Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    A well written story! It grabs your heart and mind, I look forwa

    A well written story! It grabs your heart and mind, I look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Amazing Read

    The only time I put this book down was for school and work. I was glued to these pages to the very end. Very good book and would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Note to "REVIEWERS"

    STOP GIVING THE STORY AWAY!!!!! Some idiot posted the ending so now I have no readon to buy this book!!! Ugh!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Heart wrenching

    Great writing can be as good as watching a movie: vivid & dramatic. I was cheering the main character on the entire book just hoping things got better. I winced, laughed, cried, and even yelled at one point. Yes i sometimes talk to my book. No im not crazy! My point is read it and buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Interesting and enrertaining; crash ending

    This was a much better read than I thought. The ending
    seemed rushed and could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Excellent!!

    Absolute page turner! Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Wonderful

    This is probably one of the best books I have read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    One of my favorite books

    LOVE IT!!! PLEASE READ AND SHARE WITH FRIENDS, WE HAVE TO SUPPORT OUR OWN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Great book!

    Im not finished reading this book , but im getting sad knowing its going to end ..:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Dark with light at the end of the tunnel!

    Initially, this book really bothered me. I was appalled at the mother. I didn't know a mother could be this evil! I had almost forgotten how evil people were during this dark time in the history of the United States and probably more importantly how evil family members can be. I can't say I loved the ending but I was certainly glad when the heroine of the story got away. Broken family is still family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Delores Phillips outdid herself with this one. Every word in eve

    Delores Phillips outdid herself with this one. Every word in every sentence was well-thoughtout and well-placed. Tangy Mae is the narrarator of the story and you will fall in love with her. The villian, Rosie is well-crafted as well. Wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Very very good

    This book is mind blowing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of the best books that I have ever read. I did not w

    This is one of the best books that I have ever read. I did not want it
    to end. It made me sad, happy, laugh out loud, mad-every emotion
    possible came out while reading this book. Alot of the characters
    reminded me of my mother and her brothers and sisters, growing up in
    Mississippi-in the 1950's. You will literally be tranported back to a
    more simple time. I could identify with Tangy Mae and the struggles she
    had to endure being a dark-skinned child. Great job Delores Phillips. I
    would really like to read a follow-up to this book. It would be great to
    know what happens with Tangy Mae as she grows into a woman-taking care
    of her sister. Also would like to know what happens with her crazy Mama,
    Rosie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Excellent read!

    Loved this book...couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    THE DARKEST TALE

    I had to force myself to finish this book. Almost 400 pgs (nook) of too much woe-- emtionally, socially, physically... While I have no doubts that this book of fiction is someone's reality, I was at least hoping that, for the reader, it would end with a spectre of hope that Tangy "maybe" would be okay someday, with a lot of therapy. of course. A ride out of town on a bus just wasn't enough. I did appreciate a couple of the subplots, and some characters I really could relate to, but overall, I wish there was more development of Tangy's strengths as opposed to being inundated with the victimization of her and her siblings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Wow

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    A. Kinds

    I read this book a while ago. ABSOLUTELY LOVED! I finished it in two days. Excellent read! I have looked for more books by Delores Phillips, yet I think this may be her only one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    KimmyB

    This was a great book. I loved it and it made me want more. I would love to see what happened after they finally got out of that crazy racist town. I NEED A PART 2!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. It was well written, very emotional

    I really enjoyed this book. It was well written, very emotional and gripping. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    I looooooved this book, ive had it for about 3 years & i read it over and over again! AWESOME!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13