Customer Reviews for

Darker After Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

BEST BOOK OF THE SERIES YET!

Our Review [by Michelle L. Olson – LITERAL ADDICTION’s Pack Alpha]:
I’ve been following the Midnight Breed series from book one. After each installment I wait impatiently for each new release, sit down to read them, enjoy every word, and yet, book after book, wanted n...
Our Review [by Michelle L. Olson – LITERAL ADDICTION’s Pack Alpha]:
I’ve been following the Midnight Breed series from book one. After each installment I wait impatiently for each new release, sit down to read them, enjoy every word, and yet, book after book, wanted nothing more than for Chase to find his HEA.
Darker after Midnight is Sterling Chase’s book, and while I felt like I had been waiting for it forever and was afraid that I had put too high of expectations on it, I should never have worried… this book was fantastic – everything I was hoping for and SO much more.
After the climactic end of Hunter’s book, I couldn’t help but wonder how in the world Chase’s book would turn out. How would he get himself out of that mess, how would he redeem himself to his brothers after everything he put himself and them through in the last few books, how in the world would Lara be able to resolve all of that in one book, etc. All of those questions were answered, along with a multitude of other little holes from the series I didn’t even realize were there. Lara packed so much into this book it was a non-stop thrill ride of epic proportions and I never wanted to get off.
Darker after Midnight brings to light so many things about the Ancients, about Dragos, about different members of the Breed and their mates that while it’s Chase’s story and he’s our hero, this book is the fireworks display of the Midnight Breed series and in my honest opinion, the very best book of the bunch.
Lara wrapped up the main series beautifully at the end of Darker after Midnight and supplied an amazing segue to the new books in the series – which sound a bit like spin offs with the younger generation as our heroines and heroes. Mira’s book is due up next and I cannot wait for its release.
LITERAL ADDICTION gives Darker after Midnight 5 skulls and feels like that isn’t even adequate for the gift of this book. We recommend it to everyone – Paranormal Romance lovers, Urban Fantasy readers, anyone who loves fast paced, action packed, intense reads with gripping characters and spectacular storylines woven into a phenomenally crafted world. If you haven’t started the Midnight Breed series yet, we highly suggest that you bump it up to the top of your TBR list and get started today.

posted by LITERALADDICTION on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not Impressed

I am a huge fan of the Breed series, but this book felt like it was too much and not enough. I only gave it 3 stars vs 2 because I am truly a fan of Lora's works. I was over all the recaps from all the Breeds who already have stories. I felt if I needed to reread all ...
I am a huge fan of the Breed series, but this book felt like it was too much and not enough. I only gave it 3 stars vs 2 because I am truly a fan of Lora's works. I was over all the recaps from all the Breeds who already have stories. I felt if I needed to reread all the histories from the past stories then what was the point. Chase was a wonderful character and I loved the twist with Tavia. I get the book was setting the stage for a new series, but it was too much in one book. Then the end was soooo much and I was like after all of the books, how did we get to this.... I love the updates and conclusions for many of the mates. I read the reviews prior to my purchasing the book and I do not share the same excitement as the other reviewers at the conclusion of the book.

posted by Reading_Divine on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    BEST BOOK OF THE SERIES YET!

    Our Review [by Michelle L. Olson – LITERAL ADDICTION’s Pack Alpha]:
    I’ve been following the Midnight Breed series from book one. After each installment I wait impatiently for each new release, sit down to read them, enjoy every word, and yet, book after book, wanted nothing more than for Chase to find his HEA.
    Darker after Midnight is Sterling Chase’s book, and while I felt like I had been waiting for it forever and was afraid that I had put too high of expectations on it, I should never have worried… this book was fantastic – everything I was hoping for and SO much more.
    After the climactic end of Hunter’s book, I couldn’t help but wonder how in the world Chase’s book would turn out. How would he get himself out of that mess, how would he redeem himself to his brothers after everything he put himself and them through in the last few books, how in the world would Lara be able to resolve all of that in one book, etc. All of those questions were answered, along with a multitude of other little holes from the series I didn’t even realize were there. Lara packed so much into this book it was a non-stop thrill ride of epic proportions and I never wanted to get off.
    Darker after Midnight brings to light so many things about the Ancients, about Dragos, about different members of the Breed and their mates that while it’s Chase’s story and he’s our hero, this book is the fireworks display of the Midnight Breed series and in my honest opinion, the very best book of the bunch.
    Lara wrapped up the main series beautifully at the end of Darker after Midnight and supplied an amazing segue to the new books in the series – which sound a bit like spin offs with the younger generation as our heroines and heroes. Mira’s book is due up next and I cannot wait for its release.
    LITERAL ADDICTION gives Darker after Midnight 5 skulls and feels like that isn’t even adequate for the gift of this book. We recommend it to everyone – Paranormal Romance lovers, Urban Fantasy readers, anyone who loves fast paced, action packed, intense reads with gripping characters and spectacular storylines woven into a phenomenally crafted world. If you haven’t started the Midnight Breed series yet, we highly suggest that you bump it up to the top of your TBR list and get started today.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    great story. kept me very entertained. can't wait to read the next.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unbelievably Good!

    My hat is off to Lara Adrian. In the 10th book in this excellent series, Ms. Adrian has outdone herself! She has opened up a wide realm of possibilities in future books.

    I know this is vague, but I do not want to spoil anything for folks who haven't read this book yet.

    All of our Breed favorites are back, and more possibilities are on the verge of exploding with Jenna's story and the breed mates. If you like this genre and haven't started this series yet, put it at the top of your TBR pile.

    I have a lot of favorites in this series (Midnight Awakening, Kiss of Crimson, Deeper than Midnight) but this one may be the best yet!

    Ms. Adrian is one of my all time favorite authors. I can hardly wait for the next in this exciting series!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Not Impressed

    I am a huge fan of the Breed series, but this book felt like it was too much and not enough. I only gave it 3 stars vs 2 because I am truly a fan of Lora's works. I was over all the recaps from all the Breeds who already have stories. I felt if I needed to reread all the histories from the past stories then what was the point. Chase was a wonderful character and I loved the twist with Tavia. I get the book was setting the stage for a new series, but it was too much in one book. Then the end was soooo much and I was like after all of the books, how did we get to this.... I love the updates and conclusions for many of the mates. I read the reviews prior to my purchasing the book and I do not share the same excitement as the other reviewers at the conclusion of the book.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Her best Midnight Breed book yet!!

    As a fan of Lara Adrian's Midnight Breed Series, after reading each new release, I say "this is the best yet"! However, this time, I really mean it!! Superb action, suspense & yes, some hot love scenes too! This book not only focused on Tavia & Chase but also went a bit more into detail of the many other characters/couples/mates as well as gave us Dragos & his ultimate plan (finally!). Also, it hinted to the history or should I say mystery of the Breed Mates! I can hardly wait for book #11 now!! This recent edition has, in my opinion, put Ms. Adrian above & beyond many other Best Selling PNR authors! If you have yet to read this series, what are you waiting for? The novels are all stand alone, however, I do suggest NOT reading the last 4 or 5 until you read the earlier ones. I actually read the first 3 books out of order & had no problem keeping up. Kudos to this series & please keep them coming Lara!! I so wish this would end up a TV series here in the USA!! And, I urge every fan of the books to follow Lara on her FB page & via her newsletter. SHE IS THE ONLY AUTHOR I KNOW OF WHO SENDS FREEBIES (tons of them) to readers as long as you mail her a postage stamp....and since I pre-ordered this book from her virtual signing it also arrived with freebies (can cozie & logo pen)...and just to let you know how much I am into this series, I could not wait for the book to be signed & mailed, so I also purchased the ebook for my nook!! ENJOY!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Outstanding

    This one is even more creative. Her plots are never the same thing with different people. Only 1/3 through it and am in a reading trance.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Another great one with a new twist!!!!

    I knew the book would be good but thus was excellent. I love the new twist with the breed (dont want to spoil it for anyone). I also liked the character development with Sterling Chase, in some past books i sort of got annoyed with him, but you really figure out why he acted like he did. Overall great book, finished in one day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Enjoyable read

    I enjoyed the entire breed series. This book left me asking more questions like who were the Atlanteans and were they still around like the breed? Why did the ancients hunt them down and why were they after the Atlantean queen? Really more questions than answers here. What about Jenna? Overall it's a very good read like the rest of the series. I think there needs to be another book tying up the too many loose ends!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    first off let me say that I love this series and this one was no exception... but I do feel like the series could end with this book and if need be start us on a new series with the next generation without calling it the midnight breed series.. but thats just my opion again I highly recommend this book or any in the series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Fantastic!!

    I loved this book!!! It was great to see Chase come out of the Blood Thirst. I am not sure how I feel about the Breed being OUTED I liked that they operated under the radar. It is to bad they couldn't do a telepathic mind scrub over the world through some satellite link with Gideon's genius..... Oh well. This was a great read. It you like the Midnight Breed series you will love this one as well. Can't wait to read a story based on Nathan, Kellan and or Mira!!! Thank you Lara Adrian this one was definitely worth waiting for.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Darker after midnight.

    Awesome series....the midnight breed series will take your breathe away. Once u pick it up its hard to put down. Great story telling...and amazing characters

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Good but not the best

    I am a hard core fan of THE BREED series and, maybe I expected too much. This book rang pretty much true to all the other breed books, but I think the author tried too hard to develop another storyline when Chase and Tavia's story was complicated enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The best one in the series!

    This was an absolutely stunning installment in the Midnight Breed series. The ending is brilliant! I've always been a fan of Chase and this story captures everything I ever wanted for him and more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    A must read

    I so enjoyed reading this book. keep the Breeds coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Excellent Read!!!

    This is a must read, an absolutely fantastic book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Addicted to this series!

    All the books in this series are great and this is the best one yet!!!! I can't wait for the next!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    I loved this book!!!!!! I want more

    I have read every single one of the midnight breed series and I have loved every single one. Mrs. Adrian has mentioned that she isn't done yet and I can only hope that that is true because I cant get enough of her writing. If you like romance, hot vampires, good fighting evil and winning, and a lot of suspence thrown in together, these are the kind of books for you. Read them all from the beginning they are worth it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Best book of the series!!

    Best book of the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Best yet!

    This was the best novel in the series so far. There was action, love, suspense. The only thing stopping me from giving it 5 stars was the amount of different points of views, especially at the beginning. Otherwise it was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great

    I love her series but after a long series you kind of already know how the story line will go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14