BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Darkborn (Darkborn Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent and unique

    I fell in love with this book immediately. I am eagerly awaiting the next in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very unique World

    I loved the sunlight moonlight citizens concept for this book. The writer didn't follow a typical dark=vampire theme. i loved the way she described how the characters saw their world and how they got along with each other. It was a fascinating "curse" I hope she will reveal more about the society and the curse on the two peoples. The author did a good job switching between characters and keeping you craving to return to each one where you left off. I am excited about the next in series and hope this author keeps it up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    DarkBorn

    This book captures your attention right from the start. It gets you trying to figure out what is going on or what the background is when you read the first paragraph. Very engaging and very imaginative. Excellent characters and plot. Can't wait for the next book to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Liked it enough to buy the other two books

    I really want to like this series, and I do, sort of... its a kind of regency style setting where half the population lives exclusively in the sun or artificail light and the other half live in the dark and have use sonar like bats. The story starts our a little disorienting because it takes a bit to figure out what "sonn" is (sonar) and why magic is so wierd. But, there is plenty of fast-paced action for adventure lovers. It is basically one huge long chase from start to finish, and from one book to the next. I have not finished the 3rd book yet, but it has started out in a race as well. The only problem I really have with these books is that they are a tad tedious in their tone, how everyone is almost universally distrustful of everyone else, and how badly women are viewed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story...

    The story line is quite unique. The only small issue is that you really have to concentrate, it is not a fast read at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. The concept of the dark vs light societies is what made me pick it up. I enjoyed every second of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    the only thing that was wrong about this book there's not more from the author

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an intriguing romantic fantasy

    Darkborn
    Alison Sinclair
    Roc, May 2009, $15.00
    ISBN 9780451462701

    In Minhorne, Tercelle Amberley arrives at the home of Darkborn mages Dr. Balthasar and Lady Telmaine Hearne to beg a favor. They are reluctant to assist Tercelle, who used to be engaged to his missing brother, but her connection as the fiancée of ducal heir Ferdenzil Mycene gives them no choice.

    Tercelle explains she is carrying the illegitimate offspring of a Lightborn father shocking her Hearne hosts; as they know the curse makes Darkborn shun the light and the Lightborn shun the dark so they never mix. Bal helps her give birth to twin boys, who shockingly can sees as Nightborn are always blind. Almost immediately afterward Tercelle flees leaving her offspring behind. Thugs arrive demanding the infants be handed to them; Telmaine takes off the gloves to keep her beloved safe from a third ancient enemy of both races.

    This is an intriguing romantic fantasy in which readers will believe in the curse that has split the residents of Minhorne into two distinct groups that are supposedly unable to mingle; thus the story line contains a fascinating underlying mystery. The aristocratic Hearne couple is a strong pairing as their relationship evolves with the changing threat. Although more insight into the origins of the curse would have been appreciated as the paranormal blight is just there, but with so much influence on society, fans will relish a visit to the divided city of Minhorne.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2