Customer Reviews for

Darker Angels (Black Son's Daughter Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Great Story BUT I"m an Jayne-Ex Fan

    The story was interesting, fast and kept me wanting to read until the very end. The plot made sense and I found myself smiling with the witty dialogue. That said, I was not into the Aubrey Jayne romance. IS IT JUST ME? Why would the author drop such hints about Ex's feelings for her and then do absolutely nothing about it. In the first book, Jayne admitted to falling into Aubrey simply out of fear and desperation. And then, instead of evolving and moving onto a romance who may actually be good for her, she goes back to Aubrey! To be honest, it ruined a lot for me. I liked the series but the author made me root for Ex only to switch back to Aubrey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    great series

    so glad i found these books! if u love jenna black or patricia briggs style youll love them

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A relaxed urban fantasy read, for a light read.

    Karen Black is at a school where most of the children will probably not graduate, or will end up in loads of trouble, to meet with Daria ~ the bright young girl in fourth grade who's now telling outlandish lies, such as her sister got ate by a snake. Karen seems to think Daria is in trouble... big trouble.

    Jayne and the guys have been traveling at rushed speed for months to inventory her deceased Uncle's many, many homes and stocks. While in Athens, Jayne receives a call from Karen asking for Eric, Jayne's deceased Uncle, for help. Jayne and the guys decide even though they are exhausted from the pace they have been keeping to go help Karen. So, they head off to New Orleans, to help Karen with her case of ten years in the works... To help save the next expected victim of a voodoo demon...

    This was a quick easy read for me. I just let myself enjoy the book and go with the flow of the characters. The crew members; Jayne, Aubrey, Ex, and Chogyi Jack. Jayne brought these characters together in the first book Unclean Spirits. They still are new to working closely together with each other and it sounds like they are still trying to find their places in the group. The characters are all so different from each other, yet they compliment each other nicely.

    Jayne is the main character, and in a way the leader of the group - yet Jayne is new to the whole world of the demon Riders and magic. She still feels out of her league with taking charge of cases or situations and lets her self be lead to thoughts a little bit. But this is believable in the world that is built here. But I like how Jayne is not as weak as she may think she is in this area. And I still have questions on Jayne, such as why she is able to do a few things she does (like being able to cross into the Crossroad of the demon path). There is much more to Jayne than even Jayne knows. I am wondering how her Uncle set her up so well with magic and protections, without her knowing.

    The first third to half of the book was a little relaxed for me. There was a lot of setting up here; for the plot, characters, and religious beliefs. Then about half way through the book it started to accelerate. I could see what was coming and the clues where set for me to find them, but I still enjoyed letting the story unfold in itself. There where a few moments where I wasn't sure of what was being said in the way of Voodoo, but I enjoyed the voodoo spin on this book. The demon riders that mixed with the believes of the New Orleans Voodoo. This book didn't hit me like a book to drop everything you have and dart out to get it, I still liked the read. It was a quick, relaxing read for me as I got through it in record timing.

    I had seen that the third book of this series will be released in November. I will eventually pick it up, as I have enjoyed Jayne and the crew. And curious to see where Jayne goes next along with the growth of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    ready for #3

    I really enjoy this story. I can't wait for the 3rd edition:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Second Book Not as Good as the First

    This book was okay. I was a little disappointed after the first book being so good. In some ways it went the way all 2nd books go in a series. I am looking forward to the next book. I love these charaters, but I thought the story was weaker than the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    LOVE THIS SERIES!

    I can't wait to read more. This is a really fascinating story, told very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Winner

    This urban fantasy strikes me as different from many others. The characters are genuinely being developed and not single sided. They are friends who sometimes do the wrong things, say the wrong things, etc. That makes them real. I cannot wait to see what happens to Jayne & "family" in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating and entertaining urban fantasy

    She inherited her Uncle Eric's estate consisting of money and property along with his mission to free the human horse possessed by demons or the loas. By accepting his legacy skeptical Jayne Heller admits there is a hell of a lot of supernatural communities out there; some of which are extreme evil.

    Meanwhile former FBI Agent Karen Black has been searching for a serial killing horse rider Legba who picked his next host horse Sabine, the granddaughter of Amelie (who he now rides) whose life is nearing an end. The loa starts taking over Sabine but Karen hopes to thwart its ambition. Jayne and her posse travel from Athens (Greece not Georgia) to New Orleans to help Jayne in her quest to end the serial killing horse rider's reign of terror. When she arrives she notices the city is arising from the watery grave of Katrina while the belief in voodoo remains strong. Karen leads the demonic hunt and when she is near her goal she orders Jayne to leave. Realizing she has been tricked Jayne informs Karen she will remain to rid the city of the paranormal serial killing horse and gets in between a battle with one decent and one evil loa.

    DARKER ANGEL, the second Black Sun's Daughter urban fantasy (see UNCLEAN SPIRITS) is a fascinating and entertaining thriller in which it is difficult to separate the good loas from the bad; just ask Jayne. Determined to follow in her uncle's brave footsteps and encouraged by his voice to do so, Jayne continues his war to dispatch the malevolent ones back to where they came from. Ignorant and prone to error, she learns the family business while under fire. Fans will root for Jayne in her invisible war against demons, loas, and who knows what else M.L.N. Hanover will dream up.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3