that makes it a good book--mystery, murder, suspense, and intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Give yourself a treat!

    Parrish is in a league with Michael Connelly, Vince Flynn, Greg Iles, and such great authors. Be sure to read her books in the order published. They are great and unputdownable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    I'm Hooked!

    This was the first book I read by PJ Parrish. I read it a week and a half ago and went directly to Barnes and Noble to get her other books. I only have 'Island of Bones' left to read *sigh*... I have enjoyed watching the character Louis Kincaid go through all his trials and the subsequent changes in his personality as a direct result of his experiences. He starts off in Dark of the Moon as a good cop working hard to do the right thing. Throughout the series the lines become blurred as to what IS the right thing to do. Parrish repeatedly puts Kincaid into positions where moral right and legal right are often at odds with each other leaving Kincaid in a quandry as to what he should do. Taking the moral ground is usually his choice which leaves his ability to return as an active policeman near impossible. I was afraid Parrish was going to put him back into the role of policeman but the way that she has transformed him into somewhat of a vigilante, it would not make sense for him to return to a more restrictive role as a lawman. Kincaid has learned to dole out his own justice and it is something that many of us would like to do from time to time. I found myself cheering for him breaking the law. I am only sorry that Parrish releases one book a year. Since Island of Bones came out this year I fear I will have to wait another year before reading about Kincaids latest antics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    Excellent First Mystery Series!

    I first picked this book up for an online book chat group, & now I am a true fan of the P.J. Parrish sisters. I love Louis who is a bicultural cop trying to get along on an all white police force in Black Pool, Mississippi. He returns to his painful roots, to aid his dying mother. He stumbles upon some old bones, & decides to reopen a long forgotten case. I found this mystery to be very realistic, I'm sure many of these mysteries have been buried away in the past. If you want to read a book, that will keep you wanting more then this is the mystery for you. ;) I just couldn't put the book down, until I finished it! That's a sure sign of a great writer. My respects to the Parrish sisters. You have a winner book here!Enjoy your reading. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2001

    This book makes reading exciting again!

    I'm not the best reader in the world. I love reading, but sometimes I get lazy, put a book down, and neglect to pick it up again. That was not possible with 'Dark of the Moon'. It kept me up late. I couldn't turn pages fast enough, yet I hated to see the end draw near. It is a wonderful work, an outstanding novel. I'm very excited to see a second book by P.J. Parrish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Totally Excellent

    I am now a P.J. Parrish fan. This book was outstanding. Now, I can't wait to read Dead of Winter.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    NOT A WASTE OF TIME OR CASH!!!

    This book is a very good book. I would like to recommend this book to anyone whos not for all the other books that waste time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1