Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Great great read

    This was a great read-full of great detail, names, and description and true to the era. The characters were something else. Tangy Mae tells the story from l3 year old eyes and is wise beyond her years. Yet she is still a child, still learning about life, and can't seem to do much about the situation she is in with all the craziness around her. Her mother Rozelle is wild, crazy and physically abusive-yet, in a warped kind of way, she still has love for her children. I read the book in two days because I couldn't wait to see what would happen. These characters have a lot left in them and I hope there is a sequel. I want to know what happens to Tangy and I want the mother to get hers. Great book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Still affecting me...

    I read this book when it came out 7 years ago. I can't tell you how many copies I bought to give away because I wasn't letting go of mine! The story is beautifully and well written. The subject matter, the totally heartless mother and the abuse of her daughter, Tangy, will break your heart and keep you turning pages. You don't want to believe that people that evil exist. And you want better for Tangy Mae. Ms. Phillips pulls you into her story. Her writing left me wanting more. I just recently read it again, and it is even more powerful the second time. This book begs to be a book club selection because you need to talk with someone about it after you read it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    The Best!

    I am usually a Zane lover but to come across a book such as this one has shift my love into a different direction. The Darkest Child is such a good book and the ending was what I had hoped for. I recommend this to all book lovers as you will not be displeased

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    A phenomenal read! Loved this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    This book was was sooooo good. It had me laughing, crying, feeli

    This book was was sooooo good. It had me laughing, crying, feeling some kind of ways...I shouted out, I couldn't put it down
    ..it was great. I wish the author had other novels

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Powerful Story

    The author has written a gripping and powerful story of family, poverty, abuse and love.

    Definitely a five star read that will engage the reader cover to cover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Grabs your heart and mind.

    This is a great book but it may not be for the faint at heart. This book touches on so many issues, mostly bad. I really felt for the children and just had a feeling of wanting to help somehow. This is how I know this was an awesome book because the characters seemed so real and just had me so drawn in. There were some nights I went to bed thinking about it. It really touched home because I've either experienced or known of others who have come across one or more of these types of issues...whether it's poverty, physical or mental abuse, mental illness, or children being given up or disowned by a parent. All of those issues going on in a time of racial segragation in a small country town makes a great page turner. I read as much as I could every day...finished within a week. Great job Delores Phillips.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Dark Read but a Good Read

    This book is quite possibly one of the most disturbing books I've read. And that's why I gave it 4 stars. Any book that grab and twist my emotions is a winner. I wanted to stop reading it ~ the abuse scenes were cringe worthy. Not just the physical aspects, but the mental aspects... a part of me just kept asking myself if there are really kids who are living under these conditions and I know there are which made this story all the more compelling.

    Tangy and her siblings are sympathetically written. They have hopes and dreams, the need to be loved... All of this despite everything that their mother did to them. I like that the end of the book was open ended, instead of wrapped in a neat little package. Phillips debut novel is definitely an emotional journey not for the faint of heart.

    I would recommend this novel for book discussion groups because of the varied topics: race relations, child abuse, color issues within the black community, poverty and education. Just be prepared to put the book down and walk away for a few minutes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome story

    I was blown away by this book.... I didn't just read it.. I LIVED it... It was wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read, but rather slow story line

    I have never read this author before and I purchased the book due to so many rave reviews on it from a book club. It took me about a month to finish the book with is extremely unusual for me. I found the story line to be very slow without any type of plot. However, the abuse that the children endured due to their mother who had a mental illness is unbelievable. There were several times where I had to put the book down and to stop reading because I was overcome with so many emotions. This is a heavy read with dark experiences that these kids had to endure.

    Kristie Gardner-Bonner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    This book was great!!!! I couldn't put it down. One of the best

    This book was great!!!! I couldn't put it down. One of the best books I have ever read. Can't wait for Phillips' next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Couldn't put it down!

    A real page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    This book

    This book definitly deserves more then 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Ook!

    Was an ok read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Crazy Mama

    I thought this book would have more to do with the issues of color within the African-American community, however it had more to do with a crazy mom and how she controlled, manipulated, and abused her children.

    It's an excellent book and a great one for a book club. It's a page turner because you're hoping for the release of these children from their crazy mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great read. Writer really draws you into the story. I loved the ending. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    This was a good and heart felt book! I didn't want it to end. Im

    This was a good and heart felt book! I didn't want it to end. Im waiting on part two. 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Powerful, Maddening...Mind Blowing; Makes You wanna holla!

    This book was an outstanding page turner and written well. You want to know what happened to these people. What a shame though, I found no other books written by this author. I was looking forward to reading other works of hers. Wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    This book takes you through the full range of emotions, I could

    This book takes you through the full range of emotions, I could not put it down. Whoa mind blowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    One of the most amazing books I've ever read.

    One of the most amazing books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13